BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

OEM turbo, BOT... same... Just depends on your set-up. I've seen BOT light boost (0.4 bar) that can start spooling as low as 1700 rpm. Just 200 rpm higher than OEM's 1500 rpm.

"Eh smarts, dont go around assuming things before understanding lah please"
For this, I understand the word "stupid" as stupid and the word "crazy" as crazy. I was never thought that the meaning of "stupid" = crazy.

Peace :biggrin:

Well yalah, it spools at 1700rpm but it still has a bit of lag, anyways I also apologise, i've been cranky the whole day today.

Superchargers, they sap power off the engine but its always there, so tradeoff lo :biggrin:.

Speed, I'm quite in a dilemma now cuz I tried both super n turbo.. Hmmm I like the sound of supercharge it sounds like F1 from far lol but turbo can boost higher and I tried a 0.6 Boost the kick not so strong.. Hmmm but supercharger can do for 4g91 gua... Hmmm but turbo is an easier option... But I don't know how now need more opinion wei bro...

I thought you already got the pros and cons about both?

You want us to pick the mod for your car also now ar? :burnout:

Well yalah, it spools at 1700rpm but it still has a bit of lag, anyways I also apologise, i've been cranky the whole day today.

Superchargers, they sap power off the engine but its always there, so tradeoff lo :biggrin:.

Peace... Love you...:itsme:
Why? Hard day at work?

---------- Post added at 09:32 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

Speed, I'm quite in a dilemma now cuz I tried both super n turbo.. Hmmm I like the sound of supercharge it sounds like F1 from far lol but turbo can boost higher and I tried a 0.6 Boost the kick not so strong.. Hmmm but supercharger can do for 4g91 gua... Hmmm but turbo is an easier option... But I don't know how now need more opinion wei bro...

Walaueh bro... 0.6 not enough? You are really the power hungry type. Normally, when people switch from NA to turbo, just a 0.4 bar boost will give big difference. Or was yours done properly? Any knock? Or maybe the turbine spool too late la...

Hmm... About easier... I think supercharger will be easier. Turbo has a lot of custom stuff with all the pipings. Bolt On Supercharger will be easier but not sure if they sell BOS for 4G91. Have to ask people who play supercharger.
My friend did BOT 0.4 bar for around 5k. Kena potong... I think should be able to get around 4k ++.

for me..if going to BOT and stuck with low boost (ie:0.5 bar)....i'll choose small and fast spooling turbo....probably getting full boost around 2.3k-3.2k rpm.... :adore:

not much power on higher end..but..benefits on lower rpm especially on the streets with traffic jam.....trolling along with ease and minimal lag,makes "stop n go" situation a breeze...

:adore:

Aiya... Apa nie?? Initially scared engine this dat. Now scared not enough power. First of all, have u tried both settings on the same engine?? If not, how to compare??

0.6bar is just an indication of the induced presure. Stock GSR boost 1.5bar, maybe can get 220whp. But upgrade turbo n injector, but same induced pressure. Different story.

Friend's car. 4G92 DOHC, boost 1.3 bar already achieve 243WHP on Dyno Dynamics. Aroud 27+Whp if dumped at Dynojet. So??? And it pulls till the hand can't hold the steering well...

It's not the boost brader, it's the flow...

If u're going for fun street driving, SC serves nicely. If u're going for something more serious on power, opt for turbo.

BTW, supercharger also have different variety. Centrifugal, twin screw, etc etc.. Performance wise also different. Depends on ur budget and Targetted HP.

For best reliability, internal mods are required.

*please... Don't ask ppl to chose ur setup. We can only share our experience we had. It's up to u to decide the fate of ur engine.

Cheers. Good day.

for me..if going to BOT and stuck with low boost (ie:0.5 bar)....i'll choose small and fast spooling turbo....probably getting full boost around 2.3k-3.2k rpm.... :adore:

not much power on higher end..but..benefits on lower rpm especially on the streets with traffic jam.....trolling along with ease and minimal lag,makes "stop n go" situation a breeze...

:adore:

Exacta! Beautiful loads of low-end torque...This is what i prefer too... Actually low boost can be tuned for high rpm too... Just that the boost will come later la... See which one people prefer....

Huh??!! U sure abt wat u're talking sir?? Low boost will comes later?? U sure abt tat??

Haha... Yes Sir!

Sorry let me rephrase... I didn't make it clear... Low boost is normally for low-revs torque and can come at low revs quite easily. But it is possible to sustain that low-boost all the way up to high rpm by using a bigger turbine to supply the pressure & air mass required.

My friend used a TDO4 on his Myvi and he tuned the boost to kick in only at 4.8k rpm. The reason is so cute... Because his mother uses his car. He doesn't want to frighten his mom so there is virtually no boost at low revs. Haha... Can be done by wastegate control. But of course low rev will suffer due to lower torque. The performs like a wimp off-boost and once reach 4.8k rpm, it pulls like shit all the way to 6.5k rpm. Orgasmic neck hurting acceleration even though only using 0.4 bar of boost.

But later he got unsatisfied and up the boost to 1 bar without proper mods. Blew the whole engine up. Never do things the "sohai" way...

Haha... Yes Sir!

Sorry let me rephrase... I didn't make it clear... Low boost is normally for low-revs torque and can come at low revs quite easily. But it is possible to sustain that low-boost all the way up to high rpm by using a bigger turbine to supply the pressure & air mass required.

My friend used a TDO4 on his Myvi and he tuned the boost to kick in only at 4.8k rpm. The reason is so cute... Because his mother uses his car. He doesn't want to frighten his mom so there is virtually no boost at low revs. Haha... Can be done by wastegate control. But of course low rev will suffer due to lower torque. The performs like a wimp off-boost and once reach 4.8k rpm, it pulls like shit all the way to 6.5k rpm. Orgasmic neck hurting acceleration even though only using 0.4 bar of boost.

But later he got unsatisfied and up the boost to 1 bar without proper mods. Blew the whole engine up. Never do things the "sohai" way...

make it this way. A TO04 will kick in at around 4krpm for a 1.3 wether u like it or not. The only way to make it kicks into the effective pressure to boost is by tunning the ignition. Retarding it will make the turbo response slower. Advancing it will make the turbo kicks in faster. However, I doubt there're piggies that are able to do ignition tuning/correction for Daihatsu engine. I mean not that I know off based on my shallow knowledge... Maybe Haltech interceptor.

To make the TD04L on 1.3 K3VE engine as lag as possible, can try installing a big big intercooler and 2.5"-3.0" IC piping in increase the boost volume. It will be too difficult for the TD04L on 1.3 to boost up the entire volume.

Or there's another method. Using standalone E11X to map a VGT turbo to adjust the A/R of the turbine housing. At low end, increase the A/R no so that it lagz....

Turbo is not like twin screw supercharger where u can kick in at any RPM u desire via the magnetic clutch attached. Can even activate it upon engine start. Reads possitive pressure even at idle.

All reaction of a turbo regardless of what size and brand are contributed by the exhaust flow. It's achieve a desire capable boost(high or low) at an operation RPM that generates sufficient exhaust to spool the turbine that's connected to the compressor...

That's what I understand about turbocharging. Sorry for my shallow knowledge.

I'm looking to buy a turbo for BOTing my car.
For a 4g92p, what do I need? First I'll need the GSR exhaust header/banana, then attach it with a turbo. In this aspect, how do I know which turbo is plug and play or not, without having to do custom piping job. I'm searching for TD04, but there is so many versions of it I got confused, there are TD04 and TD04L, then there is a Subaru version, and some are for Kancil L engines. Which one should I look for for direct plug and play? Also is TD05 also plug and play, meaning have the same interface as the TD04?

Also, how do I check ther turbo for condition? Other than shaft freeplay, what else? Leak, where do they usually leak? Leak what?

---------- Post added at 07:25 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:22 AM ----------

Also, do I need to get a downpipe? Of course i need but what I mean is is it part of the piping or is it a separate detachable unit like the banana/exhaust header?

Also, what comes with the turbo, actuator to control boost pressure, what else? I think I saw it needs 02 sensor or something? Do I need to search for an 02 sensor or is it already in my car?

Peace... Love you...:itsme:
Why? Hard day at work?

---------- Post added at 09:32 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

Walaueh bro... 0.6 not enough? You are really the power hungry type. Normally, when people switch from NA to turbo, just a 0.4 bar boost will give big difference. Or was yours done properly? Any knock? Or maybe the turbine spool too late la...

Hmm... About easier... I think supercharger will be easier. Turbo has a lot of custom stuff with all the pipings. Bolt On Supercharger will be easier but not sure if they sell BOS for 4G91. Have to ask people who play supercharger.
My friend did BOT 0.4 bar for around 5k. Kena potong... I think should be able to get around 4k ++.

Everyone has their good days and bad days, so it so happen I was having a bad day and yeah, you misinterpreted what I said... haha. Nvm bro its over. Back to topic.

Also, what comes with the turbo, actuator to control boost pressure, what else? I think I saw it needs 02 sensor or something? Do I need to search for an 02 sensor or is it already in my car?

I think the turbo comes with the turbo only... Other things have to pick yourself. All modern efi cars already have O2 sensor. However, if you want your turbo car to perform better, you should get a wideband O2 sensor. Coupled with a good piggyback, it can allow you to more precisely control the air-fuel mixture over a wider range of rpms. So it helps you get better response and FC. Can get it form Bosch.

I'm looking to buy a turbo for BOTing my car.
For a 4g92p, what do I need? First I'll need the GSR exhaust header/banana, then attach it with a turbo. In this aspect, how do I know which turbo is plug and play or not, without having to do custom piping job. I'm searching for TD04, but there is so many versions of it I got confused, there are TD04 and TD04L, then there is a Subaru version, and some are for Kancil L engines. Which one should I look for for direct plug and play? Also is TD05 also plug and play, meaning have the same interface as the TD04?

Also, how do I check ther turbo for condition? Other than shaft freeplay, what else? Leak, where do they usually leak? Leak what?

---------- Post added at 07:25 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:22 AM ----------

Also, do I need to get a downpipe? Of course i need but what I mean is is it part of the piping or is it a separate detachable unit like the banana/exhaust header?
u can use a td04-vr4 auto, tdo4L GSR, td04HL libero?, td05, td05H vr4~ev03 (need to mod the dp), a lot of options jugek..

a lot of shite happens to turbochargers, if u dont know how to inspect one, please ask for help from sumone who knows. u can pm me if u r searching for a turbokit, tq sir

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:49 AM ----------

btw, those turbochargers listed above are pnp or at least pnp with the lease work, easy to get parts, the best option for u imo. u can opt for a more "kurang ajar" (hehe, dats powerful/bigger in my dictionary, lol) charger like the t3/t4, for dat "kurang ajar" powwahh.

err, just search for a turbine dat will ease work, and its parts are easy to come by and relatively cheaper. good day sir