Changing car rims to 17"

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-

Sorry if this has been asked countless of times in this forum.

I'm driving a Chevrolet Optra 1.8. I plan to change my car rims to 17" (stock is 15"). It costs RM2300 (including tyres) to change. What I would like to know is whether the price is reasonable? What should I do with the old rims? Trade in or keep? Heard can trade in for RM700+.

The rims i plan to change is below. Thanks!! Planning to change very soon..

think the rim design is not bad....and u should trade in the old set lohz...no point keeping them...

2.3k sounds about right to me assuming youre getting a decent brand rims & tires.

I would keep the rim if you plan on reselling the car anytime soon. Otherwise just trade it in. ;)

lumghini : thanks for your comments!

Aetobatus : what's the decent tyres and rims? can you please elaborate more? my car is only 1 yr old. so what do you suggest, keep or trade in the old rims? don't think i'll be changing the car anytime soon..maybe 4 yrs down the road. hehe..

i'm planning to use falken tyres 215/x/x. can't remember the 2 other numbers..! hehe :)

I changed my rims and I still keep on my stock :) , eventhough someone wants it. As long as you have a place to keep them I think its ok, who knows I might want to change it back later again for a lot of reasons including a case of Land Transport inspection (so not gonna bother myself looking for another rim) but if you wanna sell them oso ok.... it does reduces the cost some more. Its up to you.... ;)

tires like falken would be more than decent. In fact, if you're getting azenis, I'd say whoa!! Rims, I don't know.. some good one would be bbs and such.

Like what mofaab said, I would keep my stock parts with me just in case s#!t happens for whatever reason. That too because I have extra space in the storeroom

i am guessing you should watch out for the clearance between your tyres/rims and your wheel arch.. dont want to introduce knocking to your ride.. :)

RM2300?
for 17" rims and tyres,I wud say it's a normal price.depends on the brand of the rims and tyres.
old rims?
trade in if u plan to ride ur car long enough b4 letting it go.try to push the price higher than RM700++ as u r trading them in..

anyway, damn pissed off. went to klang, can't find the rims i wanted as it's old design. went to glenmarie, shah alam. they were selling the rims for rm1700, but the tyres are a killer! so freaking expensive!! rm350 per tyre. 215/45/17 falken tyres....sheesh! my budget was rm2.5k but total up rm3k+!!

another thing, bigger rims = better handling and cornering but higher fuel consumption and less comfort? can someone please elaborate more? thanks!

mofaab : do u mean JPJ disallow ppl to mod bigger rims? land transport = jpj right? but damn la! i want to keep my old rims but my house no space! parents say no space! haiz!!! :(

Aetobatus : what's bbs? the brand? from taiwan? anyway, i wanted the falken tyres 215/45/17..i forgot what type but it costs rm350 per tyre! SO EXPENSIVE!!

blur_civic : what knocking are you talking about?

boggysv : what's correct offset? how do i check? sorry! car newbie here!! know how to drive only but duno anything bout cars at all!

pdj1103 : so much for rm2300! not rm2300! it's because they offered lousy cheap tyres! sheesh!! almost get cheated! klang's the cheapest right? i very confused now!!!!! so mafan one change rims. WHY ARE TYRES SO FREAKING EXPENSIVE?!! aaargh!! anyway, best part is that guy offered rm300 for my rims! come on lah!! my car only 1 yr old and tyres still quite new! bloody hell! wan to con me!

If i remember correctly.. there is a ruling where you can only change in addition of 2" in terms of rim size... lets say from 15" to 17", 14" to 16"... but then again.. i am very sure the authorities never bother to check..

the knocking which i am talking about is actually refering to the offset mentioned by boggysv... offset is a measurement which determines how far out your rims will be.. erm.. anyone got a link here for some graphics..

if your rims are too far out (-ve offset right guys?) then your tyres might brush against your wheel arch if you are going over bumpy roads... kinda hard for me to explain over words.. :)

i hope someone can answer these questions. thanks!

1) if i buy the new set of rims, it comes in 4 pieces right? what happens
to the spare tyre? does a new set of rims come in 4 pieces + a spare tyre?
if it comes in 4 pieces, what if i get a puncture while driving, how do i
change to a spare tyre if i don`t have one? i hope this message is clear,
please let me know if you don`t understand me.

2) Secondly, if i get another 17" spare tyre, can it fit into the boot of
my car? or will it only fit 15"?

3) will it void the warranty of my car as my car`s only 1 yr old? if i
changed the rims..

please answer my questions, these 3 questions are bugging me and the only
obstacle left before i change to the new set of rims. thank you! :)

blur_civic : then i think i'm safe 'coz i'm going from 15" to 17". how do i check the offset? any way to check? go to shop? what will happen if my rims are too far out? consequences? thanks!

1. No it doesn't. Use your existing spare tire and drive to the nearest tire shop asap.

2. No one I know have done that, yet. And I don't see a reason for it since you can use your factory spare.

3. Changing rims will not void the warranty. BUT, dealer always have the final say. They could give you all kind of $hit so they could charge you for the labor.

Good luck with the new rims. :)

Aetobatus is right about the spare tyre question.. me too used my spare tyre with 16 inchers last time...

As for the offset it should be written on the rim itself.. most propably behind the rims..

Maybe when you buy the rims and tyres you can ask the tyre guy to double check if the rim will knock your wheel arch.. cause I just remembered another factor.. some tyres have a thicker or wider firewall compares to others.. hahaha.. quite alot of thing to mention about tyres and rims..

Maybe you can buy first and regret later... :P

Yupe its the JPJ.... I not sure whether its 1" or 2" maybe plus 1 concept. And I think you have to get a permit (if it does exist) from JPJ for an approval to use them or something (not that can get them or not, do they give permits out hmmmm....) to avoid future inspection better ask around more, but hey like blur_civic the authorities never bother to check.... but always respect them oso ok. And yes like Aetobatus said if you get a punture just use your spare tire temporary and go to the workshop for repair. Dont look nice if its different hehehehe :D And talking about the boot will it fit or not why dont you check it out first have a look, test it out or ask them cuz I think different car have different spare tyre space. Warranty after changing rims well.... I asked before, the Dealer or so call senior mechanic guy said alot of 'what are you talking about?!?!' stuff, but I managed to ask another mechanic, he said if the rims are changed the warranty will void the bearings only. so I didnt care much.... just went out and changed them. You can see my rims thru my profile, I posted my Ride there. Sorry to hear you cant find the rims that you wanted and no space for the existing rims, so are you gonna find another rim and sell the others out? Hey dont forget to post pictures of your new rims if you decide to get them.... ;) Best of Luck :)