Crossover...

:D :lol: :D In pieces again...

Forget about speakers in the rears, in the 80ties people are mounting speakers at the rear cause - speakers are huge, no place to mount in front, etc... in the 90ties most US are playing the front, however there are still some who mount in the rear.

Here in the 21st century, still there are many people living in the 80ties....stock position, usually they mount it in the rear, or to the doors cause easy to do it.

If you want good sound staging, forget about the rear speakers. Just have a sub at the back would be good.

so let say i oledi have...1 set of comp. speaker @ front doors plus 1 unit subwoofer... then is it ok or juz wasting $$$ to put another comp. speakers set @ rear?

agreed to what tron07 has said......
if you've already have a component set at the front.... and a sub at the back..... you can forget another set of speakers for the back.
get a good amp to drive your front speakers will be nice

Yes, fully agreed that rear speakers are not necessary.
Just concentrate on the front.
In my Kancil, I have a set of Dynaudio front comps and a pair of free-air a/d/s/ subs-all power by a single 4 channel amp.

opsss...meaning i wasting money again buying a set of comp....alamak....
i'm using 4chn amp to drive front + rear....

so let say....i wanna to take out da rear comp. then just concentrate on front... how to brigde an amp....so that da amp give xtra power for da front unit.....

for da sub it have it own amp unit to drive it....

what amp u're using?? read the user manual of the amp...should state there
it might show in the amp also....at the speaker output

it might not sound good if you bridged you amp to run the front component set.... but it MIGHT only.... have a try....

good move that you plan to get rid of the rear speaker :D

Dear All,

What would be the best way to optimise my current set-up?

Front -> connect directly to HU via Front Speaker Out

2 x tweeters
2 x 4" mids

Rear -> connect to HU via Rear Speaker Out

2 x 3-way speakers

Sub + amp -> connect to HU via Rear Line Out

1 x 10" sub

For now, I notice that both rear speakers and sub fighting for bass output. In other words, the sub can take heavy blasting but the rear unable to cope with it.

How do separate everything? Using crossovers? I only have 1 2-way amp. Should I upgrade to a 4 channel amp?

Need to listen to see how to improve without changing anything.....if you want to upgrade, upgrade the front speakers, the only get a amp.

Originally posted by calvinhpk@Feb 17 2005, 16:23
what amp u're using?? read the user manual of the amp...should state there
it might show in the amp also....at the speaker output

it might not sound good if you bridged you amp to run the front component set.... but it MIGHT only.... have a try....

good move that you plan to get rid of the rear speaker :D
calvinpk,

here i list down what i have in my ride

1. HU : pioneer FH-P6200

http://www.pioneer.com.sg/storefront/ImagesOnline/FH-P6200.jpg

2. component speaker front : Pioneer TS-C1653

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/vgn/images/portal/cit_3442/32651tsc1653.jpg

3. componet speaker rear : Pioneer TS-C1653
-same as above-

4.Amp (for front n rear comp. speakers ) : Pioneer GM-X364 (4ch. brigeable)
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/vgn/images/portal/cit_3442/37772GM-X364.jpg

Specifications - AMP

Continuous Power (14.4V): 35Wx4 (4 ohm), 40Wx4 (2 ohm), 70Wx2 (4 ohm)
Max Power (14.4V): 70Wx4 (4 ohm), 150Wx2 (4 ohm)
Frequency Response: 10Hz - 50kHz (0,-1dB)
Total Harmonic Distortion: 0.008% (1kHz, 4W)
Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 100dB (IHF-A)
Dimensions: 11" x 2-5/16" x 9-5/16"

5.subwoofer (built with amp) - Pioneer TS-WS20LPA

Features
200W MAX. (Output Power)
20cm Foamed IMPP composite cone woofer
Pioneer exclusive Linear Power Response Technology
Built-in 200W max. monaural amplifier
2-Layer Dual Long Voice Coil
Built-in variable LPF (50 - 125Hz, -12dB/oct.)

so might be i need to take out da rear comp speakers...rite...

hope...ICE sfiu's here can help me....

thanks for ur prompt reply...

currently... the installer using da Input A and Input B which is from RCA Input , and not using the speaker input terminal at all... plus i can c that all da comp. speakers connected to Speaker Output Terminal., which Four-Ch mode.....

stil blur laaa....coz newbie....in ICE

i think no need to change RCA connections...

what u need now is juz unplug all the rear speakers cable....

then switch the 'switch' to 2 channel mode like in the picture

then connect the front speaker wire like in the picture

shall be ok liao

calvinpk,

at the moment from HU to amp is using RCA connection....is it ok?

orait for the rear 1 will do this saturday... :) thanks

for me...i would prefer a 3/4 way...

high: can do high pass
mid: can do high pass + low pass (bandpass)
low: can do low pass

oh ic..

so need to survey 3/4 e-xover...tq 4 ur advice....

i think i wanna change my HU oso.... dont to use da big deck anymore...
looking forward 4 Alpine...

yep... alpine in my list....
after reading a lot of info regarding this HU line...

but i have not decide which model...maybe u can suggest something...

Originally posted by calvinhpk@Feb 18 2005, 17:08
alpine is a nice choise....

u can try look at coustic e-cross....they can do bandpass i think
Yes, the Coustic XM6 can do bandpass for the mids.