Aftermarket turbo recommendation for Evo3(CE9A)

Karapok11

Hi fellow forumers,

Is there any after market turbo based on your expertise and experience suitable to replace the stock TD05H-16G/7 turbo from the EVO3 (CE9A)?

Need your expert advise and recommendation on this...

Currently running stock with AVCR running 1 bar with AFR taken care by E-Manage. The turbo is not in very optimum state now with 'engine oil consumption' bit by bit. That's why would want to source for a better yet around the same specs turbo.

Thanks in advance :)

this is wht i did with my TD05 evo 3

i made a hybrid with my evo3 turbine
do u know that the evo 3 turbine is special
the inlet is bigger and the twin fin is much bigger
it has a 7cm turbine housing instead of a 6cm which is on the vr4rs
evo III turbine is sweet till 385 hp on crank as what was rated

u may google it , in US its called MHI big16g

ok thts the story
the 7cm MHI turbine housign is equaivalent with 0.48 a/r garrett source from some sites
u can plonk in a t04b big trim compressor housing with a 20g fin
this would not require u to mod ur manifold , no need banana ,
no need to change oil line no need to change water pipes
20g fin flows 650cfm while stock evo1,2 flow 505cfm and evo III flows about 550cfm

with 650cfm u might get 400+hp on crank
but the limitation of choking point would be the compressor housing
doing this hybrid on td05 might choke the compressor housing
t04b is good to go but t04e housing is the beast to take

u may check t04e , t04b , 20g , 16gbig ,
check mjmturbos.com , check slowboyracing.com , check dsmtuners.com
check turbochargers.com

google em up :)

dnt say guru laa, im only a kid wei

but nowdays the mood has changed
its either a t3/t4 turbo or a GT30R
if u r on a budget a hybrid is the cheapeast way to get around 30hp
if u got a lil more, then a t3/t4 t04e 50trim will do the job
if u really got the cash, a GT30R ball bearing turbo, sweeet even more than 400hp

jin..

hate to say this but there isn't many 'real' 20G compressor wheels in the market these days...most modders actually run a T04B or T04E wheel mated to a Mitsu shaft.

True Mitsu wheels are Expensive and flows differently from the Garrett T-series wheels. FYI- the true Mitsu wheels are much lighter compared to the Garrett T-series wheels. T's don't flow so well...it's pretty much old designed....sorry to say this.. ;)

Which is why GRT created new series 'GT' wheels...flows beter and more efficient.

Infact Mitsu now all run 'T' series of their own...no longer they use the 20'G'...instead it'll be called 20'T'.....new trims...

SDF : yeah true :( , so hard to get a MHI wheel , ur good fren tong also uses t04b as 18g and t04e as 20g fins , size is around the same but then u r right, it wouldnt be giving the same amount of flow :)

this all points to GT30r hehehehe

jin..

actually it's not hard to get a true MHI wheel...but who wants to pay the 'right' price ? hahaa..

a 20G comp wheel wud easily cost you guys RM 800 ! might not be worth it...

sdf : true also , better to just get a true td06 chop shop turbo n refurbish it.

melvin , will be calling u today or tomorrow regarding the pm that you have sent, will discuss with you over the phone and then drop in by this weekend.

HKS GT 2835R,APEXI or IHI RX6 D n K27 from either blitz or sard is da best turbine for evo!!!

oh sdf,

so long no see,how's it going? u work in turbo one now huh bro?
what's d different between HKS GT series n ur garrett GT series?
GT 30 n GT 35 price almost d same but which 1 is better for our 2.0cc set up? thomas urged me to go for GT 30 leh...

hehe keong woahh 35R :d

this one must ask sifu sdf redi, but im not sure wht turbine housings are available n suitable for 2.0 for the 35r range , but i guess 30r is streetable , 35r would be a killer machine

my fren already bought d GT 35 from GT n tuned there with E6X,make 400bhp only... i still feel lag,i n thomas suggest him go for GT 30 but d price differ only 400... so he opt for GT 35 instead! he caya his foreman... n now,he's looking for GT 42 pulak,crazy!!!

sdf,

bro,u still used d old hp? i dunno u work with turbo one leh... thomas told me i baru know! hehehe... want to hire some salesman in east coast area? hehehe... i'm interested leh!

i will be travelling to the East Cost sometime after CNY...and it'll include kelantan...

PM me your HP...we'll probably meet up for tea...

hire me lar for east coast area,i'll kautim for u!hehehe...
oh,when u come pls dun forget bring ya passport too,will bring u to see twin turbo! hehehe... here's my num,017-9739966!

sdf,

bro, if u go with others i no warranty but if me,i warranty u tat sure safe 1! hehehe... we going to get bomb by d chicks there! hahaha...