A good conering technique

this one sure okay

the best thing to do anywhere anytime if you wanna layan corner.....
drop gear and floor......
and you should control the car... not the other way round

wa gti2612, you so berani arr
also try dis wan, no offence, my car just go straight at 100km/h
maybe if you did heel and toe can lar. but for me, better not..
but i believe you can if you had a proper and subtle pedal control..

For amateur drivers plz dun try heel to toe on the road while driving. Its not tat the tech is no good. But to press clutch, shift down n press the accelerator requires some quick reaction+accuracy.

LFB is easier to control for amateurs. Of coz wif some common sense during applying the brakes.

1 more tech tat is quite effective during understeer is to control the throttle.

hi all sifu..
what is "trail braking"? :D :D

anyway for me LFB not easy lar
left food get used to the clutch already
not easy to press the brake gently...

thats why i only apply left foot braking at long sweeping corners when the "understeer period" is long... so, i'm in better control to brake with left foot inducing some oversteer...
coz, i'm no pro, so usally in sharp coners... if i understeer i don't apply LFB coz kelam kabut and i could get in all sorts of trouble... like too much oversteer and spin lohh...
and its true laa... all these techniques (LFB, heel and toe, etc), should be applied/practiced at the tracks... for normal driving, u should'nt even be driving in a manner that prompts you to use such techniques..

LFB is easier compare to heel to toe wic requires more steps. By the time our brain interpret everything(for heel to toe) langgar alr.

LFB is jus bout controlling the brakes wif left foot n like mention above apply the brakes wif common sense. Assume those who wish to try the techs has a lil bit of knwoledge bout cars. I guess they won be so silly to jam the brakes or apply too much brake to spin the car.

I'm saying this coz yes....LFB does save b4 some amateur drivers like us during emergency.
Again we're toking bout ameteurs. In fact if wan to say dangerous all techniques r dangerous. Normal road is not the place where we take corners wif high speed.

erm, i guess everybody has their personal preference, but somehow....if u apply LFB wrongly, it will cause the car to oversteer...which i doubt some of us knows how to control it...

How about this.
Slow your car down be4 a corner to a controlable speed so you can get a good driving line. Then in the corner control your steering and throttle by pressing it bit by bit so that you can increase your speed gradually until the exit.

sam1741 said:
hi all..
what is "trail braking"?
any sifu can teach me?

btw my car is FR
but still can feel understeer leh....
and when enter and inside the corner
feel like front tyre no grip only..

Trail-braking is a subtle driving technique that allows for later braking and increased corner entry speed. The classical technique is to complete braking before turn-in. This is a safer, easier technique for the driver because it separates traction management into two phases, braking and cornering, so the driver doesn't have to chew gum and walk at the same time, as it were. With the trail-braking technique, the driver carries braking into the corner, gradually trailing off the brakes while winding in the steering. Since braking continues in the corner, it's possible to delay its onset in the preceding straight braking zone. Since it eliminates the sub-optimal moments between the ramp-down from braking and the ramp-up to limit cornering by overlapping them, entry speeds can be higher. The combination of these two effects means that the advantage of later braking is carried through the first part of the corner. In many ways, this is the flip side to corner exit, where any speed advantage due to superior technique gets carried all the way down the ensuing straight. The magnitude of the trail-braking effect is much smaller, though: perhaps a car length or two for a typical corner. Done consistently, though, it can accumulate to whole seconds over a course.

my first heel-toe braking caused me to spin out on a tight corner.. after much refinement gotten used to it. and combined with proper lines does wonders. then you will have fun attacking genting downhill

my heel and toe 2/10 works well...the rest jerk and all

prefer double cluthing..can keep in good rpms when drop gear and good speed when exit on a corner....try this..easy nia

heel n toe technique vr hard to master leh.... i alwiz try n do also jerk all the time... hahahaha... no skill mah...
best cornering technique is out-in-out la... but pls dont do it on public roads when there are heavy traffic... coz people wont know whether u turning or not if u are on the 'outside' of the road...
besides, weight shifting is also rather important fact... if not, ur car might understeer to the divider... make sure ur car weight is shifted properly at the right direction to aid ur cornering...

oic..~!!
thanks for teach me
now only realize the way i attack moutain road when on bike
is trail braking.. :D
cause i never good on cornering in bike
so just go fast.. late braking before the corner.. brake kao kao
then turn.. :D :D

slowkancil said:
I juz want to ask for you guys expert out there
for a good cornering technique, always heard about slow in fast out.
try it, but to much understeer,
now i use trail braking technique. work for me.:_:
but this morning almost had a spin outm really scare to used this tech.:confused_smile:

anybody had a good opinion???:shades_smile:

elo bro,
for me,always slow down speed on straight way then press oil when turn in corner...try to go near to the divider as near as i can...
my friend who follow behind me told me that my driver's side tyres always on the white color lane beside divider....CHEERS...

hmm....
thanks again to you all,
after about 11 spin out and 20 heavy under steer, i finally can do lfb.
my tyre almost botak. lucky i have two set off tyre. one for this kind of training,
and other other set for normal driving.:shades_smile:

how you guys do heel and toe?
before corner or in the middle. or combination?
can i do it with lfb?:_:
wanna try it tomollo night la, i think.:regular_smile:

heel n toe is done before corner... when u slow down to a corner, u press on the brakes... then press the clutch to downshift... blip on the throttle with ur right heel to rev up the engine, release the clutch (this is the harderst part as ur rpm must match with ur speed)...

heel n toe is done so that u dont need to work on the gear lever during cornering... besides, it helps ur car brake as engine compression will slow down ur car as well...

hope i'm correct lar... hehe...

Aii bro… I’m also not a pro, but the thing that I want to share is that when using the ‘heel & toe’ technique makes sure your machine is on the racing line (out-in-out) by doing so you can attack the corner at the optimum speed in & out.
Gud luck..