Battery

i have a radio, and its almost always off.. i dont even notice if its on or not sometimes

yeah. the engine revs are to good not to listen to(plus it too damn loud)
LoL

Who wants to listen to a radio when the sweet sound of RB plays in your ears??!!

Remove all the system, goes back to original and you will not be having any problems changing the battery anymore! Best of all, RB sound is more than enough to be an entertainment device.... :biggrin:

Hahahah you guys are no help whatsoever. Sure lari topic.

But I've sorted it out and I wear my bruises and cuts on my knuckles with pride. :rofl:

hahaha. pimpin. looks like we failed to persuade u to change ur mind. anyways, don't worry. ur ride is already awesome as it is. mine's jus simple n i love it for it. i'm planning to take out the remaining audio parts and give them away. gonna make mine a sleeper car. hehe.

Bro,

The objective was never to convince me to remove the stereo. I wanted to find out if anyone had attempted the removal of the battery via rear passenger seats rather than boot and with a battery that is larger than the size of the tiny stock unit.

I guess I had to find it out the hard way and I do mean hard. It involves numerous panels and countless bolts and I should have taken up Peter/CV Audios offer of sending his boys over to do it at my house but it felt too trivial. But I guess that is why I don't jump from shop to shop. Even Desmond/N1 has had his boy come to my apartment in KL to take off my punctured tire, go repair at nearby tire shop and replace it. :top:

ipod sounds better! :biggrin:

Pimpin, how on earth did you install those ICE in the rear of your BNR34?? I'm in shock and awe. I can't fit mine. Must have been a lot of work just to do that!

I'll tell you how I did it. Firstly you must understand I'm really into music and a friend of mine who is a motoring journalist recommended that I go see Peter. I walked into the shop and mentioned told Peter that him and CV Audio came highly recommended and that I was looking to do audio + alarm for three cars but obviously one at a time.

He took me into his office and sat me down, took out an A4 paper and drew out a diagram explaining in detail how the alarm would work. Until I understood fully, only then did he agree to plan the install. However, for the 350z he was against any ICE due to the complexities involved and the fact that the BOSE system is good enough and to install a system that is significantly better would cost 5 figures minimum.

So we concentrated on the STI and the GTR.

The STI was a Spec C hence only front speakers, no sound deadening, basically nothing. At the time there was quite a number of STIs being stolen some of which were carjacked so I wanted as good an alarm as possible. In addition, the STI already being some 100+kg lighter than a stock STI plus all carbon fibre stuff could afford some ICE gear so I decided on a simple setup - headunit, sound dampening, new speakers up front and 6x9s in the rear plus amp and active sub. That along with the Clifford alarm system (many extras and one-off features will remian forever secret) came up to about 20k.

The GTR was another story altogether. The alarm system was similar to the STI but with more goodies and more than one system (could be 2-3 :thefinger:) independant of each other. As for the ICE, I told Peter my requirements - a boot install with the quality to match and a maximum budget of 30k. The design, layout and choice of components I left to him so it took nearly a month cause they would be re-designing every day and thinking up new ideas which they pursued. I guess its not often that any audo installer is allowed to explore their creativity and experiment with a customers car. I'd get SMS's at 5am cause they would have just finished fabricating something, etc so they did the job as though it were their own car.

In short, I don't think I would ever ever go to any shop other than CV for the simple fact that the first time I walked into his shop, he has gone out of his way to accomodate every one of my requests no matter how trivial. And he answered all my questions and adressed my concerns although at that point he had no idea if I was just shopping around or really serious about doing all of the above. All in all, he spent over an hour just discussing my requirements and making suggestions, etc.

I did what any person would do in that situation. Since the GTR I capped at 30k while the STI was not yet confirmed at the time, I paid for the GTR there and then up front and half of the STI as well. Worth every single penny.

[PIMPIN];3472622 said:
I'll tell you how I did it. Firstly you must understand I'm really into music and a friend of mine who is a motoring journalist recommended that I go see Peter. I walked into the shop and mentioned told Peter that him and CV Audio came highly recommended and that I was looking to do audio + alarm for three cars but obviously one at a time.

He took me into his office and sat me down, took out an A4 paper and drew out a diagram explaining in detail how the alarm would work. Until I understood fully, only then did he agree to plan the install. However, for the 350z he was against any ICE due to the complexities involved and the fact that the BOSE system is good enough and to install a system that is significantly better would cost 5 figures minimum.

So we concentrated on the STI and the GTR.

