BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

Uhh same as you I guess, routine maintainence, whole exhaust system front to back, ah-beng grounding cables HAHA (My dad bought them, he couldnt resist) and spark plug cables...

Next up planning to get carbs :driver:. Oh I did a few things to my wagons chassis also.

weber ka? hehe what did u do to the chasis? bars or welded? any diffrence u can feel while driving?

Haha anything, most likely weber since its so popular.

Neither! Foamed. Whole car top to bottom, front to back, left to right... aaaand yes. That + TiTan coilovers = 100kmh in touge corners easily with no anti-roll bars. Im kaki corner :driver:

I want to get anti-roll bars + a strutbar though. Still saving for that... anything done to your car handlingwise?

speed2horizon,

errmmmmm thanks for the info dude, hmmm so right now i have to prepare the materials before bolting on the turbo... which turbo is the best choice? td04? hope to get it running soon. (: and also i've heard that i require colder spark plugs, what does that mean? hmmm thicker gasket is not neccessary for low boost yet rite? what else do i need? and also about fueling and ignition timing, i need bigger cc injectors, approx how big? 290cc? and ignition timing, how to go about it?

---------- Post added at 10:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:57 PM ----------

and also i search around, 4g93 stock injectors size is 240cc, hmmm so best replacement is from what car's injectors to get 290cc or above bro?

TD04L is a nice turbo for mild modded engine. Quick response and nice spool. Easy to find parts to incorperate with the turbo. No banana needed, just get a GSR exhaust manifold and they are plug n play with 4G91. But even if u chose alternative turbo like T25 with A/R 0.48 turbo, u can still go for a conversion adapter to use with the GSR manifold.

Spark plugs have heat range. It's how the plugs insulation and heat dissipation is designed. But it's not a necessary stuff. NGK BK6 E11 is will serve u well.

Thicker metal head gasket is not necessary for low boost application. But tuning is.

About ignition timing, I'll recommend to retard ur ignition timing at high end. This is due to your stock advanced ignition timing for NA set up from the factory. Let's do calculation again. Ur 4G91 CR is 9.5:1. So, when u boost 0.4 bar into ur cylinder. At TDC, the final cylinder pressure is as if u are having CR 13.3 : 1. Which is very prone to premature detonation. Especially at top end.

About injectors, u are recommended to use injectors than does not exceed 150% of your stock injectors to prevent a stable A/F throughout the entire RPM vs Throttle range.

390cc from GSR is easily available in the marketplace and mudah. Do some search. But for mitsubishi injectors, 390cc and above, they are mostly low impendence injectors. U will need a resistor pack to get them work.

U have 2 choices.

1) to get a mitsubishi resistor box/pack from the half cut shop. They chould cost around RM50-RM80. Here is how it looks like.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c188/ImageHorizon/respack.jpg

2) Or you can DIY the resistor pack. Just go to Jalan Pasar and ask for 10Ohm 10Watt AC resistors. U should install 1 at each injectors.

This is how it looks. The one i mentioned looks exactly like this, but write 10Ohm 10Watt.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c188/ImageHorizon/WireWound_33ohm_small.jpg

And should wire them like this.

Resistorpack.jpg

Take care and good luck.

Yeaaah its something thats rare for one. Target? None. I just want it to be drivable and have a bit more torque haha :biggrin:.

I'm intrested in this is 80% just to learn how to do it and get the experience. Cost, whats needed, I rather have that than power :driver:.

If power I would have gotten a SR20 but everybody has one nowadays huh? Boring lah hehe. Wanna be a different wagon.

What car do you have hachi? And yeah, by the book low-mid range is better around town. But personally if I got a turbo I like the midrange-top end kick with just a biiiiit of lag. Old school turbo feeling man haha.

Mileage? Taktau worrr. We both do then compare mileage lah :burnout:.

Lolz... But just wonder, can compressed air worked without a manifold..?

I heard you have to seal the carb to whatever intake piping needed. Hmm complicatednya carb b.o.t :hmmmm:.

Oh mosdef. I dont even know how much its going to cost though, or where to get it installed? Anyone can help me out? :hmmmm:

thanks bro speed2horizon! hmmmm but stilll i get negative feedbacks from my dad. sienz la. =.= and i still dont understand why if i bolt the turbo on the engine will pao... i will do proper mods la of course.. but still i dont know how the ignition timing works and also what will make the engine pao if i bolt on turbo.

