About Tappets - Protons

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Dudes and dudettes,
My regular mech has somehow adjusted my tappet. There's this funny sound when I accelerate the car at certain gears and certain rpms. Sounds a little harsh. Will try to record the sound. He then one day checked something else in my car, and suddenly, he said, "wah, your tappet very noisy la". I told him that he was the one who adjusted it and he said if adjust back, have to pay money again. I told him that it was only 1-2 months since he adjusted it and he just said, "well, if there's work to be done, then sure need to pay money". Damn dog fucker.

My question.
Has anyone done any tappet adjustments?
If so, where in PJ area did y'all do it?
Do y'all happen to remember how much did y'all do it for?
If all else fails, I'll bring it back to Proton as I think they should know how exactly to do it since they built the car.

delphinium

Dec 22, 2003
I remembered once my friend changed his Perdana engine. there was a loud tappet sound as if it was installed with a diesel engine. We did ask the mechanic to adjust the tappet and all he said was that the tappet is self-adjusting thingy and there's no need to adjust them. The sound will go off eventually he said. Dont know wethere his statement is true but the sound has lessen a bit in about a week but my friend re-changed the engine again because no AP.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Proton / Mitsubishi uses self-adjusting ones... just change to a better quality oil / flush the engine after year or so.

Mine used to be damn noisy... so similar to my dad's diesel-powered Landcruiser VX. I did an engine flush and use Motul Power 4000 15W/50 and the noise went away after my 3rd oil change. Never use Castrol Magnatec or other variants such as SLX or RS. They don't work on Mitsubishi engines!

Another oil worth checking out is from Eneos... at least better quality than Castrol.

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Oh... damn. The fucked up mech of mine already adjusted some shit some months ago. Will it adjust back by itself again? I just flushed and used 15w50 full syn engine oil. One day, I'm going to burn his shop down, while he's still inside it.

NiCkY7

Dec 27, 2003
try use Q8 Full Sync with tufoil...

one of the member, fazidk did wrote a comment at Tufoil section...

have a look at there la...

cheers... :P

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Actually... since Q8 is a good oil... why bother to add an addictive to it? Might as well spend more on better oils.

Tufoil maybe good (I've used it b4) but I do not believe in adding addictive to good oils. If that is the case, buy those Ace Hardware oil will do. Cheaper and cost less than RM 100 for 4L (with Tufoil). I believe EFN did a review once. Worth checking out...

NiCkY7

Dec 27, 2003
is all depends...

if a car using Q8, still got tappet sound, why not give TufOil a try?
just like fazidk, after he tried, the tappet sounds gone...

each car need differ way to treat it... so the driver need to try as many way to solve the problem... just dun try some silly stuffz la... :p

so is worth or not for the try, judge by ownself then...

i do believe adding tufoil into good oil will still help... cause last time i heard a merz specialist, he also using Q8 fully sync and tufoil, he claims the difference still got, but not so much if u compare to cheaper oils...

cheers...

acbc said:
Actually... since Q8 is a good oil... why bother to add an addictive to it? Might as well spend more on better oils.

Tufoil maybe good (I've used it b4) but I do not believe in adding addictive to good oils. If that is the case, buy those Ace Hardware oil will do. Cheaper and cost less than RM 100 for 4L (with Tufoil). I believe EFN did a review once. Worth checking out...

MaNofWaR

Nov 22, 2003
On the AiR
yup...
just fm my oppinion....
due to some proton tappets are using hydraullic lifters u can't really adjust it coz
its self adjusting...

no major prob except for the sound...try change to different makes of oil, then find the best one that elliminate/reduce the tappet sound. perhaps it won't solve ur prob overnite....

fm my oppinion...if u use a high end/expensive oil, try not to add any additive coz these oils have gone through R&D...thats why its costly.
i've seen a engine at a workshop that uses oil treatments & after years of use when overhauling comes into way.... the condition internally was not good, sludges that really bonds to the metal... why coz prolong mixing might cause different property in oil.

sometimes using a semi syn could cure, even back to minerals could even do the trick...but intervall changes required.

ziranath

Nov 25, 2004
bangsar,kl
mine also have this tepet sound but only bunyi for 5 minit when i start the engine..after that the sound gone.if u dont want to hear any of this tepet sound just change it to new one n use eneos oil then drive it below 100kmh n u wont heard any of these tepet sound again..

psyk

Feb 22, 2005
don rev the car so hard la.. u try rev hard.. next morning cold start u start car u have the sound for a coupla minutes.. then it goes away.. drive below 100kmph but u rev hard >4k also u'll start hearing the tuk tuk sound.. but then last time got add tufoil never had this problem even after revving hard.. this time put expensive oil never put tufoil.. lemme put then rev see any diff onot.. :)

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
oh crap. I do red lines once in a while la. I think that's why got cipet sound. I mean tappet sound. hehe

ziranath

Nov 25, 2004
bangsar,kl
i think most of NA engine have these tepet sound.changed it regularly but u still have these kinda sound...the best way to keep it quiet...not to rev it hard everyday...

prozac

Jan 18, 2004
As usual, if you rev hard everyday, have to obey the 5000km oil change very strictly...even with synthetics.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
sorry ar, what is the tappet sound?? anyone mind to explain a bit? issit from the gearbox?

psyk

Feb 22, 2005
from your engine bolock.. you can hear tuk tuk tuk tuk sound when you start your car.. usually in the mornings.. after couple of minutes the sound go away.. i put tufoil liao.. rev hard.. next morning no sound :D .. been testing it.. looks good.. yay can rev hard liao..