Carburetor Section

finally, master cookie has spoken... heh heh... I dont know o master cookie, cause i saw my foreman took a spark plug from his tool-box.. And go behind of the carb, main main sikit... Then he says dont tune too much... wait kereta tak kuat...

SHOOT ME IF WRONG..........
hehe

they use spark plug to turn ur af screw its becos they dont have a small screwdriver la, those short one's....

eh? use small screw driver meh? i tune my AF ratio (well, i think is AF ratio lar) i use the special allen key wan worr.....

but arr, dunno wether makes a diff anot lar, the consumption getting worst lar, now less than 300KM per full tank....but maybe cause my kaki berat lar, alwiz rev rev :lol:

sifus...
ask somethin...
the joint between carb upper part and lower part got a gasket right ?
from there the petrol leakin abit when high rev
is it caused by high rev ?
the carb's gasket is around how much 1 ?
for my kei hin carb

finally, the master of all masters aka unker fred has spoken... muahahahahahahaha....

is this fc ok for a 1.3 running on dcnf? 310km = RM50

theorekz said:
finally, the master of all masters aka unker fred has spoken... muahahahahahahaha....

is this fc ok for a 1.3 running on dcnf? 310km = RM50

that is very good fc, my ex dcoe also about that 300km but 3k rpm change gear, depending on how u drive also la bro...

darren, u can just buy the gasket from sparepart shops at less then 10 bucks. take out ur dcnf, dismantle every nut and do a gasket. very easy diy.

unker fred taikor, my driving same with u lor... every 3k shift gears... Then sometime rev high lar.. Just to play play only.. heh heh.... Ur dcoe how u calculate the FC? Drive until the tank is empty? Mine recorded 310km havent empty.. Is the correct way of calculating??

theorekz said:
unker fred taikor, my driving same with u lor... every 3k shift gears... Then sometime rev high lar.. Just to play play only.. heh heh.... Ur dcoe how u calculate the FC? Drive until the tank is empty? Mine recorded 310km havent empty.. Is the correct way of calculating??

i calculate untill the first lamp appear, means urs is very good edi lor bro...keep it that way :driver:

normally i shift at 2000rpm if don't run. if run then i shift at 5000 or 6000. i still can get 10.8km per litre. around 370km for rm60 (at current petrol price). that's urban drive. if long distance drive...i can get 700km from a full tank. just want to share la...i feel that it's quite good FC. but, anyone has better than that?

uuwaaa.....all got powerful carb but FC same with mine?? or maybe better samor :( how la..how la?? time for DCNF aR?? :(

fstrader said:
that is very good fc, my ex dcoe also about that 300km but 3k rpm change gear, depending on how u drive also la bro...

darren, u can just buy the gasket from sparepart shops at less then 10 bucks. take out ur dcnf, dismantle every nut and do a gasket. very easy diy.

huh ?
dcnf ?
not weber only called 'dcnf' ?

guide

Is there any diagram or layout of the carb shows which area that can adjust for FC, tuning, lean..etc..

heh heh... Just now finally run out of petrol liao... Recorded a mileage of 349km... Tht means around 10.9km/liter... Hm... Still thinking whether I should go kacau with the a/f ratio or not...

if carb clogged up with dust will affect FC or not??

theorekz said:
heh heh... Just now finally run out of petrol liao... Recorded a mileage of 349km... Tht means around 10.9km/liter... Hm... Still thinking whether I should go kacau with the a/f ratio or not...

if carb clogged up with dust will affect FC or not??
wow...that's a very good FC to me.

thx for the compliment bro... I really scared it wil affect the FC tremendously cause i purposely travelled to shah alam from malacca just to meet the seller to buy this weber... So definitely i hope it will be a fruitful trip...

btw, does any one still keep the pics of a white iswara with DCNF and the vinyl of "extreme dimensions" on it? Dont mind post it here or email to me at [email protected]

comments plz.. n thx
:)

Origin Of Weber

Just sharing some info...