1st- is it because of the ignition timing and a/f ratio?
2nd-high boost causes high cr which results in what u said?
3rd-engine internals cannot tahan?
what else i dont know d wei..

thanks bro speed2horizon! hmmmm but stilll i get negative feedbacks from my dad. sienz la. =.= and i still dont understand why if i bolt the turbo on the engine will pao... i will do proper mods la of course.. but still i dont know how the ignition timing works and also what will make the engine pao if i bolt on turbo.

Even stock built in turbocharged engine can burst if not done and tuned properly... But tuning and upgrading properly require cost... Not budget.

Answer:-
1) U know what is knock/premature detonation???
2) Requires good tuning.
3) Can tahan up to a certain stage.

There's alot u need to know that u've not mentioned.

Fuel RON number effect. Capability of different piggyback, injectors, Safe AFR, Fuel pump Capacity, Ignition timing, Turbo size, effect on AR No, Oil feed, oil return, water cool, extra heat management, etc etc and the ist goes on....

To be honest, alot of ppl thought BOT is cheap but ended up spending cost more than a halfcut....

Most of them whom started with tight budget on the initial BOT. So, please don't rush. It's not that u are selling ur car 2moro... Right...?

Bro.. Ignition timing will have to be retarded. My boosted his 4g91 with 0.4 bar only. He still can use RON95 due to proper spark timing retardation. NO knock and has been reliable till now. Retarding the timing is very important in forced induction and requires few trials... He did bit by bit and tried to sense whether there is knock or not. But in the end, it is worthwhile ^^. Water-methanol injection also helps.

2nd, high boost no problem. As long as got money ^^. Best go for low-comp pistons. but if got budget constraint, can use thicker 2.0 mm metal gasket and engine head-spacer.

3rd... SpeedHorizon is true la... All engine internals can only stand up to certain level.

Speed2, with Turbocharging, any other work need to be done ?
Need a piggy-back ECU ?

:sleep:

---------- Post added at 12:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:11 PM ----------

Speed2, with Turbocharging, any other work need to be done ?
Need a piggy-back ECU ?

I don't understand ur question... Anyway, to me tuning is the heart of modification. That's what I think of before I started with any engine mod. The stock ecu runs on 2 maps. Close n open loops. U need to alter them to suit ur mods. Even a tuned ported n an untuned ported engine also makes lots of difference.

But a setup really depends on how far u wanna go... Just a 14+ whp of 200whp monster... Don't expect too Mich from a budgeted set up.

guys, if i got a way to bolt on a supercharger into my 4g91, is it gonna be more reliable than turbo-ing it? just need some advice here.. cuz im stucked with 2 choices.... which to go for? supercharging it or turbocharging it?

---------- Post added at 11:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:04 PM ----------

Even stock built in turbocharged engine can burst if not done and tuned properly... But tuning and upgrading properly require cost... Not budget.

2) Requires good tuning.

Fuel RON number effect. Capability of different piggyback, injectors, Safe AFR, Fuel pump Capacity, Ignition timing, Turbo size, effect on AR No, Oil feed, oil return, water cool, extra heat management, etc etc and the ist goes on....

To be honest, alot of ppl thought BOT is cheap but ended up spending cost more than a halfcut....

Most of them whom started with tight budget on the initial BOT. So, please don't rush. It's not that u are selling ur car 2moro... Right...?

yeah i agree with u bro, maybe i can contact u personally bro? u seem like u have lots of experiece in this...

---------- Post added at 11:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:16 PM ----------

2) Requires good tuning.

yeah i agree with u bro, maybe i can contact u personally bro? u seem like u have lots of experiece in this...

---------- Post added at 11:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

2) Requires good tuning.

---------- Post added at 11:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

2) Requires good tuning.

---------- Post added at 11:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:18 PM ----------

2) Requires good tuning.

---------- Post added at 11:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

2) Requires good tuning.

guys, if i got a way to bolt on a supercharger into my 4g91, is it gonna be more reliable than turbo-ing it? just need some advice here.. cuz im stucked with 2 choices.... which to go for? supercharging it or turbocharging it?

yeah i agree with u bro, maybe i can contact u personally bro? u seem like u have lots of experience in this...

