Crossover...

That's why I said:" increase your amp input gain to your comfortable listening level."
If at 3/4 of your HU max level and you find it's too loud, then it is very obvious that the amp input gain had been set way too high.
Those crossovers with tweeters level selection at -3, 0, +3 etc are passives-there is nothing there to let your tune your cut-off frequencies.

aiyo,but if tune till 3/4 is almost max ledi wor..
if u say comfort listening means not so soft and not so loud la..
but what if u want to play some songs loud?
then there's not much left for me to increase..
dunno if u get me of not.. ;)

i just feel its a wierd setting,mayb i mis un.. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by pisces@Sep 24 2004, 00:41
That's why I said:" increase your amp input gain to your comfortable listening level."
If at 3/4 of your HU max level and you find it's too loud, then it is very obvious that the amp input gain had been set way too high.
Those crossovers with tweeters level selection at -3, 0, +3 etc are passives-there is nothing there to let your tune your cut-off frequencies.
hi pisces,
all amp also can be tuned to high and low??

oh i see, but what is the 3db and 6db for? soft music at low db and loud music at high db??

For example, if you tune your player to 26 out of 35 for casual listening.
Then if you like to play loud, then turn to 27 or 28 or even 29.
At 29, I doubt if you can listen for an extended period of time.
This type of setting serves 2 purpose:
1) to ensure no clipped signals are being sent o the speakers.
2) to reduce noise floor in the set up.
The setting at the passives(-3, 0 and +3 etc) are the tweeters level.
It allows for compensation for the tweeter level with regards to the tweeter position.

not high in volume, more noise meh?? what is noise floor? hehehe.....sorry for so many questions.....

OK, let's look at at this way.
The HU "produces" the signal.
As this signal progress its way to the amp at the rear via the RCAs, it picks up noise along the line, from the interference, electronics etc.
This is the noise floor.
Once this signal together with the noise picked up reaches the amp, both are amplified.
So in order to reduce noise, the amp input gain has to be set as low as possible while the HU level has to be set as high as possible, resulting in a higher signal to noise ratio.
That's is why we prefer HUs with higher voltage preout to enable us to set the amp input gain as low as possible.
I hope I have not confused you all further.

got it....all amp can be tuned ar?? feel like to tuner at amp loo....that one i did as my college one got laa......:)

Originally posted by nickoholic@Sep 24 2004, 22:14
good to hv a ICE expert here..
Me no ICE expert, just merely have a deep passion and interest in ICE!! ;)

Originally posted by ksgoh@Sep 24 2004, 10:34
not high in volume, more noise meh?? what is noise floor? hehehe.....sorry for so many questions.....
teach cow climb tree ar ? ;) :rolleyes:

uncle, good explaination here. it will be very useful for all the beginner, include me. hahaha.....

Originally posted by alanltl@Sep 27 2004, 11:08
uncle, good explaination here. it will be very useful for all the beginner, include me. hahaha.....
alan, now you are a newbie no more!! :lol:

Originally posted by pisces+Sep 28 2004, 00:11 -->
QUOTE (pisces @ Sep 28 2004, 00:11 )
--QuoteBegin-alanltl
@Sep 27 2004, 11:08

alan, now you are a newbie no more!! :lol: [/b][/quote]
ya ya....member number only 3 digit.... :lol:

Originally posted by g88+Sep 25 2004, 02:53 -->
QUOTE (g88 @ Sep 25 2004, 02:53 )
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Sep 24 2004, 10:34

teach cow climb tree ar ? ;) :rolleyes: [/b][/quote]
:lol: :lol: Here got many cows

Originally posted by tron07+Oct 1 2004, 16:59 -->
QUOTE (tron07 @ Oct 1 2004, 16:59 )
Originally posted by g88@Sep 25 2004, 02:53
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Sep 24 2004, 10:34

teach cow climb tree ar ? ;) :rolleyes:

:lol: :lol: Here got many cows [/b][/quote]
:lol: :lol: :ph34r:

Me.pieces,

i only ride a kancil ... my Q is... do we need to throw in component set for rear...?

for da explanation here ... i found put that electronic crossover is better than passive so... MOHAWK now a days comes qith new product line...there oso sell e-xcrossover... from ur opinion ... ok ka this e-xcrossover from MOHAWK...?