Crocodile Steve Irwin Is Dead

there is a forward msg send out saying that pls add a turtle sign on msn as to show tribute to him. i've just added

EXACTLY he is the croc hunter not ur turtle hunter .

using this pic as ur display pic does more justice .

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/3492/2dl0.jpg

Some people were brought onto this earth for very specific purposes. They were only ever going to be doing one thing and one thing only. Such as Elvis was born to herald in a new era in music, such as Bruce Lee was born to take Chinese kung fu to new heights. Steve Irwin was born to do what he did best and did with such fervour. He wasn't just good with crocodiles, the man was a great animal lover and naturalist. His job on this earth was to spread his love for all living creatures on earth, especially the most misunderstood ones, to the rest of the world. I believe he has succeeded and he has touched all our lifes.

I forsee the sale of stingray dishes will go up as a result of his death...

infernaL said:
EXACTLY he is the croc hunter not ur turtle hunter .

using this pic as ur display pic does more justice .

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/3492/2dl0.jpg

Turtle .. hunter.. really funny.

Friend, people ask u to put turtle u put ar? .. ure one of the greatest slave ever lived ;)

Steve Irwin may leave us and the world. But he will always stand a place in everyone's heart.

My respect for you is never less than a bite of crocodile.
Rest in peace my man. Hope u will live well in the other side of the world. And may God bless your family.

Peace.

i read his news about his death with much sadness. He has done great things and the best thing about him is that he does what he does with much passion and love.. very few are like him. The more I read, the more I feel the loss.. it is a nation's loss

sakuraguy said:
Turtle .. hunter.. really funny.

Friend, people ask u to put turtle u put ar? .. ure one of the greatest slave ever lived ;)

obviously didnt put la , instead i used the pic i posted from ur post lol - heck thesun also used it in their frontpage :shades_smile:

just dont understand why they had to use a turtle .

A tortoise because probably the oldest living tortoise in captivity died recently in the Irwin run Australian Zoo. Her name was Harriet and she was 176 years old. I suppose using the symbol of the tortoise honours both of them. Discovery Channel will be playing tributes to him. Good man.

He thought us things about wild life that you can't learn from school. Most of the time ppl are afraid of crocs, snakes and some other reptiles but after watching his show I learnt that wild animals attack ppl is because they feel threaten and not suka suka go attack ppl. He teach us how to admire the beauty of crocs and snakes..etc...

I'm still afraid of crocs and snakes after having watched his programmes!:regular_smile:

What I have learnt though is that these animals are often misunderstood. Now we understand why they behave and react in certain ways.

si|verfish said:
Some people were brought onto this earth for very specific purposes. They were only ever going to be doing one thing and one thing only. Such as Elvis was born to herald in a new era in music, such as Bruce Lee was born to take Chinese kung fu to new heights. Steve Irwin was born to do what he did best and did with such fervour. He wasn't just good with crocodiles, the man was a great animal lover and naturalist. His job on this earth was to spread his love for all living creatures on earth, especially the most misunderstood ones, to the rest of the world. I believe he has succeeded and he has touched all our lifes.

yeap.. every animal he found.. he sure praise it ..gorgeous... pretty.. etc etc..great person.. think he is a good dad n family guy also..pity his wife.. mayb she live strong..

yes jesz,eat sting ray asam pedas...
curry stingray oso can

btw the accident sounds freakish
the barbwire thingy pierce right thru his heart,then he pulled it out....

simonchangwaimun said:
yes jesz,eat sting ray asam pedas...
curry stingray oso can

btw the accident sounds freakish
the barbwire thingy pierce right thru his heart,then he pulled it out....

On CNN they say there's a vid that shows him pulling the barb out of his heart right before he died. But they didn't post it online as a sign of respect for the great man.

ok i think ive found a reasonable explanation for the turtle thingy

wikipedia said:
He founded the Steve Irwin Conservation Foundation, which was later renamed Wildlife Warriors Worldwide, and became an independent charity. He was described after his death by the CEO of RSPCA Queensland as a "modern-day Noah", and British naturalist David Bellamy lauded his skills as a natural historian and media performer.[16] Irwin discovered a new species of turtle that now bears his name, Elseya irwini — Irwin's Turtle — a species of turtle found on the coast of Queensland.

source :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Irwin
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elseya_irwini

i got owned by my beloved wiki lol

Good an ya infernaL for clearing the issue:top:

Before I left for work this morning, I managed to tune into the Discovery Channel and they were playing a programme dedicated in his memory. It was entitled "Confessions of Steve Irwin" or something to that effect. It's basically an interview session with the bloke and questions were asked about the contraversies in his life amidst other more positive issues. There was also a part near the end where they showed footage of how Steve Irwin helped to save a man's life. Here is the story:

Steve Irwin saved my life, says diver​
By Peter Mitchell
September 06, 2006

AN American diver who owes his life to Steve Irwin says he was shattered to learn about the Crocodile Hunter's death.

