63T vs 63T

GSR_X

ok bro .. slowly narrowing my choices..
i end up with Vr4 + overhauling
or evo3 system..
i am a normal driver.. but my blood runs up for a lil chase and run at times :)
drag ? erm not much ... just for the fun only.
which one would be a better choice..
the evo comes with lsd and extra gadgets but the price is 8k ..
where else the vr4 starts at 4k only ..

SILAP .. i mean Vr4 vs evo.. sorry

dude u got it wrong for ur title ..it shud be 63T vs 93T
or mebi i got myself wrong cus u oni tok about VR4 and Evo in here..
this is wht i know, Evo is quite new and less hassle but u can mix and match wif Evo engine too..how bout this way : Evo engine hybrid wif VR4 block..at least VR4 is more better than Evo and not as fragile as Evo..u can boost high too wif VR4 blocks..but all the internals like pistons and stuff use back EVo..i bet EVo internals perform better than VR4..
jus my 2 cents..

Hehe...

EVO 4G63T also got GSR. Another version is RS.

But I don't know why ppl only remember GSR is 4G93T. But I also do heard of 4G93T RS. The one with green color filter is it? I'm not sure. :lol:

no matter what is your choice it is recommended to do a complete overhaul. Your budget should include engine + overhaul for all your choices. Last time I did the mistake of not doing that, in the end the cost of repairs is even more than the overhaul price.

Originally posted by moppy@Sep 5 2004, 11:33 PM
Hehe...

EVO 4G63T also got GSR. Another version is RS.

But I don't know why ppl only remember GSR is 4G93T. But I also do heard of 4G93T RS. The one with green color filter is it? I'm not sure. :lol:
Yeah i know that Evo os got GSR ..
but i seldom heard of ppl tranplanting EVO GSR ..
so i guess it is those 4G93T GSR..
and for GSR RS not veri sure if its green filter but i think the ECU is diff code i guess..the oni thing i know how to differenciate GSR RS is the manual aircon panel..and the bhp is slightly higher than normal GSR ..

Danny : yeah true it wuld be better to do overhaul before transplanting the engine..at least u replace those unseen parts which is gona kong ..do it all in one shot to save time and hassle iin future..

Originally posted by GSR5559@Sep 6 2004, 11:44 AM
Danny : yeah true it wuld be better to do overhaul before transplanting the engine..at least u replace those unseen parts which is gona kong ..do it all in one shot to save time and hassle iin future..
GSR5559>>
eeee.. y u talking to yourself arrr? Gila oredi aa? hahahaha! :lol: :lol:

When you refer to EVO GSR, from my understanding, it's NOTHING to do with the engine. The COMPLETE car is called the Lancer GSR Evolution (in no particular order..). Coz, yes.. there's an RS (rallye spec) version, which 'trimmed' down from the GSR in terms of weight saving.

The RS version of the 1.8 turbo lancer has an engine which, the clearest difference I understand is having a large front-mount intercooler, and yes, perhaps a re-mapped ecu... makes 210hp compared to the non RS turbo making abt 190hp.

I dono much la, but my RM12.+'s worth lah. hahaha! :lol: :P

GSR5559>>
eeee.. y u talking to yourself arrr? Gila oredi aa? hahahaha!

aiyoh..lekalo why make fun of me ..grrrr...im toking to another danny le..
anyway i feel weird oso typing my own name but refering to other person ..aahah
anyway im sori that day cant make it le, my fren birthday party and another fren need to do farewell party cus goin to shanghai liao..
anwyay ill see if i can make it sum other time ill gif u a call le..ur number is always in my fon book cus ur my gay partner..ahaha.joking oni..
and if im not mistaken, i saw this mag b4..Lancer EVo body wif 1.8 GSR but weird thing is the engine is terbalik , usually air filter left side from front view but this is right side like those evo 4 and above engine structure..forogt wht is the mag oredi..
a yellow colour evo if im not mistaken..
anwyay see ya then ciaos my gay partner//
ahaha

SORRY BROTHERS... i actually means VR4 Vs Evo ..
i think evo vs gsr has been done already :)

