brake upgrading...

monsterbug

hi all sifu out there,
can i upgrade my 1.3 front disk brake only to 1.6 disk brake with using back my ori rear drum brake? will coz any problem or not? newbie here... :P

shouldnt be a problem.. its seperate thing.. front and rear..

my fren change front vr4 front.. rear stended drum.. :)

Shouldn't be any problems... i did that also... =) I'm selling them off now to upgrade.. if u're interested, PM me, give u good good price! =)

monster bro,

the more precise question you should ask the gurus of ZTH is what kinda from disc break you are planning to upgrade.

I think for Wira ... twin pot vented calipers are more than sufficient for good stopping power ...

I've noticed also that having metal hoses for your break system is also good since the heat in Malaysia does effect ... shall not go anymore technical here as I could be wrong ... hope the sifus here can help ...

i think for a standard proton engine..the original brakes are fine..:P hmmm maybe it's also because i'm poor :)

i thin the better way is to upgrade ur pads to metallic ones, upgrading to double layer boosters also improve overall braking response.. but no offence also to upgrade to front disc 1.6.. i myself also upgrade but maintain the drum (coz now savin money to buy rear disc).. booster upgraded to 1.8 ones..

hmm...just wonderin how much will it cost for changin rear drum to disc break?
anyone know?

Originally posted by et5828@Jan 28 2005, 20:11
hmm...just wonderin how much will it cost for changin rear drum to disc break?
anyone know?
if u can find the parts alone for wira at below 500.. grab trus.. hehe.. quite expensive.. around 500-650 for the parts only.. workmanship should be around 50 bucks

Write your reply...