BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

hi all..newbie here..

wanna ask..what management should i use ??i bot viva 850cc..running 0.5bar without management..sofar no jerking at 1 2 3 gear 4 n 5 got pop pop edi at exhaust..say, i afraid to boosting..

thinkin of emanage.but some say better go haltech..is it true haltech can get around 1xxx-2000 ?? and how bout the haltech harness for viva is it expensive ?

hi all..newbie here..

wanna ask..what management should i use ??i bot viva 850cc..running 0.5bar without management..sofar no jerking at 1 2 3 gear 4 n 5 got pop pop edi at exhaust..say, i afraid to boosting..

thinkin of emanage.but some say better go haltech..is it true haltech can get around 1xxx-2000 ?? and how bout the haltech harness for viva is it expensive ?

Bro... First of all congrats on your BOT! Well, gear 4 and 5 got pop pop most probably due to knocking as at high gears, the load is high. Well, for the moment, please immediately STOP boosting your engine at gear 4 and 5 as it can destroy you engine. What you can do is:

Cheap option: Try run your car on RON97.

If still cannot, or if you are already running on RON97, lower your boost to 0.4 bar. This is actually the standard boost that people go for BOT without modifying internals. 0.5 is too high.

If still cannot, get a thicker metal head gasket for your engine. Around 2.0mm.

If cannot, try get e-manage blue. Haltech is so expensive? I heard e-manage can get cheaper. If second hand, can get around 700 - 1000. But be careful of immitations.

Just suggesting in order from cheapest to most expensive. :driver: :burnout: :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

any idea how to improve my nissan latio impul HR 16 but shit on CVT gearbox?hard to find any half cut..im the 1st to dare to slam in turbo on this car...pls advice?

hi all..newbie here..

I think perodua is running the engine on MAP sensor. Si, there are possibility of MAP error having positive pressure on stock MAP. Which causes the pop pop and jerk.

Another possibility is as mentioned. Running too lean and causes premature detonation. This can be detected by checking ur plugs. If white color or plugs looks clean.., too lean. If black color, too rich. Should be brown color.

Any piggies can cheat the map sensor signal to ecu to spray more fuel. But the perodua ignition cannot be adjusted except emanage ult or haltech interceptor. If u love ur car and gonna keep it long and u have a litle more budget, go for standalone.

Some ppl might say, Wah... My car 300whp also never use standalone, viva use standalone ka??? Ignore those sohai... It improves the overall performance and drivability of ur ride. I mean if u really have the budget to play around.

Bro... First of all congrats on your BOT! Well, gear 4 and 5 got pop pop most probably due to knocking as at high gears, the load is high. Well, for the moment, please immediately STOP boosting your engine at gear 4 and 5 as it can destroy you engine. What you can do is:

Cheap option: Try run your car on RON97.

If still cannot, or if you are already running on RON97, lower your boost to 0.4 bar. This is actually the standard boost that people go for BOT without modifying internals. 0.5 is too high.

If still cannot, get a thicker metal head gasket for your engine. Around 2.0mm.

If cannot, try get e-manage blue. Haltech is so expensive? I heard e-manage can get cheaper. If second hand, can get around 700 - 1000. But be careful of immitations.

Just suggesting in order from cheapest to most expensive. :driver: :burnout: :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Check plug first.

any idea how to improve my nissan latio impul HR 16 but shit on CVT gearbox?hard to find any half cut..im the 1st to dare to slam in turbo on this car...pls advice?

Err... Relatively new. Not so much knowledge on the gb n engine. But the key of successful mod is tuning. That's all I can say.

wow thx volac..all done by myself for your info[well of course got sifus teaching to do this and that]..thats y im afraid to boosting right now.just run the car..and keep in the garage back..i wish to throw money at any ipoh tuner..but they dont want to bot..they keep saying change engine ext ext...

thx speed2horizon.
my plug looks clean(so its lean i guess)..im using splitfire SF392C..im using td04-09..i might need boost ctrler to low my boost i guess..cuz standard actuator give 0.5..else standard..wondering viva 850 injector cc ? i got 210cc for spare..thinking to install it or shall i wait for management first then only install ??

my conclusion..
maybe ill go for emanage first..and once i got budget ill go for haltech..thru my reading from the first page..standalone is good for bot(credit to speed2horizon)..

wow thx volac..all done by myself for your info[well of course got sifus teaching to do this and that]..thats y im afraid to boosting right now.just run the car..and keep in the garage back..i wish to throw money at any ipoh tuner..but they dont want to bot..they keep saying change engine ext ext...
Some ppl just don't understand that the fun part of bot is more abt enjoying what we have and more importantly learning more abt force induction. But u too, be prepare to learn ur lesson through the hard route. I had mine, but I've no regrets in return of the knowledge I've learnt.

thx speed2horizon.
my plug looks clean(so its lean i guess)..im using splitfire SF392C..im using td04-09..i might need boost ctrler to low my boost i guess..cuz standard actuator give 0.5..else standard..wondering viva 850 injector cc ? i got 210cc for spare..thinking to install it or shall i wait for management first then only install ??

my conclusion..
maybe ill go for emanage first..and once i got budget ill go for haltech..thru my reading from the first page..standalone is good for bot(credit to speed2horizon)..

Most of the boost controller actually increases boost instead of reducing it. But what u can do is... U look at ur TD04L actuator. The actuation rod actually have the luxury to increase/decrease boost. U unhook it from the internal wastegate hinge and turn the nut at the end of the actuation rod to make the overall length longer. By doing this, u actually preopen the wastegate and part of the exhaust will be channelled out and it reduces the boost. And to increase the boost level, u just shorten it by turning it the other way round. Then hook it back. Becareful of the safety pin/clip when u unhook the rod end. It is small and easy to loose.

Regarding the management. Emanage is good choice. But u may not be able to control ur ignition timing. It's the natural disability of daihatsu ecu. But I'm not too sure on this. If ur ecu can be rechip, u may opt for rechip. It's much better than any pigy. But I don't think there are much/any ppl doing it for daihatsu.

Regarding the injectors and plugs. What plugs does not matter. If u have items like spark amplifier/bOoster, the plugs may seems a little cleaner.

Nobody can say if the injectors are sufficient after u've plonk in ur A/F management and have ur engine tuned with a wideband Otr or dyno. But I don't think any stock injector will be able to supply sufficient fuel for 0.5bar. Just personal opinion. And, u can instal 210cc injectors and boost safely at 4th n 5th gear but suffer a little rich at idle and low end till ur management take place.

Hope it helps.

sad...com on..this is Nissan Engine?i though every nissan is potential?what u mean by tuning?remap ECU?

Err.... Even the ultimate RB26 requires alot of modification on the engine itself to unleash the full pontential of the monster...

And there are also alot of Nissan engine that are not potential... Just personal opinion on daily observation basis.. Not written fact and literature review supporting my statement...

Ok, back to tuning.. Remap or rechip or piggy of standalone.. it doesn't matter... But, all modification including BOT have to be supported by tunning to suit the latest setup... Regardless of car make nor engine type.

speed2horizon..

just cucuk OBDII onto my car... fault read on screen boost sensor/map circuit
alvin said standard lol BOT car..
do u have any comment & suggestion bro?

speed2horizon..

just cucuk OBDII onto my car... fault read on screen boost sensor/map circuit
alvin said standard lol BOT car..
do u have any comment & suggestion bro?

Lolz... Like said earlier... Map sensor problem. Since u're running on obd2, I'm not sure if ur ecu is rechipable. If it is, easy. Sell the emanage, send it for rechip together with a Compatible map sensor.

If can't then there's another choice. U're currently tunning with 3bar map sensor. What if u unplug the 3bar map sensor and let the emanage cheat the ecu. Not too sure abt this.

