Diy : Undercarriage Lights

Originally posted by Amedion@Feb 26 2005, 14:34
can any expert answer these questions since khguan is not around :-
1> if dun add relay.. no problem, rite? add relay jz to make it brighter..
2> where to connect the "-" ? back to the batt.? or jz connect anywhere on the car's body?
3> i still can't find those tubes ( the one that shown in dis first page ) .. tat looks stronger than the house 1... consume 20w oni.. slimmer
4> still can't find the right size of water hose to protect the tube..
haiz.. anyone live in klang wanna DIY dis can contact me? we DIY together la.. dunno how to do the wiring.. :lol:
u need to put relay cos de choke is drawing quite some current from ur battery... so its not safe to just tap ur current from ur lights or anywhere u like... u will blow some fuse...

yep.. de "-ve" u can just connect to de car body... just make sure u dun connect de "+ve" to de car body can liao.. :lol: :lol:

aiya.. just use our house type of tubes can liao... try harder to fin those water hose.. try hardware shop...

Originally posted by n305er+Feb 27 2005, 11:06 -->
QUOTE (n305er @ Feb 27 2005, 11:06 )
Originally posted by jaywat@Feb 27 2005, 08:26
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Feb 25 2005, 14:21
this is where ur wire goes out of de car... u can either cut a small hole at de rubber plug....

i saw superlon ... :ph34r: :ph34r:

Why are you so suprised? :lol:
khguan's car all banyak DIY lar.. Like a metel carrage with engines... :P [/b][/quote]
superlon? biasa lar.. all around my car... except de roof... no time to do dat yet.. :P

Originally posted by Choon+Feb 27 2005, 20:08 -->
QUOTE (Choon @ Feb 27 2005, 20:08 )
Originally posted by tzmito@Feb 26 2005, 17:58
Originally posted by Choon@Feb 26 2005, 10:08
Originally posted by tzmito@Feb 26 2005, 03:55
use 20W DC choke
4feet tube = 36W --> use 40W DC choke

i also never seen a 4feet tube with 20W rating..

de K-rating doesnt mean de brightness rating.. K-rating mean de color.... dat is universal measurement for light color.. let say at 3000K its yellow, then at 5000K its white n at 12000K its blue... get it?? dat is not de brightness..

if u use correct rating chokes for correct rating tubes. then it will be bright.. confirm... if not. then must be wrong with ur wiring... B)

Originally posted by kopking10@Feb 26 2005, 12:41
yo...my car has a fog light and it has a existing swItch to on it...so i waS thINKin whether can wire it up together with it...therefore no need to add another switch that means when i on d fog light the undercarriage will also on...do i still need to add a relay ?
YES.. u can do dat without adding a relay... provided ur fog lights already have a relay... just change ur fuse to a higher rating one.. say 15-20A B)

tanx khguan...will try it asap when i found the place to get the wire in the interior...and detail write-up?

welcome bro..

ok.. good luck then.. always check ur wiring b4 u on de thing... double check for safety..

waiting for ur results B)

Hehehehe...done my undercarriage pasar malam light...like JL one...

Another pic..

using 18w fluorecent along both side skirts only, not that bright but enough for me already. :)

jaywat,

y ur light so short? use 4feet mah.. i've seen iswara with 4 feet b4..

IMO, 2 feet looks a bit cacat cos de light not evenly spread...

haa . i just found out that i can't put a 4feet tube at my car . because almost middle of the car have one very big steel block . only can use 2 feet only .

my car don't have any sideskirt ....

i cant find the hole for the wire to link outside my car ler...
i crawl down and saw a rubber plug thing like the pic posted by khguan but i cant find from inside the car.. i think need to take out the seats and carpet.. everything!! dunno how leh.. no confident.. :(

hmmm...thinking of using 4 feet 40w flourecent also but scare too bright la...my car is not mean to be high profile one le hehehehe...anyway..i left a few feets tie-up beneath...incase want to do upgrading heheh.. B)

Originally posted by lantis-ing@Mar 2 2005, 19:38
i crawl down and saw a rubber plug thing like the pic posted by khguan but i cant find from inside the car.. i think need to take out the seats and carpet.. everything!! dunno how leh.. no confident.. :(
Maybe covered by the bitumen already.... :unsure:

Originally posted by lantis-ing@Mar 2 2005, 19:38
no need remove carpet lar.. just lift ur carpet from de sides... n try n search..

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 2 2005, 17:10
then u use 2pcs of 2 feet lor..
cannot because the steel block located like this

okay lahh . 2 feet tube is enough bright lah ..

Actually there is a few disadvantages installing the undercarriage light.

1. Higher bump might hit and break the light. Unless using slimmer tube and place it completely protected by car undercarriage bone.

2. Cannot jack up car using those "big jack" which enable you to stand beneath the car one...those holding only car undercarriage bone.

3. Scare flood. Unless completely water proofed, from tube, connection point to wire..

IMHO ;)

tzmito, try getting those 8w tube one lo...if u think the light is not balance. :)