Sharing here is also ok so that everyone could contribute something they know...

Pros n cons...

TURBO CHARGING
Pro:-
The system is simpler as there are more reference.
The build is also simpler as there are 4G93T to be bolt on directly.
There's option to upgrade when u want to boost higher to achieve more power
Tunning is simpler as the boost kick and controlled mechanically via wastegate
Simple oil line to turbo and return hose
RECYCLING WASTE INTO ENGERGY
Nice BOV and wastegate sound based on some ppl

Cons
Will experience chocking issue if the flow access the limit. Further upgrade will require turbo change.
Require more punctual oil change
Long intercooler piping
Big turbo will cause lag

SUPER CHARGING
Pros:-
Good response depending on how u activate the magnetic clutch
Does not cause noise like BOV and Wastegate based on some ppl preference.
Could run on external oil cooler and reservoir
Simple piping
Low profile

Cons
Limited boost
Driven by crank via belt. The way the supercharger is mount is something critical. Require skill and experience on where to mount, what belt to drive.
Service could be a problem. Parts...
GENERATE POWER BY SACRIFICING CRANK ENERGY

There are much more. The list goes on...

Both system also advised to decompress actually.

Both system can be reliable. depends on set up and tuning.

One has lag, the other, barely :burnout:.

Anyways, 4G91 depends also how much power you want to crank out of it lar. You want stupid power = turbo.

More pickup to get around here and there = supercharger :driver:

One has lag, the other, barely :burnout:.

Anyways, 4G91 depends also how much power you want to crank out of it lar. You want stupid power = turbo.

More pickup to get around here and there = supercharger :driver:

Please... By saying that, you are saying that all carmakers that employ turbocharging are stupid i.e. Volvo, merc, bmw, toyota etc... Turbo charging is only stupid if done improperly.

Btw, turbo has advanced to a level where turbo lag is non-existent. Where it provides ample low-end torque for economical city drive as well as top end power for smokin' fun. Not to mention the reduced pollution, emissions and fuel economy.

Supercharger hasn't got much improvements since it started because it is a lot less efficient than turbo.

Turbo = make use of unused energy to create more power and efficiency
supercharger = robs engine power to create more power and efficiency

Which one is better, you decide.

Please... By saying that, you are saying that all carmakers that employ turbocharging are stupid i.e. Volvo, merc, bmw, toyota etc... Turbo charging is only stupid if done improperly.

Btw, turbo has advanced to a level where turbo lag is non-existent. Where it provides ample low-end torque for economical city drive as well as top end power for smokin' fun. Not to mention the reduced pollution, emissions and fuel economy.

Supercharger hasn't got much improvements since it started because it is a lot less efficient than turbo.

Turbo = make use of unused energy to create more power and efficiency
supercharger = robs engine power to create more power and efficiency

Which one is better, you decide.

Eh smarts, dont go around assuming things before understanding lah please. I meant by making more power than a supercharger, and this is a B.O.T thread not a OEM turbo setup from BMW volvo mercedes or toyota thread , of course their turbos have very little lag lo, theyre DESIGNED fromt the factory that way. They werent bolted on like WHAT were talking about here.

---------- Post added 11-10-2010 at 12:01 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was 11-09-2010 at 11:58 PM ----------

Maybe what he meant by stupid power was actually Crazy power? Lol~:hmmmm:

Bro yeah thats what I mean, thanks for pointing it out. :adore:

Eh smarts, dont go around assuming things before understanding lah please. I meant by making more power than a supercharger, and this is a B.O.T thread not a OEM turbo setup from BMW volvo mercedes or toyota thread , of course their turbos have very little lag lo, theyre DESIGNED fromt the factory that way. They werent bolted on like WHAT were talking about here.

---------- Post added 11-10-2010 at 12:01 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was 11-09-2010 at 11:58 PM ----------

Bro yeah thats what I mean, thanks for pointing it out. :adore:

OEM turbo, BOT... same... Just depends on your set-up. I've seen BOT light boost (0.4 bar) that can start spooling as low as 1700 rpm. Just 200 rpm higher than OEM's 1500 rpm.

"Eh smarts, dont go around assuming things before understanding lah please"
For this, I understand the word "stupid" as stupid and the word "crazy" as crazy. I was never thought that the meaning of "stupid" = crazy.

Peace :biggrin: