My 4 Pots Brake Caliper Upgrade

Guys.. I have a Toyota Corona ST171 which types of brakes can I fit in? the original ones are small.. and i plan to upgrade.. which model of toyota can I fit in?

i notice that R32 disc brake can fit in 15" rims.. if im not mistaken i even saw some photo shows kancil with 4 pot from R32 also with 15" rim.. So, i'm very sure it can fit 15" rim. just make sure that u may need spacer to clear off some offset. maybe u can scrape off the nissan logo and paint it blue like spoon 4 pot.. hehe.. :idea:

thats when theyre paired with 282mm rotors... i already know of the r32 calipers + 282mm rotor combo...have a friend who runs this setup. the stock 296mm rotor wont fit under 15"

im just curious as to this toyota caliper... and whether it would be possible... hence kinda need to know how much diff in size these calipers are....

thats when theyre paired with 282mm rotors... i already know of the r32 calipers + 282mm rotor combo...have a friend who runs this setup. the stock 296mm rotor wont fit under 15"

im just curious as to this toyota caliper... and whether it would be possible... hence kinda need to know how much diff in size these calipers are....

how bout u do some research on s14 4 pot kit?

no need research... i actually own a pair of the calipers hahahahah... but missing a hard-to-find part

besides, these toyota calipers are much more easily available for a cheaper price compared to the nissans. so just wondering about the posibilities.

no need research... i actually own a pair of the calipers hahahahah... but missing a hard-to-find part

besides, these toyota calipers are much more easily available for a cheaper price compared to the nissans. so just wondering about the posibilities.

I guess toyota can't fit too small disc.. as mine already fitted to 16" super tight clearance without balancing metal on the rim.. lol..:rofl:

urs is fitted with the disc that came with the calipers right? that one mmg cannot fit 15".. im asking about about fitting these calipers with smaller rotors from other cars.

also im wondering hows the size comparison with R32 calipers....oh and also weight and material of the caliper.

coz R32 caliper + Honda 282mm rotor (H22A/EK9/DC2 5 lug/FD2-non r) fits under a number of 15" wheels depending on offset. so im wondering if this toyota caliper can do the same.

also R32/R33 calipers are made of aluminium and are very light at about 3kg each iirc.

i think fitting a larger brake caliper to a smaller disc have less problem rather than fitting it to a larger disc. bcoz the brake pad surface might get less by larger disc so the brake performance might drop.. if u already buy aristo's brake kit, then u have to try fit and see how..

i did saw 1 photo of u guy(airtrek) fitting a gto 4 pot caliper to a larger disc diameter and it did looks like something wrong..

Bro, the bigger the disc, the further away the caliper from the center point, hence u need lesser force to stop the car. Try to hold a spinning USB fan from inner vs. outer. U'll know what I mean

Bigger disc, further away from center, even using stock caliper will improve braking power. So coupe with 4 pots, double improvement. :)

u have points but once ur fitting a smaller diameter caliper with bigger diameter disc, the brake pad surface contact is less due to the outer radius of the disc... but if its still within tolerance, then it shouldn't be a problem.. :biggrin:

Last edited by a moderator:
The curve of the pads must match the curve of the rotor. Bigger or smaller, it's the curve that matters. I think that's what u meant. :)

my trek is 4pot'ed. done in a painful way of installing this kit.. huh :banghead:

will post some piccies soon.. yeah

here some poison photos... heheh

• IMG00117-20130905-1448.jpg
    IMG00117-20130905-1448.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 343
  • IMG00112-20130905-1434.jpg
    IMG00112-20130905-1434.jpg
    64.2 KB · Views: 436
here some poison photos... heheh

there are one hassle free way actually,using evo 5 or 6 brembo, pnp, just need change the caliper bracket bolt since the brembo using is either smaller or bigger 1mm bolt then your oem twinpot caliper(i assume u are airtrek turbo)....not as painful to you as modding toyota caliper to your airtrek ,but painful to your wallet:biggrin:

u are so damn totally rite dude... hehe

---------- Post added at 09:21 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:14 AM ----------

if u ask my opinion, the best is always go for brembo.. but if ur price concern, then can go for alternative...

Hi can anyone confirm this is correct? Evo 5or6 brembo fronts will bolt on to my turbo air trek with original evo caliper bolt?

Just wonder ah wah can modify the brake to fit any car? I'm driving lgt with stock rim offset 7.5 by the way. Will this affect abs?

With proper offsets, anything is doable. No problem with abs. The thing that matter is the abs sensors should not be touched.

anyone here know, is our rear brake hose is the same as the front? somebody?

cause my rear brake has steel braided n it seems like the rear are working harder than the front. rear get hot first than front..

I'm using this aristo brake also....but now the pads are gettin thin aredy.. where can i get the pad coz i live in trg.