"He saved my life," an emotional Scott Jones said today from his home in Iowa.

"I've lost a good friend."

Mr Jones was part of a tragic scuba diving expedition in the Sea of Cortez, off the coast of Mexico, in 2003.

Mr Jones' friend, 77-year-old Katie Vrooman, died during the dive after a sea surge knocked her twice against rocks. Mr Jones fought to hold on to her unconscious body for almost two hours and, while hanging off rocks and floating in the water, attempted to resuscitate her.

Eventually Mr Jones had to let Ms Vrooman's body go and he spent a harrowing night alone perched on rocks.

In a lucky twist of fate, Irwin and his film crew happened to be in the vicinity shooting a documentary and heard an SOS call on their radio that two divers had gone missing.

Irwin, who had never met Mr Jones or Mr Vrooman, decided he would abandon his film project to try to find them.

Mr Jones was precariously sitting on a rock outcrop dehydrated and scarred from being battered on the rocks.

Irwin, dressed in his khaki shorts and shirt, dived in the water and swam across to save Mr Jones.

At the time, Mr Jones did not realise Irwin was a celebrity.

The quietly-spoken Mr Jones said he had heard of Paul "Crocodile Dundee" Hogan, but not the Crocodile Hunter.

"After they got me on to the main boat, Steve helped me get my wetsuit off me and he went below to do something," Jones recalled.

"Somebody behind me said 'So what do you think of the Crocodile Hunter?'

"So I was looking around for Crocodile Dundee. I thought when the makeup comes off Dundee's looks must change.

"But, when I finally got home my daughter turned the Animal Planet channel on and I started watching his show from then.

"It was wild. He was jumping on crocodiles and things like that."

Jones and his wife Deborah sent flowers to Irwin's wife, Terri, and kids, Bindi and Bob.

They are also planning a trip to Australia to speak to his family.

"We'd love to go to Australia and tell his wife and kids just what a great man he is," Mr Jones, who declined to tell his age, adding it was a secret, said.

"He was a hell of an educator, from kids all the way up to old farts like me.

"He was a hero."

Mr Jones, an experienced diver, said he was surprised a stingray, "one of the most gentle creatures in the ocean" caused Irwin's death.

Amidst all the well wishes he and his family have received, there have also been a section of people that have attacked him and show a lot of disrespect by basically saying he deserved what he got. Let's look at some of the reasons shall we?

1) Holding his newborn son, Robert in one arm while feeding a live crock with the other
As Steve said, "Given the environment that they live in, he would have been a bad parent had he not exposed his son to crocs at an early age". Afterall, when would it be a good age to do so? After his son has heard about crocs from friends just as we have? After he has developed an inherent fear for them?

In all his honesty, Steve said he did it in a controlled environment which he did, in the Australian Zoo. The scene was rehearsed and personnel were on standby. 3 camera crews captured the scene; 1 decided it was not news worthy and dropped it, 1 decided to slot it in at the end of the news segment as it was fun and only the 3rd decided it was breaking news because of the particular camera angle the got. Steve has dealt with crocs all his life and so has his dad before him, who understands crocs better than him? Do you think he'd intentionally endanger the life of his son? I liken it to someone saying going on a lap with Michael Schumacher is more dangerous than driving on a highway during rush hour. Is this true? Surely not. It is more perceived fear than it is about actual fear.

2) Causing distress to snakes, crocs and all the other animals he's come in contact with
There animals are living in constant distress given the amount of progress that is happening world wide which is why Steve started his TV shows in the first place. He wanted to highlight how animals were being affected by human 'dominance'. If he does cause them a little distress, it's all for a good cause. It's not like he butchered any of them. When parents bring up their kids, don't they sometimes cause the kid some distress as well? By scolding them and punishing them? Isn't it mostly for a good cause? To teach them to be wiser, smarter? In Steve's case, it is to educate us, the public on the plight of these animals and how we can better understand their behaviour. This is all assuming these animals were in distress in the first place.

I find it appaling that people can use a couple of examples to crucify a man especially after all the good he's done. Sure he's not perfect, none of us are.