Diy : How To Shorten Gear Shift Rod

]\[ickless

Hi guys!

Anyone had ever think, tried or done.. shorten your car's stock gear shift rod like most of the supercars had?
For impressive sporty interior looking purpose, it's very damn chun lar. Can it be done ah?

I know that we can simply cut a few centimetres of the shift rod to make it shorter. But then, just wondering where can we do re-threading (screw-thread) on the top of the shift rod to place the gear knob back?

Anyone got the idea of how to make it done? Mind to share your opnion?

Thanx in advance! :)

o_05.jpg

Aiyah? No one ah? :blink:

At least just give the idea, which workshop/garage can do the re-threading job.. :(

dei bro...this wan easyler...u cut the top part (with thread) then keep aside..then the rod u cutler how low u wan then u weld back the top part(with thread)...end of story....

well... my suggestion.... if u r using original knob.. then change to aftermarket knobs dat dun need thread wan... after cutting de shifter short..

but one thing i can tell u is.. when the shifter is short.. but de shift throw may not be shorten.. n u will need more force to shift gear due to de change of fulcrum point....

yea...better custom make short shifter...cut short will only make shifting gear a greater effort :o

Originally posted by khguan@Apr 16 2005, 17:46
well... my suggestion.... if u r using original knob.. then change to aftermarket knobs dat dun need thread wan... after cutting de shifter short..

but one thing i can tell u is.. when the shifter is short.. but de shift throw may not be shorten.. n u will need more force to shift gear due to de change of fulcrum point....
[snapback]902993[/snapback]​

agree with your statement.

edit: how about short shifter + shorten the length of your shifter? that way it'll be better than just shortening the shifter.

u can get those adjustable shifter from any performance shop.
short shift + height adjustable
jus my 23 cents