BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

140dB said:
koren,

u can try speedworks jb. dont forget to bring your turbo, your car, and a list of things to be done for the rm2000.

i doubt the rm2000 will include ecu tuning/piggy.

look for Mark or Chan. Tell them melvin sent you. Good Luck

i already spoke to speedworks.. they are not familiar with my car .. so they wun be doing it.. haha..

@ least they're frank ;) but after turboing.. i'll be going to them for dyno tuning.. yea.. ;)

if get all new stuff also shouldn't be up to 9k man... confirm.
have u tried asking around other places??

koren said:
hehe.. tts the poison for mods.. ;p once u start spending.. u'll spend more n more.. sending in 2 weeks later ^^ any things to take note? like how to drive from the exhaust shop to the tuning place without accidentally boosting..

simple. whahahah. loosen up ur TB cable or put something behind the gas pedal to restrict u frm flooring it. whahahah

koren,

good luck.

but if wif just an safc. u will need more than luck.

wakakakak. dun scare him out la... ok la... SAFC still can hold on la.. very much depends on the tuner lor.. if the tuner play him out, or the turbo setup flaw, thn nothing to say la.

imagine last time whn emanage not so hot that time, alot also use SAFC mar...

haha.. ya.. really scaring me.. aniwae i saving up for a piggyback.. hope nothing happens till i get my piggyback.. ;p

hehe

sorry.

u just have to be careful how long you keep boosting/high throttle...

my bot setup wif emanage, running rich @ 0.75 , still saw small white spots on my spark plugs. could be a sign of my pistons melting....

its ok to boost a while. for me, i drove my bot kl-jb and outstation, etc...and long durations of wot. so that might have stressed the pistons. i hope not.

so thats just my 2c

btw, what car u driving?

i'm driving a 1.6 hyundai getz.. ;) what else should i watch out for? if i install an oil temp/pressure gauge.. what should their readings be?

i think save ur money for an oil cooler setup instead

or a better piggyback. i hear good results wif microtech mt4. u can ask speedworks for that too.

actually thr is alot of thing quite important need to get. oil cooler, oil press gauge, oil temp gauges, EGT, fuel press... all these also important lor.

oil cooler is not so important lar... depends on your turbo setup. Small turbo, low boost... not necessary lar. Gauges... not important lar... if u truly understand your car's behaviour, u'll know when something's not right wan... can feel.
Boost meter of course important lar... so u'll know how is the boost behaviour... in case the boost creeps u can off throttle mar...
EGT, not important... if your tuning is done properly, there shouldn't be a need for u to have one... if the tuning lari, u can feel it wan.
Oil temp not so important... ur car got water temp mar... if oil temp go up, water temp also automatically will go up wan...
Fuel press lagi not important... usually only used to set the fuel regulator... other than that, won't see liau wan.
Oil press is probably important lar... if u lose oil pressure, a lotta serious damange can be done... u can save a lot of $$$ in case there's an oil leak somewhere, it can be detected early.... but these cases rarely happen lar. Which is also why a lot of people oso dun bother getting it lar.

But seriously... oil cooler not important lar... u'd be better off with a bigger radiator. =Þ u dun really need an oil cooler unless u're a track goer.
Even Impreza don't come with an oil cooler lerz... whut makes u think u'd need one? =Þ

hehe.. thanks alvin for the long list of explainations..

you;re the man~

err...but all mitsu turbo cars have oil coolers!

i dont know if the getz block have serious oil jets....

and the only thing that cools the pistons is oil.

and the first part to fail in an na turbokitted car is usually...the pistons.

hm... oil cooler not so important i do agree but EGT, fuel press and oil temp to me play important role as well.

whn you're having fuel pump failure or clonge fuel filter or watso reason, u will able to read frm your fuel press. while you're on boost and insufficient fuel deliver, it spell disaster. it will result to your EGT raise as well. i do know some car have this issue that they keep on boosting, EGT raise but the rest all read normal even the wideband AF.

as for oil temp, yes, the water temp do raise as well but should the oil temp reach critical point, the water temp don't. both having diff boiling point and cirtical level. overheated engine oil, as u also know it spell disaster as well.

should my memory serve me right, WRX came with stock Boost, Oil temp, oil pressure

Memory serve u wrong... WRX don't come with these meters... only STi does. =Þ Additional accessory mar.

Again... of course it would be nice to have meters to read from when something goes wrong... but if your fuel pump failed or is clogged... you will be able to feel the difference in drivability... then obviously u won't tekan already... and go straight to a workshop to get things checked. EGT as u tekan of course will raise la... will get hotter as u boost wan ma.

If oil temp reach critical point... i can confirm with u ur water temp would've went up more than half... in which u would've already known something is not right.

ACtually... even when your oil press drops, your engine oil sign will lit up. So oil press oso not to say is a must.

NOT ALL MITSU TURBO CARS HAVE OIL COOLER. Only 4G63T.

6A12TT no oil cooler... GSR no oil cooler.... GSR auto got transmission cooler only not oil cooler btw in case some of u guys think its oil cooler. 4G61T also no oil cooler if i remember correctly. Some VR4 also no oil cooler.

alvin,

absolutely correct, my gsr doesn't come with oil cooler, but i intend to install one even though i'm not yet running high boost, but wouldn't it be healthier for ur engine? ya but 'the ministry of engine's health' is subjective topic ....

i always thought the funky oil filter adaptor on the 4g93t was for cooling the oil. it runs a water cooled setup i think.

i have a friend running an oil cooler for GSR... have to tarik from one end to the other. =Þ

Actually wouldn't make much difference on the road... if u play track, then yes, it makes a difference.