49178-01450 turbo compressor

bujang_hensem

ok guys, i bought this turbo from a guy and he claim it came from evo 3 halfcut, well it has been balance , clean and according to him it use a big 16g compressor.

But right now i'm a bit confused because from the number that i get it used a

49178-01450 compressor cover (like evo1)
6CM turbine housing
and Big 16g (maybe fin from evo3)

why i said it fin are maybe big 16g, because i already compare with the original evo 1 turbo 49178-01450 (side by side) and the fin at evo 1 has a bit gap to the compressor housing (about 1mm) and my turbo less < 1mm gap. So can the big 16g fin fit nice into the small 16g housing wihout any rebore?

How to tell the different it is big 16g or evo 3 big 16g fin. so far i compare the fin with my vr4 14B fin...the 14B a bit thick compare to that compressor? are the small 16g has the same thick blade with 14B turbo

sorry i'm a bit confuse a bit now...

is there evo 1 that come with big 16g and 6cm housing? because i know it come only with small 16g 7cm. How about evo1 RS?

why in some number like 49178-01420 are big 16g and 49178-01520 are small? but vr4rs come with 49178-01420 turbo only got small 16g? Well i'm a bit confuse the way mitsubishi mark their turbo label...

can somebody explain?

:blink:

i tink u bought a local modified turbo...
da fella never tell u the true story..

tu lar...i aledi wanna said that...but wait for SDF taiko say first...takut tiau OOooO...local rojak lar u turbo....hihihihihi....

:)

maybe the turbo that i got already modified in japan...maybe those evo fella want fast spool respone by using 6cm housing but for sure the compressor housing I know it is from evo1 housing (16g) - 49178-01450 -16g compressor housing number because i also own a vr4 turbo that rebuilt with garret twin fin compressor...it is different when rebore

Originally posted by AlucarD@Apr 1 2005, 13:38
Hensem ... what you need is sdf taikor or vestax views

All 16G have the 7cm^2 housing. Only the compressor side is slightly larger for the 'large 16G'. I suspect that U might have the 14B housing that is 6cm^2 and ported to take the 16G fins.

Here's something from the ZTH

http://zerotohundred.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=11895
[snapback]859426[/snapback]​

Not all 16G using 7cm2 housing , like vr4 240 is using a small 16G but with a 6cm2 housing , and if not mistaken SDF also got mention about the impreza tdo5h turbo which is also small 16G with a 6cm2 housing .

Originally posted by vestax+Apr 1 2005, 15:53 -->
QUOTE(vestax @ Apr 1 2005, 15:53 )
--QuoteBegin-AlucarD
@Apr 1 2005, 13:38

All 16G have the 7cm^2 housing. Only the compressor side is slightly larger for the 'large 16G'. I suspect that U might have the 14B housing that is 6cm^2 and ported to take the 16G fins.

Not all 16G using 7cm2 housing , like vr4 240 is using a small 16G but with a 6cm2 housing , and if not mistaken SDF also got mention about the impreza tdo5h turbo which is also small 16G with a 6cm2 housing .
[snapback]859856[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

hi,
i think the subaru td05H is using 7cm housing. i was using it in my car now. the spool time is also fast for my 1.8cc

Originally posted by tkk+Apr 1 2005, 16:06 -->
QUOTE(tkk @ Apr 1 2005, 16:06 )
Originally posted by vestax@Apr 1 2005, 15:53
--QuoteBegin-AlucarD
@Apr 1 2005, 13:38

[snapback]859856[/snapback]​

hi,
i think the subaru td05H is using 7cm housing. i was using it in my car now. the spool time is also fast for my 1.8cc
[snapback]859904[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

well im not sure about that , wait till our sdf kor kor comes in and let him do some lecture :lol: .

I read some where on the DSMTUNER.com one of the guy said almost one year mitsu using 6cm housing for WRC for fast spool. maybe evo 1 or evo 2 ...and evo 3 is different story. Vesax, i think (vr4 240 evo 0) using 7cm housing also because using big 16G...because i saw one..and maybe vr4rs still using 6cm because using small 16g

so pening to many hybrid haha :lol:

vr4-rs is the same as vr4-240 eci-multi...
it uses the 7cm2 turbine housing and it isn't a large 16G..juz a normal one..

EVO-1 and -2 and VR4-RS all use the same spec turbo juz that part number is different..

EVO-3 has the largest 16G around with a broader based compressor wheel exducer....other than that...everything is the same wit the other 16G's...

US spec DSM's were initially running TD04HL's...it spooled damn well...until Garrett introduced the T28 as replacements...and DSM found it more reliable and opted to swap the TD04HL for a T28 as OEM spec...
BTW the US DSM runs is a cross breed of VR4 and EVO...having EVO wirings and similar ECU...but with a smaller turbo and smaller injectors...strange... :D

49178-01450 shud belong to a VR4-RS a.k.a 240 ECI-Multi...which is a small 16G with 7cm2...

many times chop shop fellas swap housings and you may not have noticed and they call it a Japan hybrid...so cool of it...but why swap ? They themselves may a TD05-16G too..but it may have cracked..alot of the damn Mitsu turbos crack around the wastegate flap area or on the inducer area...

cud be...
as the turbine wheel's are all the same...it's easy to remove and bolt on another housing...

most ppl prefer the 7cm2...flows more.. ;)

besa la weh...meniagaaa....hahahahaha...ppl at chop shop when sumone buy turbo n if returned bcoz turbo kong they will take the kong turbo open it up then change the parts n then sell them back....

hmmmm...pity who buys them...

many times chop shop fellas swap housings and you may not have noticed and they call it a Japan hybrid...so cool of it...but why swap ? They themselves may a TD05-16G too..but it may have cracked..alot of the damn Mitsu turbos crack around the wastegate flap area or on the inducer area...
[snapback]860764[/snapback]​
[/quote]

Ya man, tell me about it ... I'm looking for the 7cm turbine housing for the TD05H.. 8 out of 10 of them have cracks, unless you get an aftermarket steel ones from states.. Mine have small cracks, dun think is leaking boost but I just wanna find one just in case! ^_^ SDF, u have any Lobang!!

hehe...lubang alot...
nose lubang..
ear lubang..
sifat lubang..

:P ...sorry la...juz kiddin

Hahaha ... dun wanna ur sifat lobang ler ... :lol: ;)