3rd way, go for higher spec piggy that can have it own af map. Example ultimate, haltech interceptor. Or if u have the budget, go for standalone.

U may also try to change to a bigger injector like 390cc. But make sure u run it with resistors. Else, prepare to go for standalones. Ecu burnt is the worse case scenario.

Before anything above to be done, try to consult Kevin and tell him the issue/obd result and see what they have to say.

thanks for information!! my car is still stock..change intake..exhaust...what is yr recommendation between emanage?halftech or standalone??what is the different ??i already ready to slam in 10k for stage 1 in my nissan HR 16

2.5k recon gt2560r
3.5k-4k Haltech interceptor(piggyback) installation n dyno tuning by gt auto
1.3k banana by tonka
1.1k ic piping with china/Taiwan ic
.5k straight muffler n downpipe
.3k used injectors
.3k boost meter taiwan brand
.3-.4k used bov depended on condition.
.3k modification of oil return, oil feed, water in out from turbo.

Installation???

0.5-0.7bar possible.

If u ask me, of course standalone but will cost more.

thx speed2horizon.

my conclusion..

Hmm... No prob... But yeah take Speedhorizon's advise and check plug first. It is true stock MAPs go haywire when boost is sensed. But most can function until 0.4 bar. For the blacktop at least? Maybe that's why many stick to 0.4 bar for cost effective option.

Some ppl just don't understand that the fun part of bot is more abt enjoying what we have and more importantly learning more abt force induction. But u too, be prepare to learn ur lesson through the hard route. I had mine, but I've no regrets in return of the knowledge I've learnt.

Most of the boost controller actually increases boost instead of reducing it. But what u can do is... U look at ur TD04L actuator. The actuation rod actually have the luxury to increase/decrease boost. U unhook it from the internal wastegate hinge and turn the nut at the end of the actuation rod to make the overall length longer. By doing this, u actually preopen the wastegate and part of the exhaust will be channelled out and it reduces the boost. And to increase the boost level, u just shorten it by turning it the other way round. Then hook it back. Becareful of the safety pin/clip when u unhook the rod end. It is small and easy to loose.

Regarding the management. Emanage is good choice. But u may not be able to control ur ignition timing. It's the natural disability of daihatsu ecu. But I'm not too sure on this. If ur ecu can be rechip, u may opt for rechip. It's much better than any pigy. But I don't think there are much/any ppl doing it for daihatsu.

Regarding the injectors and plugs. What plugs does not matter. If u have items like spark amplifier/bOoster, the plugs may seems a little cleaner.

Nobody can say if the injectors are sufficient after u've plonk in ur A/F management and have ur engine tuned with a wideband Otr or dyno. But I don't think any stock injector will be able to supply sufficient fuel for 0.5bar. Just personal opinion. And, u can instal 210cc injectors and boost safely at 4th n 5th gear but suffer a little rich at idle and low end till ur management take place.

Hope it helps.

very clear explaination,yeah agree with you bout the bot fun pleasure..
thx for teaching me how to ctrl the boost using the actuator..so if the gate open before i start boosting.. end up with low fullboost. just try just now..i get 0.3bar now.. = ] Million thx...before this i only know how to up boost more then 0.5..

just bought 2nd 210cc and also get free kelisa rocker cover from my friend(viva rocker cover very ugly n make the space sempit)..
going to swap oem 850cc injector to 210cc and viva oem rocker cover to kelisa oem cover..and share the result here...

for the management..ive to fund more...so gotta suffer rich fuel first..nvm..as long its rich = my engine is safe right ??

speed2horizon = very nice bot sifu!!

just install l2s injector = which i believe 210cc(this is what ppl say in internet)
now no pop pop full boost from 1-5 gear..but got some pop pop on 3rd gear (cruising to full throttle) but ok then std injector la..this 1 i feel more safe..

rocker cover kelisa pnp to viva head..(just to make engine bay look nicer)

problem solve..now wait emanage only..