4G91 Gang..

wirafly said:
I got the manual, to those interest please pm ur email, I send to u

wirafly....helo...i'm intersted about the manual 4 this 4G91, can u pls send or email me ([email protected]) 1 copy so that i can study about this engine..TQ. :smile:

oh ya !! wirafly....since u r using auto 1.....can u tell me how 2 reduce the FC and what shall i modify...what 2 change....what 2 install....what 2 use ? i'm also using 4G91 auto n still stock !!!!! TQ :tee:

tajulsans said:
I will always advice the guys using same engine to use Castrol magnatex, it is proven to reduce tappet sound.. its 10w40 if not mistaken..

Yes.. I'm very much agree wit tajulsan.. I've use many brand before.. then after I switch Magnatec, its solve the tappet prob. since then never use other brand..

ayell said:
okat bro.. the manual is on the way.. check ur mailbox...

okay man.............thanks ! i'm check my email.....need 2 learn more about this engine....further more mine is 4G91 auto...very complicated 4 me to study.....? :biggrin:

HOBOT said:
okay man.............thanks ! i'm check my email.....need 2 learn more about this engine....further more mine is 4G91 auto...very complicated 4 me to study.....? :biggrin:

bro.. my mail to you bounce "message size limit exceeded" your company mail can't except more than 2Mb lerr..

casp3r said:
I've just changed my exhaust to a 2 inch pipe and a built in s-flow muffler, the foreman did everything for me, at first i was worry about the acceleration because all of u said 2 inch is 2 big for 4g91. But it does improve my car acceleration, and when rev high also feel smoother. Extractor i;m using the stock 1, mid until end cost me RM465, izzit considered expensive?

casp3r, before my current setup (1.6" stainless steel), I was running original 2" pipe from my previous car, since I am running on auto tranny, I thought 2" is too big and may cause higher FC, which now I am regret, the low end of my car is slightly better but mid to top end not so smooth, and FC remain the same...:thumpdown ...between I have done mine RM240 include center twisted type bullet.

HOBOT said:
wirafly....helo...i'm intersted about the manual 4 this 4G91, can u pls send or email me ([email protected]) 1 copy so that i can study about this engine..TQ. :smile:

oh ya !! wirafly....since u r using auto 1.....can u tell me how 2 reduce the FC and what shall i modify...what 2 change....what 2 install....what 2 use ? i'm also using 4G91 auto n still stock !!!!! TQ :tee:

Seem you manual is on the way...hehe...so no need I email la? last sunday I have done my grounding, which bring me a significant enhancement on electricity and auto gear box compare to last grounding on my ex engine, the gear box suddenly become more responsive and less jerking, very very good investment, I havent finish my petrol, cannot comment on FC, but from my observation, change to smaller CC injector gave me the most significant reduce in FC, but too bad it seem the engine running too lean.

I have try put in microcompressor from my ex engine to this 4G91, it works, more significant improvement (Lighter throttle response, FC full tank improve 30km), I strongly belief this device is more suitable to MAF injection car (where my ex engine is running on MAP), it already took out by my machanic when I installed smaller CC injector last few weeks, but I will definately install back this weekend, just my 2 cents

skyline_maniac said:
sigh...zth down the whole day yesterday ....damn bored man.... :(

Rossi....ur zenden 4-2-1 extractor....u are using extractor for 4G92 wan rite?
did u mod ur extractor for the O2 sensor wiring?
how much did it cost u just to install the extractor?

i think is 92 ..cuz the ppl sold me say it's fit for 91 and the last piece when i bought it..my fren helped me to buy it,rm200 only,then installation free cuz my workshop install it for me..so juz rm200 only for all

wirafly said:
casp3r, before my current setup (1.6" stainless steel), I was running original 2" pipe from my previous car, since I am running on auto tranny, I thought 2" is too big and may cause higher FC, which now I am regret, the low end of my car is slightly better but mid to top end not so smooth, and FC remain the same...:thumpdown ...between I have done mine RM240 include center twisted type bullet.

is that mean 2" is good from mid to high end? while ur current 1.6" is good at low end? if i change my extractor to 4-2-1 and use 2" pipe, low end will improve?

Rossi said:
i think is 92 ..cuz the ppl sold me say it's fit for 91 and the last piece when i bought it..my fren helped me to buy it,rm200 only,then installation free cuz my workshop install it for me..so juz rm200 only for all

how much difference after installing it ..
do u feel lighter trottle response...
cos im planning 2 get 1 also...
do i recommend this product...
pls explain.. thx

casp3r said:
is that mean 2" is good from mid to high end? while ur current 1.6" is good at low end? if i change my extractor to 4-2-1 and use 2" pipe, low end will improve?

Many sifu here recommend 1.8" or 1.75" for 4G91.

Out original manifold is 421 but it is too short from the 4 pipe join to 2 pipe, and the 2 pipe join to 1 pipe, aftermarket extractor normally design as tuned length and have longer pipe from 4 to 2 and 2 to 1, by right it should provide better tork and smoother exhaust flow due to:
Our engine burning sequence in this way
1-4-2-3
exhaust from combution no 1 will help extract exhaust gas from combution no 4, same to exhaust from combution no 2 will help extract exhaust gas from combution no 3, the combined exhaust gas from 1&4 will help to extract exhaust gas from 2&3, finally they join together to the center piping at higher speed.

