Passive setup question.

myvi3923

I was wonder whether we still need to turn on the electronic crossover on HU to cut those High and low pass frequency when we are running passive crossover on comp set speaker. How do we determine the crossover point on passive crossover for tweeter and mid ? Hope someone expert here can enlighten, thanks!

P/S: For above setup, the amp for front comp set is running on full range.

crossover point of a passive is determined by the value of the resistor and capacitor in the passive. dun ask me how to calculate, have to ask mike or victor.

Ok! how abt the electronic crossover function on HU, need to turn on or not if running passive on comp set.

of course turn off if u running on passive. maybe u can on the active x-over for preventing too much bass going into ur component dat will cause rattling sound. if turn off the x-over oso no rattling sound then just leave it la.

assuming your asking for fronts, currently with 2 way passive, and amp on full range (high pass off)...

HU xover (front out) should be doing high pass for mids only, which should be around 50-70hz (depending on your mids), for the tweeter, the passive will do the filtering.

after that is just sub out (on hu xover) to sub amp at roughly the same frequency (50-70hz) depending on your sub, of coz both can be adjusted when u do tuning

if u want to know the crossover frequency on the passive, u have to open it up and check the values of the capacitor and inductor coils inside, from there u can find the corresponding frequency values. this info can be found on the net, got a lot....