can diy short shifter?

Originally posted by WinDz@Jan 4 2005, 06:54
ohhh liddat wan ah .. i think i better meet u around ur area lerr.. lol... scad sunway there those welding cost they charge very expensive leh .. since i alwiz got go lepak at wangsa maju wan. so means da RM50 is only for the disemble of da shifter unit only or together with the welding wan eh ? the total cost to get the whole thing done is? and oh yea, i was wondering if we mod the original shifter liddat to a shortshifter , is there any draw backs?
yes RM50 to pass the hassle and trouble of D.I.Ying this shifter to me - I will take care of everything from A to Z and you drive away with one year warranty against broken weld, bent weld spot or the middle axis gone nuts.

For those who want to D.I.Y this stuffs, follow this simple rule = EXTEND the lower shaft fulcrum to enable wider shifting radius. How far to extend varies on each car - influenced by how much space the floor gives.

Toyota requires no more than 1.3" while Satria, Wira & Putra (assuming that they share the same shifter design) require no more than 0.5". But the pivot angle is something that you have to figure out on the spot - it affects the overall feel of the shifter.

Originally posted by khguan+Jan 4 2005, 20:20 -->
QUOTE (khguan @ Jan 4 2005, 20:20 )
Originally posted by jiggly_head@Jan 3 2005, 15:52
--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Jan 2 2005, 15:06
wah... i also interested!! but i duno how to go to wangsa maju or batu caves leh... i'm from Serdang...

wei u serdang kia also ar?
hahah me also, come lets go drift.

go where drift? my drifting skills not good ah...

only try to drift once in a while in some corners ni Serdang.. got once i made a van driver shocked.. haha [/b][/quote]
hahah u wanna know can pm me. nice area dat, last nite brought quite a few friends up there to play :)

http://www.pajjakid.com/ubipa/short_shift_diy.htm

...just to get a general idea n; reference.....hehehhehehe!!! :D

EFN..

my dad got a welding machine... thinking wanto buy a 2nd hand shifter then DIY... anyone know how much?

according to u... u mean we just cut de lower part of de shifter n sambung with a metal making it longer?? only 0.5"??

my car is wira... so how much de shifting travel can be reduced?
will it be harder to shift gears?

and wat a bout de pivot angle? wat do we have to do bout it? not so clear bout this part.. pls clarify..

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 7 2005, 14:30
EFN..

my dad got a welding machine... thinking wanto buy a 2nd hand shifter then DIY... anyone know how much?

according to u... u mean we just cut de lower part of de shifter n sambung with a metal making it longer?? only 0.5"??

my car is wira... so how much de shifting travel can be reduced?
will it be harder to shift gears?

and wat a bout de pivot angle? wat do we have to do bout it? not so clear bout this part.. pls clarify..
If you want to test then u need to buy the whose Shifter assembly. Not just the bottom axis that need to be modded. The shifter base also have to knock to make space for the extended shifter.

Pivot angle means you have to be very careful not to extend too much or a bit sideways or else some gears will be almost impossible to engage or very stiff.

Lotsa trial and error need to be done before one is made properly, this is from my experience.

i've took a pic of my original shifter today...

from wat i c... wat i can do is cut de part in yellow n extend it longer by mayb 0.5"...

well... i saw an advertisement in car mag.. i think PowerZone or something like dat... they got sell a short shifter kit.. this kit comes with 3 things

1. the shifter shaft itself
2. another lower shaft connected to de main shaft above
3. and the base with higher pivot point

i noticed dat de ad short shifter got a longer shaft at de lower part (bout 2" more)
and also de base's pivot point is bout 2" higher than stock

so now my question is wat do u really do to modify the stock shifter??
do u make de pivot point higher by extending de base "thing"?

mind to share? i mean A-Z... here DIY thread mah.. :)

Originally posted by EFN@Jan 8 2005, 09:01
If you want to test then u need to buy the whose Shifter assembly. Not just the bottom axis that need to be modded. The shifter base also have to knock to make space for the extended shifter.
wat do u mean by KNOCK? wat type of knocking?

For Nice looking - Just cut the gear knop part lor.

For perfomance - Open your engine roof, find the cable wich is connected to your gear box. If found, you can see the gear cable is attached to a so call metal plate, drill a hole to the upper part of the plate and connect the gear cable to the new hole u drill.

nice looking? i think cutting it short just make u drive with ur body slanted to de left... nice looking "short" shifter.. but it makes u look like an AH BENG... haha

well... bout de metal palte... i also got think of dat b4... but will it be much harder to engage gear if we drill a hole n connect it closer to de pivot point?

i read this on SCC mag..

it says anyone wit a garage can make a Short Shifter..

there are correct measurements that we cant replicate..

not that i dont wanna DIY this stuff but i think this is 1 of the things that cannot be DIYed...

well.. i think we should use the term "MODIFY" instead of DIY....

nobody answer my question yet?? i still not so sure leh.. so dun dare to do it yet... or mayb just buy a aftermarket shortshift kit....

You got the cutting place correct, but cutting and extending alone is not enough. The Pivot point need to be raised at least 2" so this means you need to cut the whole swing platform and extend there too to give space for the lower shaft to move freely without obstruction. Some more trimming is required on various places to make room for wider swing radius, you will need an angle grinder to trim them up.

Originally posted by Angelz@Oct 26 2004, 10:47
errr.. got short shifters for kelisa?? ;) :D
YES!!!

Effective February 12th, 5-something in the evening...its now available for kelisa...! Call EFN now to make your appointment!! B)

Write your reply...