205/50/15 tyres....what sort of rims?

Zeroed

1,500 RPM
Nov 14, 2003
Rim noob here. My original tyres are 205/45/16 ones, Im thinking of changing them to 205/50/15 ones.. is that the same diameter as the original?

Anyway what sort of rims can fit those tyres? I only know that I need to get PCD100 ones for stock Proton cars...

Many thanks.

hawick

Known Member
Jun 27, 2005
D'sara / S'ban
yes, thinkness of tyres.
45 means 45% of 205mm
correct me if i wrong.

p/s: i notice that he is asking the diameter of tyre, not diameter of rim

satria_95

6,000 RPM
Jan 2, 2004
Malaysia
Disclaimer: The following article was extracted from
http://www.edmunds.com/ownership/techcenter/articles/43859/article.html
so the ownership, copyright, and bla bla bla belongs to the owner of that website.

205/55R 16 89V

The first number in this series refers to the tire's section width, or distance from sidewall edge to sidewall edge (in millimeters) when measured up and over the tire's tread. Generally speaking, the larger this number is, the taller and/or wider the tire will be.

This number is the tire's aspect ratio, or its section height compared to its section width. In this case, the section (or sidewall) height is 55 percent of the section width. This number can be very indicative of a tire's purpose. Lower numbers, like 55 or less, mean a short sidewall for improved steering response and better overall handling.

R
The "R" refers to radial construction, which has been the industry standard in passenger car tires for more than twenty years. Prior to radial tires, most cars came with bias-ply tires which had a crude construction that made for poor handling. Bias-ply tires are still used for certain truck applications.

This is the rim diameter, in inches, for which the tire was sized. Pay particular attention to this number if you plan on upgrading your wheel size. If your wheel diameter changes, you'll have to purchase a new set of tires that match this new diameter.