The STI was a Spec C hence only front speakers, no sound deadening, basically nothing. At the time there was quite a number of STIs being stolen some of which were carjacked so I wanted as good an alarm as possible. In addition, the STI already being some 100+kg lighter than a stock STI plus all carbon fibre stuff could afford some ICE gear so I decided on a simple setup - headunit, sound dampening, new speakers up front and 6x9s in the rear plus amp and active sub. That along with the Clifford alarm system (many extras and one-off features will remian forever secret) came up to about 20k.

The GTR was another story altogether. The alarm system was similar to the STI but with more goodies and more than one system (could be 2-3 :thefinger:) independant of each other. As for the ICE, I told Peter my requirements - a boot install with the quality to match and a maximum budget of 30k. The design, layout and choice of components I left to him so it took nearly a month cause they would be re-designing every day and thinking up new ideas which they pursued. I guess its not often that any audo installer is allowed to explore their creativity and experiment with a customers car. I'd get SMS's at 5am cause they would have just finished fabricating something, etc so they did the job as though it were their own car.

In short, I don't think I would ever ever go to any shop other than CV for the simple fact that the first time I walked into his shop, he has gone out of his way to accomodate every one of my requests no matter how trivial. And he answered all my questions and adressed my concerns although at that point he had no idea if I was just shopping around or really serious about doing all of the above. All in all, he spent over an hour just discussing my requirements and making suggestions, etc.

I did what any person would do in that situation. Since the GTR I capped at 30k while the STI was not yet confirmed at the time, I paid for the GTR there and then up front and half of the STI as well. Worth every single penny.

It's darn long but a good read. I guessed you're right, not all audio installer are capable of doing it like those boys at CV. I don't think I'd ever want mine installed by the locals here. shoddy workmanship and worst of all... they'll shove everything without a blink of an eye.

I'm using clifford too, but I do noticed the alarm system is chewing up my battery lifespan. Yours shouldn't be a problem I supposed. Like I said previously ( many moons ago) I'm pretty stuck with those wannabes over here... East side.

yo pimpin, what alarm system is good for the gtr?
i got a gprs system(not sure bout name) but it sucked cos my car would lock itself up suddenly and sometimes the door doesn't lock. headache habis ar, its giving me sleepless nights.

yo pimpin, what alarm system is good for the gtr?
i got a gprs system(not sure bout name) but it sucked cos my car would lock itself up suddenly and sometimes the door doesn't lock. headache habis ar, its giving me sleepless nights.

Don't know bro, never tried all the alarms on the market so can only comment on what I have used. What are you using now then?

Sometimes, alarm pun useless. Most of the cars get stolen because they ( car alarm installers) have access to your car alarm system.

Well it depends on how trustworthy the guy is and how many features your alarm has. You can have as many different cut-offs as you like and run multiple systems that only you alone knows about and what their respective over-rides are.

Basically, I'm the only one who knows how to disarm everything - not even CV could possibly remove the alarm if they wanted to cause its too complicated already. Touch wood so far so good.

Only way to find out how to disarm or have access to my alarm - when I die, my attorney will contact my best friend and tell him where and how to access my safety deposit box and inside he'll find all he needs to know

That's if I die soon. But I update my will yearly if there are asset/major changes so I'll probably delete that if I sell the GTR :wavey:

headache betul ar this alarm part. haih, maybe i should try the one's they put in hypertune. the clifford one or viper. :(
how much would that go for ar?

headache betul ar this alarm part. haih, maybe i should try the one's they put in hypertune. the clifford one or viper. :(

You have to watched out as some of the alarm might drained your battery and power out very fast. Make sure it is compatible or have the built in turbo timer delay function or else problems might be coming your way. This is what happen to my previous car, I have a turbo timer and I installed an alarm in it, man, it drained all the power out in a week! After taking off the alarm put in a new battery, everything goes back to normal again!

I'd pick Clifford over Viper.

You have to watched out as some of the alarm might drained your battery and power out very fast. Make sure it is compatible or have the built in turbo timer delay function or else problems might be coming your way. This is what happen to my previous car, I have a turbo timer and I installed an alarm in it, man, it drained all the power out in a week! After taking off the alarm put in a new battery, everything goes back to normal again!

He's right. Take this into account omaroDDin.

If you using two way radio alarm, it won't work with aftermarket turbo timer since it has its own built in. And due to constant search using radio signal, ur battery drain faster.

What's a two way radio alarm? Like example?