Crossover...

thanks pisces....however, what u mean by tuning? using pre amp?? tomorrow will go to ask some prices for speakers and amp....any recommanded brand?

Normally tuning is done with the crossover, either external or built-in with the amps.
We tune frequencies in accordance to your equipment, interior car acoustics and your musical taste.

Yup Yup...Most ppl prefer to use electronic crossover straightaway , not exactly sure the reason but im sure its better. Anyway , if u use x-over , u wont need pre amp. Just play 3 way and you should be quite satisfied with the sound after tuning.

Any equipment before the amps are called preamp.
They can be linedrivers, crossovers, EQs etc.
I think the preamp you mentioned are merely frequencies boasters which will add colouration to your signal likes there's no day and nite and is a big NO NO for pure SQ set ups.

sorry for poor english, the preamp i meant here is EQ....however, crossover cannot be tuned after it is installed inside somewhere, right? not like EQ which we can install it at below dashboard (under HU)?

IMO, those EQ which you normally find under the HUs are nothing but mere frequencies boasters!!
In the first place, why do you need EQs in your car??
Did you carryout a RTA inside your car to determine whether you have serious dips and peaks in your playback signal??
Those crossovers which you claim cannot be tuned are the passives.
You'll need an external active crossover to tune your system:
1) A HI-MID-LOW crossover will be able to highpass your mids and lowpass your sub.
2) A fully active crossover will be able to bandpass your mids, highpass your tweeters and lowpass your subs and therefore this type of crossover is more flexible.

wah.. uncle soong.. don lah so angry. :P

uncle soong ah,
i'm planning 2 install a xetec p4 series. wat do u think about that amp?

Hahahaha!! My friend, don't get me wrong.
I'm not angry at all.
Just that those so called frequencies boasters tend to colour your music playback and do more harm than good. One very good example is that you'll have to "turn" those knobs very often for different types of music.
For a well-tuned and natural system on playing all types of music, all you need to "turn" is the volume knob.
I really get pissed off with those installers claiming this gadget is great and charge the end-users a bomb for this.
Xetec are great amps, designed in Germany and made in South Korea.

thanks for sifu's advice.....that's mean no point i install the EQ...better go for crossover...

ksgoh, trust me.
I used to have a set of AudioControl EQTs in my set up and I tuned the system using RTA to get as flat a response as possible.
Then fine tuned using my ears.
It sounded good, no doubt about it.
One day I came across a set up in a Cefiro with bare basic set up with quite high end equipment.
Then I found something missing in my set up, the NATURAL SOUND.
The natural sound means we hear what we are supposed to hear, not those with salt, pepper and ajinomoto added.
I hope you get what I meant!! ;)

of course i trust u laa........but not really understand what u mean....EQT is what?? sorry for my stupid question....really dunno about ICE

EQT is a 30 band, 1/3 octave dual mono EQ and is claimed to be one of the best and most presice EQ made by AudioControl and is commonly used in studios and car audio competitions.

Waaahhhhh.... So many sifu's around. Hope sifu's can help me oso lar..
Recently installed a 2 way HU (Alpine dono what model but got swing face 1) & a set of DLS (or DSL) on me Kancil with 2 passive crossover. Can I significantly improve my soundstage if I install an active crossover?? Btw, the speakers are 2 6inch on the front door panels & 2 tweeters. Do I need rear speakers? Do I need a sub?

An amp and a sub will improve the SQ.. from the looks of it, you are runnign of fhte amplifier built into the HU.