Origins - Born in Turin, Italy in 1889, Edoardo Weber worked in the Fiat plant briefly before taking the job of service manager for a Fiat dealership in Bologna, in 1914. In 1920, gasoline was very expensive in Italy, so he went into business for himself making kerosene-conversion kits for trucks. In 1925, he switched to producing hop-up kits for Fiats.

The earliest Weber carburetor known was part of such a kit. It was a sidedraft, double-throat carburetor that bolted to a Weber designed overhead-valve/super-charger conversion for the 501 Fiat. The carburetor throats were of different diameters. The idea of using two different-sized throats (a small one for low speeds and a larger one for high speeds) appears to have been a Weber original.

Weber used his two-throat carburetor to control whether or not the engine was supercharged. Ay anything less than wide-open throttle (WOT), a cut-out valve leaked the pressurized air from the supercharger to the atmosphere. The engine then ran unpressurized, from the smaller throat. At full throttle, the cut-out valve closed and the engine was supercharged through the second throat of the carburetor.

Weber discovered that his design of two different-sized throats could be used without a supercharger to gain fuel economy. The larger throat would be used for maximum performance and the smaller for economy. It was not long before two-throat Weber carburetors became common conversions for Fiat 501s used as taxicabs in Italy in the late ‘20s.

Early Racing Efforts – Weber was certainly a pioneer of two-throat carburetion, and he began using two throats of identical sizes to feed separate cylinders of the engine. The 1931 Maserati 1100cc Grand Prix car featured the first two-throat sidedraft Webers, the 50 DCO.

The earliest Webers you’re likely to find date from the classics Alfa Romeo cars of the same era. These Alfas were straight-8s with twin camshafts and either one or two superchargers, depending on displacement. The most successful of these Alfas, the Tipo B 2900 of 1933, carried a pair of Weber single-throat updraft carburetors sitting beneath its two superchargers.

Another early Weber was the three-throat 50 DR3C fitted to the Type 158 Alfa, a Grand Prix car that would ultimately (in 1951) use two-stage supercharging to develop 404 HP from just 91.5 CID (cubic inch displacement). Three throats were necessary to supply even air/fuel flow along the entire length of the supercharger vanes.

The success of Weber equipped cars made Weber successful as a carburetor manufacturer. His early experimental association with Fiat, Maserati and Alfa Romeo finally attracted the attention world-wide. In addition, Weber wisely courted the Italian car manufacturers to become their suppliers of carburetors. He was so successful that virtually every Italian car, from the smallest Fiat to the most exotic Ferrari, carries Weber carburetion.

In addition to good design and salesmanship, Weber offered fabulous customer support. According to Alf Francis, in his book, Alf Francis-Racing Mechanic, Weber technology came to England in 1952 when Alf asked to have a pair of Webers fitted to an Alta. An immediate 7-HP increase was recorded on the dyno. After some fiddling (and the design and fabrication of an entirely new intake manifold), the 117-HP Alta was pumping out 143 HP. The total bill to Francis was only for the two carburetors, no charge for days of dyno testing or for fabricating the intake manifold.

Finally, Weber has consistently maintained excellent quality control of its components. For example, each jet is individually flowed, and the flow results determine the number marked on the jet.

After Edoardo Weber’s death in 1945, Fiat began taking an active interest in the welfare of the company and succeeded in buying more than half of it by 1952. Fiat was very active in racing during this period, first with Siata and then Abarth. Both those marques used Weber carburetion almost exclusively, and gained plenty of headlines for themselves and Weber as well.

U.S. Introduction – In the U.S., Webers were first imported by the Geon company during the early ‘50s. They were virtually mandatory accessories for drivers of Jaguars and MGs hoping to win the public-road races that characterized the competition of the period.

