changing rim fr 16" to 17"

oonbc

Hi all, I just wonder someone can be so kind to give me some advise. I'm planning to change my tyres since it all due at the same time!
current size: 205/45 R16
proposed: 215/40 R17

the proposed 4pcs tyres (2months old)+ 4rims (boh taiwanese brand) are used and the seller is asking for rm900. since i m gonna have to change my tyres anyway, will cost me around the same or even more for the tyres only. :o

do you think this is a good option? from the changing of size, any bad influence to the car?

by the way, i m driving a 1.8 car

appreciate for any comments... thks alot
denn

ur changes are not a very large one.so you will not get much pros and cons.but on the pros side?u might get a lil more handling and cornering.but ur car might feeling a LIL heavier.but since its a 1.8..no big deal

btw wht 16" ur using? Taiwan/Local made or lightweight Jap ? if using taiwan / local made rims den i think it wont make any big difference cus ur used to the feel of heavy rims..but if Jap lightweight rims den u might feel the difference ther..car feel bit heavier than b4 and u will lose performance but handling wise better..so u gota choose which one u prefer..either sacrifice handling / performance ... if ur goin for the looks den 17" is jus nice..if performance wise den 15" is best recommended and make sure it is Lightweight Jap rims..

i experienced this b4 so im jus telling u from my point of view..
i tried 15" > 15"/16" > 16" > 15" = 16" no power and feel alot heavier but cornerings damn nice to layan..but still alittle scary cus using cheapo tyres..

what car u driving? I think if its a wira/satria/putra... 215 width don't fit... will kena fenders kau kau.

if the previous 16" u use is a crappy 1 n tis new 17" is a good 1......then pickup would b no difference...

also....17" avoid holeslor.........but most good quality rim dun bend so easily

Originally posted by xtorm@Jan 20 2005, 21:55
if the previous 16" u use is a crappy 1 n tis new 17" is a good 1......then pickup would b no difference...

also....17" avoid holeslor.........but most good quality rim dun bend so easily
hehehe pot holes are one of m'sians best values..

depends oso on wat kinda rims oso...wat car u driving?