Carburetor Section

gavan said:
wei wei, dun be decieve wei...twin barrel and single barrel got diff wan leh, butthen maye its better as its one butterfly and it is bigger compared to those twin barrel ;) but anywyaz, to answer satria racer and charadeboy wan question leh.....eh, wwait, which is which aR? aiyah, ill qoute their questions later ;) btw, twin barrel hole normalyl smaller abit compared to those single barrel ;) but if the size of your barrel originally is bigger compared to the proton singler barrel, better not get, later regret ler no power, but confirm fuel economy sure better wan ;)

hey bro...i just back from my fren's workshop
i ask my mech for this question and his answer to me is exactly same with yours
kekeke
single but bigger butterfly.....power is nice
twin barrel's hole is smaller
i think its same method like single turbo and twin turbo
am i correct ar sifuu ?
=D

owh, ive forgotten one more thing, im not using a CB23 but im using a HC engine ;) and its a carb, so its a HC-C :lol:

cookie said:
hmmm....... if not mistaken your espri HC engine carb is dual barrel carb

or you can find carbs from Toyota K-series engine or Datsun A-series engine or Mitsu carb or weber :tee:

ey sifoo!! HC is for 1.3L larr... CB23 is the 1.0L engine lerrr, but i dunno whats the carb they using lar, but confirm is different lar, as mine got many hoses here there all the where and the size and all is different also :lol:

twin barrel or not, any carb/EFI floor that time also sound syok ler with open pod/filterless, but twin barrel is that when the secondary butterly open so does the secondary jet shoot petrol in also, so this makes the car feel more power, like VTEC lar :) ahaha, but dun expect the sound like VTEC larr :D no waaaaaaarrrrpppppppp warrrrrrrrrrrrrppppp!! :lol: just the suction sound niaaa :lol: same tune wan :lol: ahahahaha.....

-DaRReN-C- said:
kekeke
am i correct ar sifuu ?
=D

woah woah, who you calling sifoo??
cookie not here also??

btw, yeah, its like that larr, cause you must think marr, bigger barrel/hole means more air can flow in mar, and single barrel carb size also smaller compared to those twin barrels where the carb is bigger. but the small holes works wonders if you put one butterfly for each cylinder ;) like those individual throttle bodies :D syok, but petrol also syok larr... :lol: cause individual jet for each butterfly, then muahahaha...bye bye petrol..

gavan : tnx for ur reply in my other thread bout the airfilter... hope to hear ur review between normal filter n ur open pod one..! :biggrin:

and i got a question for all the carburetor ppl here... hope u all will do this for me and just reply few words.. thats all i want to know..

What type of filter u all use for ur carburetor cars?

1) Open-Pod ?

2) Drop-In ?

n IF u got time, plz tell me ur reviews, and maybe suggestions..?

tnx veli much.. :smile:

gavan said:
woah woah, who you calling sifoo??
cookie not here also??

btw, yeah, its like that larr, cause you must think marr, bigger barrel/hole means more air can flow in mar, and single barrel carb size also smaller compared to those twin barrels where the carb is bigger. but the small holes works wonders if you put one butterfly for each cylinder ;) like those individual throttle bodies :D syok, but petrol also syok larr... :lol: cause individual jet for each butterfly, then muahahaha...bye bye petrol..

hm....i dont think my car currently save fuel also
RM50 for 300km only
for average 1 lar...tekan 35% normal drive 65%
but mine carb is so small compare to the carb i buy
almost can be 2 of my current carb =.="

owh, hehe, forgot, proton carbs are abit bigger also, dunno why, maybe mechanism inside different kwaaa....

but anywayz, nitrus, the filter part ar?

hard to tell, as this tuning now is for economy and no more high revving(occasionally got ler) but ill still give a feedback lar as im stilll playing around with my A/F ratio. the response from the open pod and the stock i could feel its similar lar, but consumtion wise, i might get more from my open pod as it has a customed surbo + extension ram for it where else my stock filter has nothing, totally stock but it has its down CAI lar ;) anyhow, the open pod did sound more garang, but the time to reach higher speed is better compared to stock but the pull of the car when using the stock filter feels better. might be because of my surbo that i could do higher speeds faster, i dunno but one thing for sure is that the carb really needs loads of cool air going to it. but since ive no dyno or whatsoever, its all based on my butt feel :lol:

open pod:
- pick up feels better as engine revs higher faster
- less ristriction due to more space for air to suck in
- louder sound
- consumtion around 300-350KM per full tank(Rm50 aprox)

Stock(been using it fer like almost few days)
- pick up a lil slower but throttle respond not too bad lar.
- abit more ristriction(had to tune the A/F again for this one since the open pod i tuned it to be very very rich and the engine was bogging down when i floored the accalerator)
- no sound, oni can hear the exhaust sound to be more prominent compared to the filter sound.
- consumption, so far duno yet, trying to calculate now with my full tank

btw, my Rm50 also cannot go far lerr... :( need a new carb, i guess mine abit cacat liow, ahahhahaha :lol: DCOE DCOE DCOE DCNF DCNF DCNF :lol:

and to answer nitrus wan question arrr....

what are you looking for?
pure performance or more of like econimical driving with abit more power? cause if you are searching for better air flow but wanna mantain the original air-box and all, better to get a drop-in replacement filter (eg:k&n) or if you want more garang and rev rev, go for open pod as there is no ristriction in the amount of air-flow going thru the filter and into the engine ;)

-DaRReN-C- said:
kekeke
am i correct ar sifuu ?
=D

darren-c, this carb issue is pretty subjective as twin barrel will give you torque and power as compare to single carb which will give you fuel economy.

