cheking turbo

4_wHeeLerS

hie all,well i have a question here..how do i actually determine that a trubo is healthy and its in good condition..?? i was told that once a turbo is not working well,white coloured smoke will be emitted from ur car exhaust..?? is it true..??besides that,what can i do or see to check it..??

thanks alot guys,ur help is much appreciated..cheers~~!

check the manifold...where the exhaust turbine connecting to the
exhaust manifold.. look for warps. heat warps. Sometimes when u
buy a used turbo, the turbo might had heated up quite badly and it
will not lock to your exhaust manifold properly and exhaust leak will occur.
If this problem occurs you have to machine the exhaust turbine manifold so it will be the same level as your exhuast manifold. Hope u get what i mean..

performancewerkz said:
check the manifold...where the exhaust turbine connecting to the
exhaust manifold.. look for warps. heat warps. Sometimes when u
buy a used turbo, the turbo might had heated up quite badly and it
will not lock to your exhaust manifold properly and exhaust leak will occur.
If this problem occurs you have to machine the exhaust turbine manifold so it will be the same level as your exhuast manifold. Hope u get what i mean..

wokeh..thanks alot performancewerkz..are there any other symptoms if the turbo is damaged..??

erm
put ur finger in the fins
start the car and rev
hahahahahah u got no fingers means then u know lar
kidding
ok do this
take the hose out put ur finger in
move the fins see if got free shaft play
if yes then problem lar
then spin the fin , see is it smooth or jammed up
then next if got white smoke sure kong larr
if u put ur finger in and got oil , black oil , then oil seal kong

if got white smoke sure kong larr
if u put ur finger in and got oil , black oil , then oil seal kong

White smoke does not necesarry mean turbo kong. It might be valve seals or piston rings.

Oil in Turbo could be due to PCV, which is normal.

ops sorry , bow to sifu :D
i mean posibility is there lar , if engine condition is ok :D

It depends when the smoke occurs.

Whether its during boosting or iddling, the former indicates turbo failure more than likely.

alrightt..thanks alot joeker and jinkl..
put my fingers into the turbine and start revving..??:p might consider that la if i damn lazy to test..faster way..:D

guys,if the shaft is jammed..that means it would be quite difficult for me to spin the turbine with my fingers..??

so that means while boosting there shouldn't be any white smoke..??or idling..??correct me if i'm wrong..thanks alot guys..

i used to fill the lines with oil and tape the ends. let it sit and if there is a leak then uts pretty much fuck3d. check freeplay of the impaller. there should be some minimal play but nothing exessive. no nicks or bents on fin.

yeah if jammed then its will be hard to spin it and sometimes cant even spin it hhehehhe

any other way to tell besides going all the way in. like from feel or noise diagnosis?

aigghtt guys..thanks alot for the replies...
hehehe..yeah would like to know here also if there's any sound..

4wheel!

dude u put turbo engine oledi ah?? what u put ah? evo or gsr?? or u went for bolt-on turbokit??

crystal_method

when the turbo fins are jammed... you will definately feel your car is sooooo damn underpowered. White smokes (with smell of burning oil) when idling also indicates the turbocharger is not in tip top shape. Provided your head gasket, valve seals and piston rings are in good condition. The best way to check... take the whole turbocharger out and check rather than guessing.

Bro.. if u needed turbo repair.. feel free to contact me. But this guy ain't charging cheap.. but so far.. i admire his work + he use all original parts, as all of his customers are happy with the results. It comes with warranty too.

crystal_method said:
4wheel!

dude u put turbo engine oledi ah?? what u put ah? evo or gsr?? or u went for bolt-on turbokit??

crystal_method

hahaha..yeah i plonked in an evo..whooaaa i tot u forgotten me already..how r u doin..??

ftzone said:
when the turbo fins are jammed... you will definately feel your car is sooooo damn underpowered. White smokes (with smell of burning oil) when idling also indicates the turbocharger is not in tip top shape. Provided your head gasket, valve seals and piston rings are in good condition. The best way to check... take the whole turbocharger out and check rather than guessing.

Bro.. if u needed turbo repair.. feel free to contact me. But this guy ain't charging cheap.. but so far.. i admire his work + he use all original parts, as all of his customers are happy with the results. It comes with warranty too.

alrightt thanks alot ftzone...its turbo repairing and servicing la right..??thanks alot for the kang tau..hahahaha..whoaa looks like i owe u damn alot cups of teh ais liao..hehehe

i dont know my turbo is kong or vavle seal... problem is like...

idle no white smooke, white smooke only comes especially when car running going to slow down till stop then will suddently come out "POP" bunch of white smooke come out.

sometimes white and sometimes black but often is white.

and anyone know anywhere in cheras do help service turbo?

just check my turbo, the fin can push in/out aronud 2mm and shake around 1mm

and im using a a/r48 turbine from a mitsu eclipse, bigger than tdo4 and slightly smaller than td05, izzit worth to rebuild?