Basic Performance upgrade

a bit like NA but after let sifu sky checking and advice me to rebuild engine bacause spring and valva not so good.
only boost 1.0 bar (turbo also have a bit problem cant full boost), max 265km/h

ohh i see. i've read in the tomei web, poncam 260deg can still use stock valve spring. but there's only mention evolution not airtrek. so, maybe stock evo valve spring can work well with poncam. alot of mechanics told me that our stock turbo is not working well on high rev. its like the turbo cannot support more spooling on high rev thus it loose power. thats why alot of guys change to td05hra to overcome this problem. i heard garrett turbos also good for high rev but not sure which type. any comment guys?

yup u r rite bro stutz.. but do u remember this one monster trek from usa that uses kelford rally camshaft (260deg if im not mistaken)with stock valve spring and go for 22++psi of boost.. u can check it out at evolutionm forum. :biggrin:

If u mate evo cams n stock Airtrek springs, u get unstable power on high rev. It's tested n proven. So important to use evo valve springs when u upgrade yr cams.

hmm i see.. if we uses performance valve spring even with stock cam is it going to make it better?

I don't think it'll make any difference. Stock springs is adequate for stock cams. Increasing the spring rate won't benefit more cos there's no sticky valve situation.

just change my camshaft on last saturday, and it feels so good... now i know how lame the stock cam is... hahaha

low end only abit improvement but high end rev is just so sweet.. it only gives u the GO feeling.. :driver:

Ahh you changed the cam! Yes man, the power improvement is pretty noticeable. The 'pulling feel' seems to last much longer than the stock cams and tapers off much later. Best of all, throttle response has increased pretty much, right? Congrats!

ur rite dude... i really dont understand. the engineers should have put the same cam inside the our trek rather than this stock one.

but on n all, its just feel alive.. just one incident that reduce my joy that day. one of ah wah staff forgot to install back one of my vacuum hose.. but then i return back and settle.

If Airtrek is made so similarly to Evo, it will hit it's own product line. That is why Airtrek is a 'detuned' version of Evo tho the engine block is 4G63T. What I am modding now is actually upgrading the parts from Evo into my Airtrek to have similar performance of a STOCK EVO! That's sad right? Pain in the arse.

hahah... thats true..

but they know that they sell this airtrek for about RM180k new and they surely got alot of profit from it. i know one bank manager bought airtrek new from USF at that time 2003 and pay the monthly of RM2K.. its a 10 years old, n im still paying half of it..

Stock Evo properly tuned can easily acheive 350hp. So that's why tuning is important. I've heard stock Airtrek producing around 160-170whp but if properly tune without mods at all, can reach 190whp. That's tuning mapping alone. I've heard TD04 with only exhaust mod + intercooler FMIC getting around 210-220whp.

yup 210-220whp is not impossible due to our engine is turbocharged. but in order to achieve this figure, there will be some part need to change. for example stock BOV, ECU mapping, boost controller, fuel system maybe etc.. even if we do tune it out from stock to achieve boost not over the boost cut already got quite high figure. maybe sifu like u can post some mandatory parts need to change in order to achieve that figure.. can ah?

Bro, yes the Stage 1 in the first page here is pretty much everything you need to get 210whp. Are u at Stage 1 now?

Never heard of it before... but I think Airtrek dashboard is 'taller' in a sense. But they both look similar in design, why do you wanna use E7 dash?