that is what I read somewhere in the internet long time ago. most ppl want mid and low rpm power that is why they opt for single carb, some like mid and high rpm that is why they opt for twin barrel

anyway my 2 cents :biggrin:

cookie said:
darren-c, this carb issue is pretty subjective as twin barrel will give you torque and power as compare to single carb which will give you fuel economy.

that is what I read somewhere in the internet long time ago. most ppl want mid and low rpm power that is why they opt for single carb, some like mid and high rpm that is why they opt for twin barrel

anyway my 2 cents :biggrin:

wah... =.="
single carb is more save fuel meh ?
why got people said that twin barrel is more save fuel 1 ?
?_?
torque higher meh ??
very confusin...
may solve the problem of myself after i fix my new carbie in
=p

ahaha, sorry sorry, posting very long and blurry :lol:

erm, twin barrel can save fuel at times if, i said IF you are light footed, goes the same for the single barrel too, if you are heavy footed, petrol also makan wan, no matter what kinda carb you are using....its all bout tuning and driving style... ;)

but if got single carb and tune it like sifoo fred, very power also wan..... :D

fstrader said:
wahhhh gavan..i see ur posting edi blur laa ahahahahahah

unker fred ... its ppl like gavan that we need more in this conservative forum la... not many ppl willing to be so sharing in their experience... :smile:

gavan !! tnxx for ur explaination .. well , i reli dunno la whether to use drop-in / open-pod .. open pod need to pay so much money to install with the long ram pipe and adapter.. if i buy the drop-in i no need spend so much ...

lets say IF i choose drop-in ar... if i do something like this pic below, is it advisable? coz i worried that, if the pipe/hose too long, it'll take longer time for the air to reach when the filter try to suck air right? will there be any... lag , or lost of power? - plz refer to pic below...

from here...
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/eneguenas/469015000762.jpg

lead to..
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/eneguenas/475015000762.jpg

come out here..
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/eneguenas/474015000762.jpg

woah, you DIY aR?? good wei, very neat and nice ;)

and thanks for the compliment :) just sharing my info and experiance oni marr ;) thats what a forum is for :D

btw, if would work better if you could seal the place where you are joining it to the opening of your original airbox or else the air from the CAI wont effect much. actually yours is already using the stock filter box, so there is already a minor CAI there already acuse its facing the front of the vehicle away from the engine but since you already done a diy like that, please do remember to seal the gap, then it will be more effective, i doubt that it will cause any lag to the system as the CAI piping is already huge enough and it is constantly drawing in fresh air from the bottom front of your bumper. i wished i could do something like your DIY but my car has very limited space, maybe one day i should buy this hose from stanley and try to fit it into my car :lol:

gavan said:

erm, twin barrel can save fuel at times if, i said IF you are light footed, goes the same for the single barrel too, if you are heavy footed, petrol also makan wan, no matter what kinda carb you are using....its all bout tuning and driving style... ;)

hmm...i light footed all the time 1 minimum 65% or sometimes can up to 80% time i'm light footed..
still confusin whether my carb got problem or what
i have to try my new single barrel wira 1.5 carbie and see how the FC..
will show my exp later....
cheersz

thnk gavan for the long right up.....as for open pod filter, my friend say to use k&n for this model, do any one know the product id number or model number that will fit on my cb23? thnx..

erm you could get a universal open pod fitler from K&N and it only requires the adapter for it. its kinda hard to find the adapter for the CB23 i suppose cause i dunno where they would sell one for it but you could try the saga open pod air-ram as im using it on my HC carbie ;) do try to ask them to let you test it on first to see if it fits, then only buy it, you do not want to get something you cant use right? :lol: so try it first :D and also, please do a CAI for your open pod as it will give you better FC and also performance ;)

btw, i was testing the top speed of my car just now, the feel is like abit lacking lar, maybe tuning not too ngam but the FC is kinda good, am getting bout 100KM's per quarter tank of petrol, shall wait till my petrol finishes to see the total distance ive travelled :lol: hope its better than my open pod cause if its not, then im going back to open pod, but this time with a new filter :P ahhahaa, the old one is like erm, old :P ahhaa, plus its chaplank filter :P so erm, dun care larr :lol:

noo gavan its not my DIY..!! hehee.. credit goes to jaywat . also in ZTH wan... :biggrin:

im trying to find out how da hell he link the hose from the top there to the front fender... i look at my car, no hole wan... weird la... :hmmmm: see la tmw i try find a opening eheeheh..

WHAT IF i just link the hose to a place away from the aircond fan .. at the sideee of the engine bay, right behind the Headlights (where got no oncoming air) and then do a d.i.y heatshield. It can still suck air right? but then that part there no oncoming air wor.. My fren say if i link the rampipe+vinyl hose there, it'll suck dust, as the part behind the headlamp there abit dusty.. So, if this a bad idea?

Or its best to just try find a way to link the rampipe+vinyl hose to the front fender there?

hope din confuse u there...

gavan said:
woah, you DIY aR?? good wei, very neat and nice ;)

and thanks for the compliment :) just sharing my info and experiance oni marr ;) thats what a forum is for :D

btw, if would work better if you could seal the place where you are joining it to the opening of your original airbox or else the air from the CAI wont effect much. actually yours is already using the stock filter box, so there is already a minor CAI there already acuse its facing the front of the vehicle away from the engine but since you already done a diy like that, please do remember to seal the gap, then it will be more effective, i doubt that it will cause any lag to the system as the CAI piping is already huge enough and it is constantly drawing in fresh air from the bottom front of your bumper. i wished i could do something like your DIY but my car has very limited space, maybe one day i should buy this hose from stanley and try to fit it into my car :lol:

guys,1 quest...do u wana how much market selling price for 2nd hand twin weber?

gavan said:

war sif00000 Gavan and Taik00000 Fred why single carb can give so much output :lol: