changing rim fr 16" to 17"

oonbc

Hi all, I just wonder someone can be so kind to give me some advise. I'm planning to change my tyres since it all due at the same time!
current size: 205/45 R16
proposed: 215/40 R17

the proposed 4pcs tyres (2months old)+ 4rims (boh taiwanese brand) are used and the seller is asking for rm900. since i m gonna have to change my tyres anyway, will cost me around the same or even more for the tyres only. :o

do you think this is a good option? from the changing of size, any bad influence to the car?

by the way, i m driving a 1.8 car

appreciate for any comments... thks alot
denn

car look like lowered, more stylish, tayar also cost moreloh, more stable, more power usage, minyak also lebihloh, rim sure look bigger, more chicks will be attracted by the size of your wheels, more Ah Beng look at your car, more easy kena dentedloh, more power needed to increase the speedloh, more burning of the money in your pocketloh etc...more...more...more... :lol: :lol: :lol:

one more, more bigger size, vibration also more n your balls also vibrate more when pass by pothhole :lol: :lol:

thanks for the info..

wahh... seems like mainly bad things will happen after change to 17"..... sounds very unpractical just for the look huh... :unsure:

but at 900bucks i think is quite a good deal.. dont u think so?

wait till u go buy the new tyres, your balls also drop out when u see the price :lol: :lol: :lol:

interesting.... but how much it can be? 500bucks? :blink:

go for cheap cheap Thailand made's tyre loh....or Silverstone loh..... :lol:
http://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpghttp://www.zerotohundred.com/demo1.jpg

well i m using michellin 16" now n it cost me about 320/pc... so i dont think my balls will fall off if i saw the price of the 17". thanks for the concern :lol: :lol: :lol:

but i dont think i will go for michellin anymore....

hai, heahache... 17" is really tempting :wub:

Well, there r pros & cons for 17" wheels.

I've been using 17" for the past 2 years on my car & man, the tyres' prices will burn a fucking big hole to ur wallet or bank accounts. U mentioned that u r using Michelin tyres that's RM320 for each rite. Actually the tyres' prices depends on which tyre models that u selected & from which manufacturer.

Just for sharing, previously i'm using cheapo Ventus HR2 tyres that's made by Hankook that costs me RM220 each & I've been switching brands for the past 2 years. The most kaw tyres i've switched is Yokohama Advan AD07 that costs me a whooping RM480 each! Imagine that i'm changing all 4 pieces!!!

The pros for 17" is better garang looking to ur car as the wheels r bigger & running with low-profile tyres. Better grip that leads to better handling capability to ur car & also, the rim's spokes r easier to wash if u selected those wide separated spokes rims.

The cons r beware of killer potholes that's our M'sian road is famous for. More vibrations will be felt on the steering wheel when going through uneven road conditions. Another thing is ur car will be targeted more than those 15" or 16" wheels cars as it attracts the attention since it's so big & stunning looking. 17" wheels r easier to get scratched if u accidentally scrap pass a brick, road divider or any blunt objects on the road.

thks for sharing...

btw, from your experience what is the life time for the tyres you have used before... how long it will last?

Con
- on average RM100+ more per tire
- alot easier to puncture a tire on our potholes
- easier to dent rim
- fuel consumption goes up
- power goes down
- increased vibration might cause rattles to your car

Pro
- looks damn good :)

Originally posted by oonbc@Jan 19 2005, 20:20
thks for sharing...

btw, from your experience what is the life time for the tyres you have used before... how long it will last?
From the experience of a friend of mine who happen to drive those rare Honda "Amadelio or something", already dented 10 times in 2 years all four wheels, and he is using the "ICE" brand 17" sport rim. The last round he don even borther to repair the rims says he is dam fed up already wanna go back to 16". SO good luck to you.

Originally posted by jwrx@Jan 19 2005, 22:41
Con
- easier to dent rim
- power goes down

Pro
even with all the cons... that very single pro seems to cancel out all the cons!!! whaahahahahaha... :D :lol: :P

Originally posted by antaras+Jan 20 2005, 01:00 -->
QUOTE (antaras @ Jan 20 2005, 01:00 )
--QuoteBegin-jwrx
@Jan 19 2005, 22:41
Con
- easier to dent rim
- power goes down

Pro

even with all the cons... that very single pro seems to cancel out all the cons!!! whaahahahahaha... :D :lol: :P [/b][/quote]
hhahahhahaaa :lol:
damn....good.......looking....... :lol: :lol: :lol: