BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

guys, need some help with turbocharging my humble 4g91 engine!!!

Haha.. I don't have hands on experience. But I can tell you it is possible and not too hard. I have a friend who bossted his 4G91. Just 0.4 bar. No internal mods needed and he can run it on RON95 still. No knocking. I am surprised he didn't even changed to metal or thicker gaskets! Has bene running for some time now. Quite reliable. But keep it only at 0.4 bar.

Oh yeah... He runs an automotive electrical workshop in KK. Very professional and good quality of work.

Haha.. I don't have hands on experience. But I can tell you it is possible and not too hard. I have a friend who bossted his 4G91. Just 0.4 bar. No internal mods needed and he can run it on RON95 still. No knocking. I am surprised he didn't even changed to metal or thicker gaskets! Has bene running for some time now. Quite reliable. But keep it only at 0.4 bar.

Oh yeah... He runs an automotive electrical workshop in KK. Very professional and good quality of work.

haha bro! 0.4 bar only? what if i use 1.5mm metal gasket? use ron97, hmmmm cannot go further?

Like that sure can la bro... 1.5 mm metal gasket, change injectors, piggyback...

But what my friend did is just to save cost. But I tell you the difference is also very big even though boost 0.4! From NA u go to boost 0.4 you feel like orgasm. I mean... his setup is just to do it at minimal cost and time. No need to do internal mods. and it won;t hurt FC too much too. Might even improve FC. Why not you try light boost first? Even if you are not satisfied, you can always up the boost in the future and use back all the components that you have already.

guys, need some help with turbocharging my humble 4g91 engine!!!

sure can do it.
i have this exp..

BOT at 4g91
first
td04l
bov
240cc injector
volvo fuel pump
eterna intercooler
running for 0.7 boost

than mod to
390cc injector
vr4 intercooler
adjustable fuel regulator
safc 5 button
boost 0.8
get 183.6 hp on crank

last
metal gasket 1.5mm
emanage
boost 1.0
get 201.3 hp

pisten still 4g91

sure can do it.
i have this exp..

BOT at 4g91
first
td04l
bov
240cc injector
volvo fuel pump
eterna intercooler
running for 0.7 boost

than mod to
390cc injector
vr4 intercooler
adjustable fuel regulator
safc 5 button
boost 0.8
get 183.6 hp on crank

last
metal gasket 1.5mm
emanage
boost 1.0
get 201.3 hp

pisten still 4g91

Wow bro!!! That is some nice project you got there! Love it! I prefer and appreciate step by step increment like your rather than rushing straight to max-out. Then we can all see the mods needed, power yield, and any problems at the stages!

thank you! Beautiful project...

So you mean that when you boost 0.7 bar, can use back the stock ecu? And what fuel did you use then? RON97 already? And can I ask wht is your FC before turbo and after turbo (at all stages).
Thank you for willing to share...

now that's a TRUE bot. no high boost, no excessive engine work. keep it @ 0.4, and that's it.

but prob comes when yur car kena tiu on the road, back home you got impatient itchy fingers and usik2 that wastegate actuator, while keep whispering to yurself "alaa, 0.6 bar oni, what cud go wrong?"

and there you go. patience is a virtue, lads! :stupid:

now that's a TRUE bot. no high boost, no excessive engine work. keep it @ 0.4, and that's it.

but prob comes when yur car kena tiu on the road, back home you got impatient itchy fingers and usik2 that wastegate actuator, while keep whispering to yurself "alaa, 0.6 bar oni, what cud go wrong?"

Haha true bro.. I heard that people who go into forced induction are always prone to not being satisfied at one level... After some time, they will "kacau kacau" and try to up here and there... Think that 0.1 increment is little... up little by little without reworking the internals.... Until one day kaboom.... Haha...

Lol~ it's true bro...

ahha bro, so means right now. my current mod for na is quite little.. hmm i just changed to 4g93 injectors + manifold. so for injectors okay d rite? and im also using an external fuel pump, so do i have to change metal gasket first before i really bot? or stock gasket can tahan the boost pressure? internals will be fine if i go low like 0.5bar boost? need some help here. hahaha itchy hands... patience patience..

Guys, some quick question -
Super-charge, turbo-charge & BOLT..are they all the same thing or different stories altogether?
I hv a 1.6 Gen 2 for which i wan to increase the power a bit more but dun wan to kacau the engine too much.

superchanger is an airpump using belting rotate from engine pulley
turbocharger is an airpump using pressure from exhaust gas

both pumping more air into engine thus making more power...

BOLT was (screw) haha...term Bolt-On turbo/supercharger is when the turbo or supercharger was ready to install without any engine internal modification to do....(more like plug n play)-but the reason plug n play term can't be used because u need to tune the electronic to make turbo/supercharge to work in harmony with the engine to make a good use of it... :adore:

Basicly, Bolt is when u install Super/Turbo-charger with kacau-ing the engine so much laa..
Do i need to change my EPU ? Tune only or got any slight modification to the piston ring,etc ?

Wow bro!!! That is some nice project you got there! Love it! I prefer and appreciate step by step increment like your rather than rushing straight to max-out. Then we can all see the mods needed, power yield, and any problems at the stages!

thank you! Beautiful project...

So you mean that when you boost 0.7 bar, can use back the stock ecu? And what fuel did you use then? RON97 already? And can I ask wht is your FC before turbo and after turbo (at all stages).
Thank you for willing to share...

still using 4G91 ecu code 5060.
using the ron97 and sometimes ron95 coz no ron97 at petrol station
for the tuning time using the ron97
and FC woth the full tank iswara i get 450km + -

---------- Post added at 03:04 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:02 PM ----------

ahha bro, so means right now. my current mod for na is quite little.. hmm i just changed to 4g93 injectors + manifold. so for injectors okay d rite? and im also using an external fuel pump, so do i have to change metal gasket first before i really bot? or stock gasket can tahan the boost pressure? internals will be fine if i go low like 0.5bar boost? need some help here. hahaha itchy hands... patience patience..

if can change the intake manifold to GSR one is batter.
more respone next

---------- Post added at 03:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:04 PM ----------

how he control the boost at 0.4?

Basicly, Bolt is when u install Super/Turbo-charger with kacau-ing the engine so much laa..
Do i need to change my EPU ? Tune only or got any slight modification to the piston ring,etc ?

well...depend on the power level of your target....

normally bolt on kit contain several stage(with different power level)

stage1 :15%-30% power increase

stage2 : maybe up to 50% power increase

stage3 : maybe can go as high as 100% power increase (double from stock)

and normally stage3 is a full tuned engine (fully modified) and definately not a bolt-on job anymore

back to stage1....normally there's no need to change engine part or ecu (safe boost @ 0.3bar-0.5bar maximum) just require ecu tuning (re-chip or reprogram) or piggyback device to handle the extra job....but sometimes ppl just want to be on the safe side and just prepare for further upgrade...they change thicker head gasket along with stronger piston and conrod so when the time they felt they need to increase the power,they can simply increase the boost and re-tune back...a quick job to increase power for the future plan....

well that's my opinion...open to others for their opinion also.... :adore:

Think i'll go wit Stage 1 for d moment laa..dun wan to rush into this thing.
Where can i get the kits ? Kakimotor, etc..go to any performance shop?

Checked out Speedworks website just now.
AXT Turbo Kit complete with ECU, exhaust system & K&N Air Filter RM8,000.00

Is this wat v r talking abt ?
Wat abt u ? Wat did u do to yr car ?

yep..thats it..

well...mine still stock currently...but i have SuperCharge in my mind now...maybe within next few years to get it done...