4g63t tappets making noise

fazidk

hi fellers, i know for a fact dat 4g63t tappets are well known in producing all dis iritating noise...wat i wanna know from any experts in here...

1- anyone wants 2 let go 4g63t tappets?
2- any solutions?

all comments are highly appreciated..

4G63T Hidraulic lifters aka teppets prob, solution:
1. Buy the whole set brand new (u never know which one givin the prob rite?) n the cost...hehehe
2. Someone told me it can be serviced, but the sound pron to coming back.
3. Some even said using thicker oil should help 20w mebe?
4. Live wit it! Treat it as music 2 ur ears...hehehe

I've choosed no. 4 until sold the car off...hehehe (not bcoz the teppet)

Hope this helps.

Quote:

A noticeable “ticking” noise from the top of the engine. Usually appears when
starting the engine from cold but can persist.
The noise is caused by air being trapped in the Lash Adjuster [Hydraulic Tappet].
Normally the high-pressure chamber in the Lash Adjuster should contain oil but
due to various reasons [listed below] the oil drains away leaving only air present.
This causes the adjuster to become compressed. The compressed adjuster does
not take up the clearance between the roller rocker and the cam lobe correctly
when the valve is opening meaning a “ticking” can be heard. It may take a short
period for the air to be expelled after starting the engine so some “ticking” noise
is acceptable however, if the noise lasts for a long period or doesn’t go away at all
then there maybe a problem.
Air can be trapped in the adjuster due to several reasons that are listed below:
• Incorrect grade of oil used [too thin or thick].
• Old oil [debris in the oil may block an adjuster].
• If the car is stood for a long period or if it is stood on an incline [the oil
will drain from the adjusters].
• Over filling the engine with oil [if the oil level reaches the crank it may
churn air into the oil that will migrate to the lash adjusters].

although i'm not 63T user, but i'm using 93t, can give u my comments kah? :unsure:
i just had my engine oil changed last wk...
1st time use Castrol Magnetec 10/40.. i have a significant result after changing é particular oil.. tappets sound not so obvious redi..

heard from other ZTH members, Castrol RS oso is recommended.. next oil change will try it out.. ;)

well,wiz regards to prolancer's statements..i have used castrol RS b4 but somehow or rather d tappet sounds still there...then i changed 2 thicker oil..hence...castrol magnatec...result?still there....then i cont using magnatec WIZ oil additive (TUFOIL)..result?it works but i think in my honest opinion it doesnt work well wiz magnatec...reason??i donno...now im using shell helix semi synthetic wiz TUFOIL n d sound has decreased a lot...tho still noticable...

my next oil change which wld b next week (i changed d helix about 2 weeks or so ago..wiz TUFOIL)..wanna drain it out...full oil change...drive about half a day...drain it out again n then put in new oil...was thinking of trying Q8 coz heard a lot of good things about it from ppl wiz same problems s i m...said tappet sound no more...wow!!amazing??well...will let u know s soon s i get it done next week...s 4 me Q8 wiz TUFOIL...

keep on updating fellers...n thanx again...

Originally posted by fazidk@Feb 22 2005, 13:40
hi fellers, i know for a fact dat 4g63t tappets are well known in producing all dis iritating noise...wat i wanna know from any experts in here...

1- anyone wants 2 let go 4g63t tappets?
2- any solutions?

all comments are highly appreciated..

bleeding ur tappet will be ok and use correct grade oil don't use to thick such as 10w-60. ;) :rolleyes:

As usual I m so grateful with all your advice, ur solutions and ur recommendations...appreciate more from you guys (n gals if any...)

Thanks a million ppl.... :D

i'm using castrol rs 10w-60... i dont hear any loud tappet noises, quite quiet actually. unlike my gsr that used to use 10w-40

ok..thanks for all ur kind support in offering ur points n views regarding dis open problem...from what i c mainly is about d oil we use dat roughly determines whether
- d tappet is making noise or not..
- decrease d noise or not
- change all d tappets
- service d tappets

sorry if i left anything out but anyway,r there any other solutions/advices etc etc is very highly appreciated..

last time my 6a12tt tappets also making the same kind of noise. my mech said that the 4g63t and 6a12tt tappets are auto adjustable but mine is still making noise. when time to change d oil i put restorer engine flush and then put the fully synthetic 20w-50 restorer motor oil in. then no more noise coming from d tappets. now 7 times adi change the oil using 10w-40 and still no noise... strange ;)

i thought maybe because of the valve clearance was cloged with old oil residue la... i think la... but anyway it solved my probs... hope this should help :)

info from the internet

the culprit...
http://www.ecanfix.com/users/mdhamilton/images/valveadj/tech004.jpg
These are the noisy bastards responsible for start up ticking, phantom knock

Lifters002.jpg

lifters.jpg

Here's a picture of the revised lifter (left) from Mitsubishi and the original lifter (right) found in many early model 2G Eclipses and Talons. Notice the larger oil passage in the revised lifter. No wonder the original design caused the ticking everyone is accustomed to hearing.

http://www.3sxperformance.com/images/lash-adjusters-newer-6-400.jpg

TICK-TICK-TICK-TICK-TICK... Does your car have the infamous lifter tick? You can upgrade to the later "3rd Generation" lash adjusters which offer a HUGE improvement in oil circulation in the heads, thus virtually eliminating the ticking sound that incessantly emanates from the top of your motor. While the opening at the top of the lash adjusters in the 91-96 cars is less than 1mm, the opening in these is 3mm, allowing for much better lubricated rocker arms and a quieter, non-ticking "time bomb" motor. ;-)

thanks ruhaz 4 d very complete explaination wiz diagrams....any ideas where we can get d revised item?? im sure most of 4g users r interested 2 know s well s the noise is TOTALLY irritating...:)

thanks a million

haha i have the very same problem.. people tell me to change..but its madness..if change must change ALL... and its a wooping 1k plus plus.. i'm now running on fully synthetic oil.. HI-REV i think.. cannot remember which one... but the problem is not as bad anymore..but still got lil bit of sound

i'm using semi synt also ok.... just got a lil bit of sound nia..... sometimes got sometimes not... :D i'm using the ELF's 15w50... thinking of changing it to fully synt.

anymore updates highly appreciated...

Originally posted by fazidk@Mar 13 2005, 18:04
anyone else with any suggestions/comments/solutions?

BUMP
[snapback]813548[/snapback]​

bro fazid.....mine also noisy la....93t
hmm....very useful info there,i'll ask ayu about the 3rd generation lifters....it looks like tht could solve the problem :)
but tappets expensive la......shit.....