Originally posted by kRiminaLz@Sep 10 2004, 09:40 AM
of course its evo... newer than vr4, powerful n better, hassle free... :D
disagree

Originally posted by kRiminaLz@Sep 10 2004, 09:40 AM
of course its evo... newer than vr4, powerful n better, hassle free... :D
dude both got pros & cons . vr4 has stronger internals :rolleyes:

I got a question

Vr4 RS - 240 hp

Evo 3 - 270 hp

Let say if Vr4 RS vs Evo 3

240 vs 270

But what if vr4 rs remain stock and boost until get a 270bhp

then vr4 rs vs evo3 are 270 vs 270

Do u think vr4 rs is still has stronger internal :rolleyes:

if you are comparing vr4 240 with the evo 1 , its basically the same just that the evo has weaker internals and its runing on higher compression .

vr4 can sustain much boost then the evo 1 cause it has slightly lower compression , and the conrods are stronger / thicker then the evo .

Big rod = vr4 , Small rod = evo .

Does size matter? :lol: Sounds familar... kekeke..

The most import is the material properties... not the size :rolleyes:

Making example vr4 and evo5

Evo5 max. running before failure like piston n conrod crack (this consider internal ok).... 1.5 bar.... many ppl claimed in www.lancerregister.com but i hv no prove yet unless i tried... but assume is max. running 1.5 bar ok..

What about Vr4 can run at max. pressure?

Assume both evo n vr4 has a standalone/piggyback for the fuel mapping for 1.5 bar.

Needn't to say the hp produced by evo is higher.

I just want to know if both engine boost up to max. pressure.... which can goes highest boost?

Nobody do this comparison is it??? Can someone let me know :rolleyes:

Sorry I'm not asking for fun and argue.. i really don't know the answer.

And I'm making example here using evo5 cos evo1, 2 n 3 are quite similar and also many ppl claimed never evo is weaker. So I just want to compare to newer evo engine.

One thing I'm sure the weakest for new evo engine is the head bolts. That's why ARP bolt replace it. Again the cross section area of the ARP bolt and stock bolt size are the same. But ARP material properties is 190,000 psi... hmm.. if my memory serve me well... :)

How strong ur machine its depends on the driver too. Skills, training etc.
But for me , think Evo family.

Moppy is that the correct calculation?

Originally posted by najibkl@Sep 10 2004, 02:59 PM
How strong ur machine its depends on the driver too. Skills, training etc.
But for me , think Evo family.

Moppy is that the correct calculation?
Ok, let not talk about the driving skills here...

Assume both engine take it and put it into a lab test.

What calculation u mean?? :unsure:

well moppy , if its not about the size then those why are those forged conrods so damn bloody thick ?. take an example that pauter & crower rods , they can width stand up to a very high amount of horse power . since u are talking about lancerregister im sure u`ll be able to find stuff about the evo 1 - 3 vs the vr4's . and im sure they`ll give you the same feedback .

anyway moopy since u mention about materials , materials that matters not the size , so why don't crower come out with a conrod that is as thin as a lidi ? :rolleyes:

najibkl,
That's the specs I found, if I make mistake pls let me know.

vestax,
I am not sure what the conrods manufacturer use in a material, but I heard something about billet and titanium.... all that...they are consider aftermarket performance parts supplier to evo, they want their conrods are be able to sustain more more hp that's why they make it bigger... but I'm sure if they want to make the conrod equivalent hp to handle in stock evo.. aftermarket supplier should be able to make it more thinner than Mitsubishi made.

For example, the material use in ARP bolt as I mentioned earlier. ARP can have a stress value higher than what in Mitsubishi offer. We can't fit over size bolt on the head. That's why I mean the material play an important role and not the size. :rolleyes:

Again like u see those company like crower, oliver, arrow, tomei, hks offer bigger size of conrod cos they offer the rod can take more higher horse power. If compare to stock Mitsu. rod,..... they can make thinner rod. That's what I mean. But no point for them to make equivalent rod like Mitsu. cos no one want to change it since it won't improve performance and pay extra for forging material.

In lancerregister, there's a lot of ppl driving evo4 up.. however there's only a few evo1, 2 n 3.... seldom ppl talk about vr4... consider rare discussion for VR4 :unsure: