Carburetor Section

fstrader said:
all carbie fans left in a cold kah?:D

all waiting for the master to speak :p

finally the carb master have spoken fstrader :cool:

wahh cookie sif00....u wan me to bungkus u teh o ais izit:D

cipan mahaguru, power liow kah? mine no power wor...can help tune tune kah?:D

ur car alredy power la master fstrader...

no need tune ler..just my car need to tune.. :( later kene tapau 9 9 hehehehe

fstrader said:
wahh cookie sif00....u wan me to bungkus u teh o ais izit:D

cipan mahaguru, power liow kah? mine no power wor...can help tune tune kah?:D

no need I got to bungkus teh O ais besar + kau for Master ;)

just appear in my mind....is there any way to install AF ratio meter to carb engines??will be easy when do a tuning wether we want the afr lean,stoich or rich.possible or not??wat come across my mind is...need a O2 sensor on the extractor....and the meter.or it only can be install to the car with ECU??wiring??

hi darth, it is not possible to install it on a carbie operated car, as most carb cars solely depend on ur ears and ur nose, therefore installing an AF ratio is mostly impossible!:)

ermmm..thanks fstrader....

however i found some interesting site on it.....

The Cheap Way

Buy a single wire O2 sensor at your local parts house, make your own bung, and read the voltage with a digital voltmeter. The sensor that I bought is a Standard brand, number SG-12. The threads on this sensor are the same as a small-block Chevy gasket-style spark plug, so the bung can be made from one of those spark plug anti-foul adapters. Other O2 sensors use the large diameter threads of 18mm big Ford spark plugs. Just cut and fishmouth the adapter so that the sensor sticks into the exhaust flow. You need to put the sensor as close as possible to the engine so it gets hot and stays hot. Just make sure you route the wire so it doesn't get burned by the hot exhaust pipe. Weld the bung to the pipe, then drill and file the hole to clear the sensor.

Since the purpose of this sensor is just a guide to help you tune your carb, not run a fuel injection computer, if you can't get the sensor really close to the engine, don't worry, because it will still work for your purpose. All that will happen is that your reading may go away during periods of idling. On the same subject, don't worry about using a heated sensor, as the expense and complications involved are not worth it for carburetor tuning. Remember, your eyes are using this data, and if it stops for a while, no harm is done!

Sensor installed in Pinto exhaust.

http://www.bob2000.com/o2inst.jpg

Sensor and welded bung
http://www.bob2000.com/o2inst2.jpg

Once you have the sensor installed and wiring run up to the inside of the car, attach a digital voltmeter (you really should have one of your own, but you can sometimes borrow these from friends if you don't have one) to the sensor and a good body ground. The sensor is positive. The readings you'll get once the sensor has heated up will be from 1.1 volts (1100 millivolts, or mv) down to about 100 mv. The high readings are rich, the low readings are lean. The perfect mixture for cruise is 400 mv. I have found my car to run well at about 700-800 mv. Once it gets below that, it tends to get into a lean misfire. Your results may vary.

Here is a general idea at what the O2 sensor voltage output looks like. As you can see, the slope around 400mv, which is 14.7:1, or perfect combustion, is very steep. This is why only computerized fuel injection systems can really hold anything close to 400mv. If you're wondering about how a sensor can read oxygen content in rich mixtures where there is no extra oxygen, the sensor begins to act as a temperature sensor above 400mv

http://www.bob2000.com/o2grph.gif

so??any opinion on this??look interesting...

You`ll need a reader and a wide band O2 sensor..

the last one,cost a bomb..

please please someone tell me that can be obtain from halfcuts...

does anyone has any experience using gunson colortune?

okok..like that next question lor... where to get in malaysia? hehehehe

or else kena order dah..

cipan,
ur mech does a/f reading for carby?

so like all you guys tuned it your self right from the get go or do you have friends or some mahaguru to show you the way of the weber? ;)

narx said:
okok..like that next question lor... where to get in malaysia? hehehehe

or else kena order dah..

cipan,
ur mech does a/f reading for carby?

not sure if this thing still got..

last time, saw it at shah alam..but then...was many many years b4 :D ..(during carb era)