Apexera SAFC & VAFC

need help

hi....
i'm realy in confiuse... safc work base on air flow raito rite... d ratio detect by airflow sensor or map sensor rite... my problems is my car don hav all that.... can safc work with that.... my car is wira 1.8 sohc.... can any 1 advice me on it...

2ydotcom said:
hi....
i'm realy in confiuse... safc work base on air flow raito rite... d ratio detect by airflow sensor or map sensor rite... my problems is my car don hav all that.... can safc work with that.... my car is wira 1.8 sohc.... can any 1 advice me on it...

huh, wat u mean ur car dun have airflow sensor? it is located right beside the air filter box and is connected to the TB thru the air intake pipe. As cusco mentioned, as long as the car is EFI, u can use this SAFC.

just remember, power from internal combustion engine comes from the mix of oxygen and petrol. Increase any of this, means that power output would increase too. That is basically how turbo charger, supercharger and this SAFC increases power on the engine....

Spoon))) said:
hie guys..wanna ask some question...

actually will there any different if install safc on stock engine??

what the different between safc 5 buttons,safc 1 and safc 2..

sorry if my question a bit beginner..hehehe

The engine makes best power at around 12:1 to 13:1 air fuel ratio. Lower than that power drops slightly higher than that power drops more and risk damage to the engine caused by detonation. So if the original setting is between 12:1 and 13:1 you will gain very little power with S-AFC tuning. However some cars come very rich then leaning the fuel out will help you gain some power. Also leaning out the AF also has the bi-effect of advancing the ignition timing which also helps produce extra power.

Best is to do a single dyno run and see your AFR and if your AFR is optimum, you don't need to waste money on it.

trex92 said:
huh, wat u mean ur car dun have airflow sensor? it is located right beside the air filter box and is connected to the TB thru the air intake pipe. As cusco mentioned, as long as the car is EFI, u can use this SAFC.

i've done some modification on my engine wiring... some how my mechanic have by passed airflow sensor... now my engine only have knock sensor, TPS & some wire to distributer... i just go to N1 racing at penang... though to install FCD... the mechanic said, with my engine mod. can not work... so i though safc or e manage can work.... but searching in net found their working by detecting air flow... so cusco.... can u tell me how can it work to my engine.... i'm more confiuse...

I was also confused myself,how can your mechanic bypass the airflow sensor(or MAP),it is the core sensor in any EFi system,and to imagine your car runs well with just 3 sensors is just amazing.Most Ecu will be taking Load signals from the airflow meter/MAF sensor/MAP sensor or TPS.I'm assuming your mechanic feed the signal with TPS but i am quite suprised how can the car runs well without you fiddling with the ecu mapping.Maybe u can take a photo of your engine bay and post it here...

RSI said:
The engine makes best power at around 12:1 to 13:1 air fuel ratio. Lower than that power drops slightly higher than that power drops more and risk damage to the engine caused by detonation. So if the original setting is between 12:1 and 13:1 you will gain very little power with S-AFC tuning. However some cars come very rich then leaning the fuel out will help you gain some power. Also leaning out the AF also has the bi-effect of advancing the ignition timing which also helps produce extra power.

Best is to do a single dyno run and see your AFR and if your AFR is optimum, you don't need to waste money on it.

Street cars are tuned for more optimum fuel efficiency and power. But wat we want here is more power without so much concern on fuel efficiency. So SAFC does work but again u have to dyno it to get the optimum settings for it.

2ydotcom said:
trex92 said:

i've done some modification on my engine wiring... some how my mechanic have by passed airflow sensor... now my engine only have knock sensor, TPS & some wire to distributer... i just go to N1 racing at penang... though to install FCD... the mechanic said, with my engine mod. can not work... so i though safc or e manage can work.... but searching in net found their working by detecting air flow... so cusco.... can u tell me how can it work to my engine.... i'm more confiuse...

i don think it is possible to bypass the airflow sensor since it is a critical component for EFI. The ECU needs an input on the amt of airflow so it can decide how much petrol it can inject. It indeed ur air flow sensor is bypassed, it means that ur engine might not be running properly. Anyhow, can u change the wiring back to use the air flow sensor then? Then all ur headaches would be over... bottom line is that for SAFC to work, u need ur air flow sensor signal.

cusco... trax92... u got the image rite.....
idle is 1000 rpm...
rpm cut at 6800 rpm...
i just wanna remove rpm cut... that y i wanna install safc or e-manage...
need to support fuel when high rpm...

Yes got the pic..u cannot remove rpm cut with SAFC,with e manage i dont know coz i dont have experience,do you have any modification to the ecu besides the wiring?

i didnt get the pic... perhaps i accidetally deleted. Yes, cusco is right, u cant remove speed cut with SAFC. U can remove speed cut with the rev meter.

do you have any modification to the ecu besides the wiring?[/QUOTE]

nop....
the ecu is standart... any how... thanks...

RSI said:

hmm my TT read my A/F is 15 is it ok ?? i think is to lean , i want try to tune my safc to get 14.6 but me scare will damage my engine , is ok try ?

just add some % hi-thr to let the reading go to 14.6

pop6335 said:
hmm my TT read my A/F is 15 is it ok ?? i think is to lean , i want try to tune my safc to get 14.6 but me scare will damage my engine , is ok try ?

just add some % hi-thr to let the reading go to 14.6

You say A/F 15.

At what RPM?

At what boost?

If it is during boost then your engine is a ticking time bomb going to go off!

Also how did you get the A/F reading? thru the stock O2 sensor or by a reliable wideband sensor.
If it were really 15:1 AFR at boost the engine would start to hesitate and misfire. And if you are running a turbo ECU I would suggest checking the fuel pump.

in all the time , my 1 is N/A .. heeh still ej-de stock just to some modify , A/F i get from apexi TT i think from O2 yeah hame some misfire sound when release fuel from high RPM .

P1010051.jpg

wat mean is thr?
wat mean is knk??
wat mean is afl?
wat can see in graphic display?

what is the advantages if i install SAFC?and also disadvantages?I heard that it cost around RM1000++ rite?.....correct me if i am wrong..