It wasn’t long, however, before stateside owners of Alfa Romeo Giulietta and Opel 1.9-liter cars discovered that the Fiat DCD Weber was a bolt-on fit. And, it supplied more power and better driveability than the original-equipment Solex. Further, the DCD’s replacements, the DGV, and the DFAV, are bolt-on replacements for the Holley 5200 carburetor series. So, Weber began appearing on Ford products as replacement carburetors for this Holley.

Also contributing to Weber’s success is the large variety of carburetor types the company offers. Carburetor styles currently include single-, double- and triple-throat downdraft and dual-throat sidedraft units. (The single-throat sidedraft is a collector’s item) The dial downdraft carburetors have either simultaneous or progressive throttle linkages and float bowls place either to the side or between the throats. As a results, you can create an almost ideal carburetor setup with Webers, no matter how odd the application.

And, in many applications, you’ll be able to change all of the most important features of carburetor without removing it from the engine. DCOE sidedraft Webers are especially notable for the accessibility of their jets. On most, the jet carriers are accessible even with the air cleaner attached.

Weber design principles have been adopted by several other manufacturers. Weber work-alikes are produced in Italy (Dellorto) and Japan (Mikuni).

As Weber’s applications in the U.S. has grown, so has its distribution channels. Geon, an early national distributor, became BAP/GEON. But that firm has now been replaced by INTERCO as the distributor for the states east of the Mississippi. Redline, Inc. is the official Weber importer for the U.S. Several independent importers, such as TWM Induction in Goleta, CA, simply buy their carburetor directly from Italy. An entire industry of Weber specialists has grown up, and most major U.S. cities have at least one shop specializing in Webers.

Over the years, Weber has grown from a small company in Italy to the premier worldwide supplier of specialist carburetors. A standard of quality continues to distinguish Weber products from their competition. Edoardo Weber wouldn’t have it any other way.

Darth said:
hahahaha...... :rock: It's NIKKI carb most probaly come from 1.6 or 2.0 Datsun PICKUP or SSS... :biggrin:

Nikki" is an English contraction/nick name of "The Nippon Carb. Co. Ltd", the oldest & biggest in Japan, established in 1932. Nikki scientists, knowing that one of the most important settings in any carburetter is the fuel level, decided to let you "see for yourself" and developed the famous Nikki float chamber window. Not only could you check the fuel level "at a glance", you could also check the fuel delivery, fuel pressure and possible fuel contamination, instantly. This is not possible with any other carburetter.
The Nikki people then added their "secret weapon", an auxiliary butterfly in the secondary barrel, operated by the engine demand, effectively maintaining correct fuel/air ratio during all stages of operation. This is, in fact, a simple "variable venturi", which is why, to the bafflement of some so-called "carburetter specialists", we can fit our standard Nikki carburetter to nearly every car in the world, from 600cc Citroen to 2800cc Nissan Patrol. (jetted suitably, of course.)
Our Nikki carburetters are all manual choke, they have no diaphragms, no solenoids, no vac. units, no auto choke, in fact, nothing to go wrong.

Nothing is hidden from view, all moving parts can be clearly seen. This total lack of complication, coupled with the float chamber window, enables us to tell you and anyone else who will listen "THERE'S NO SUCH THING AS A FAULTY NIKKI......IT JUST DOESN'T EXIST" .

An idea for Classic Car owners is to use a Nikki carburetter for everyday running and refit the original carburetter for showing or sale. This would preserve the condition of the original carburetter, often an item becoming increasingly scarce.

wow.. sound cool and amazing

where to get one ar?
roughly cost how much?
so from 600cc to 2litre also can use...
that is a wide range..

yeah, wanna ask ler, if compare nikki compared to weber, which one better?? darth is selling one nikki and im kinad interested er :P dunno wwether can be better FC compared to my carb now anot leh?? power wise also dunno wether can be better comapred to mine now anot? im using aisan carb and it came stock with my car, FC around 300KM per full tank which is around RM5X per full tank.....please advise :) thanks