Now, the piston no need waste its energy to push the exhaust gas out, thus less energy loss....as a result it shud provide better tork and horse power.

I still tight of budget to get aftermarket extractor but definately I will get one soon. :biggrin:

partyJOE said:
how much difference after installing it ..
do u feel lighter trottle response...
cos im planning 2 get 1 also...
do i recommend this product...
pls explain.. thx

ya, rossi, how is it? I know it is same design with hotbit extractor, last time one shop quote me RM240 for hotbit extractor without installation, the zenden is definately cheaper but I heard he plan to revise the price...sigh

HOBOT,
If u're driving manual... straight flow all the way to the back would be better... if auto, s-flow rear muffler would be better... as for mid, get a straight flor mid muffler. If you don't mind having the back box follow back OEM design (just with bigger pipings)... then go to ah heng in USJ there to custom a straight flow back box... very quiet wan although its straight flow !!! But its going to really cost u lar... probably around 500-600 bucks for the rear box alone... but the workmanship and quality of product is good. =) I have friends who have been using it for the past 4-5 years and there is still fibre in it !!
As for the fuel regulator... the 600++ SARD fuel regulator is most probably referring to the dual diaphram wan... think u no need so geng wan lar... get the single diaphram one is more than enuff... N1 selling for 390 i think... FSE is cheaper, dual diaphram is going for 360 i think... else can get the one sold by EFN, DIY punya fuel regulator... or u can also buy the one that taps onto your fuel rail to adjust fuel pressure... going for 70 bucks, maybe can bargain for u down to 100 bucks including installation and tuning from N1 Racing.

wirafly, drag on,
Actually... thicker oil is what reduces tappet noise... =Þ I heard Pennzoil oil also quite good.. but then very hard to get... But i prefer to stick with castrol magnatec... or if u have a slightly higer budget, endless or HKS...!! =) I'm using HKS oil now... quite good... very smooth.

As for my SECRET TO PAINTING MITSUBISHI WORDS....
My plug cover has been sprayed same colour as my car chassis... =Þ And then from there... take off the plug cover.... bring up to my room... and then... my secret... TAMIYA MODEL PAINT!! =Þ I do maniature modelling, so I do have the necessary paints to get it done... hahaha. If u get it on your own its 14.90 per bottle from toycity or any other hobby shop.
One piece of advice though... go buy a can of clear coat paint from hardware store and spray over it once u're done... tamiya model paints are thinner base paints, and if u pour highly concentrated cleaning liquid (like the ones they use for rims or engine wash) the paint might come off.
One extra trick... go buy sandpaper... then slowly sand off the words DOHC 16 valve.... =) Looks bettter... then the words will appear to be silver... =)

wow...wat alvin did was also wat i did...the dohc 16 valve i use wat they call 'bastard' o in malay kikir parut to make the word silver metal again...

the plug cover after spray edi then use brush to apply other colour onto the wording...
a fren of mine too damn free even stick for me my mitsubishi word wit carbon fiber sticker...ahahahahha...

i'm using Eneos 10w-40 semi....no tappet sound at all...
last time i went GT Auto also the fello there told me tat 10w-40 is the most suitable oil grade for mitsu engine

ayell said:
bro.. my mail to you bounce "message size limit exceeded" your company mail can't except more than 2Mb lerr..

ayell man !!! okay try n send the manual again 2 my yahoo [email protected]

i'll really wan this manual man.....thanks again man ?

alvin24,

Thanks again man 4 the info......when i'll make changes or install anything 2 my 4G91.....i'll let u guys know what the outcome....by the way guys....i'm from kota kinabalu..sabah...far away from u guys....if i'm there K.L...sure i would like 2 have a TT with u guys....can gain knowledge n skill 2 modify this engine...!!! :dancing2: :rock:

alvin24 sifu, my car now running on 20W-50 mineral oil + STP oil additive to make it thicker, I do found the tappet noise is very very annoying during cold start (if I did not wait until the sound gone, the car is very underpower), I suspect the engine oil in my car is too thick (hehe, maybe the grade now is 30W-60 after put in the additive :eek: ), that why during cold start, the engine oil flow not good thus creating annoying tappet noise, I strongly believe your recommendation on engine oil of grade 10W-40.

May I know how much the HKS oil? I saw eneous got sell, in TIN package, are you referring to that? :smile:

Ya, I also heard about dual diaphram and single diaphram FPR, may I know what is the different and the impact on performance? :biggrin: , asking too many question but really hope to learn from sifu.
Ya, your previous engine cover very very NICE, :rock:, I show to my colleague this morning, he also tempted to do the same color(blue) on his airtek.

Yong_5290 said:
i'm using Eneos 10w-40 semi....no tappet sound at all...
last time i went GT Auto also the fello there told me tat 10w-40 is the most suitable oil grade for mitsu engine

Hmmm, maybe tomorrow go eneos kepong change this engine oil, package price not bad, include Ambro engine flush and oil filter for RM83, too worry the engine in my car spoil my tappet, if one piece RM90, 16 tappets will cost me RM1440 :eek: , I rather next few weeks makan roti rather than save these money.

hobot, maybe you can become our 4G91 gang sabah devision head, hehe, here let tajulsans taikor maintain

Hobot bro.. sent it to you already.. have fun with it.. I've use this manual to calculate how much need to rebore my 91 to 92 spec.. very usefull..