4G63T Club

yo melv ,
i`ll be changing the inlet manifold to the mirage eci multi , so should i use the mirage throttle body or i should use back the cyclone tb ?. by the looks , look like the cyclone tb is bigger , so do i need to rebore the inlet hole ?.

vex...

better to get a 4G63 NA inlet manifold...da runners are bigger...flows more... ;)

cyclone has 4 then split into 8 ma inside...rite ? not so nice.... :D

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@May 15 2004, 08:40 AM
vex...

better to get a 4G63 NA inlet manifold...da runners are bigger...flows more... ;)

cyclone has 4 then split into 8 ma inside...rite ? not so nice.... :D
ermm what about the 4G61 turbo inlet from the mirage , the throttle & inlet looks small , but the runners looks big to me . so lets say i wanna use the eci multi turbo inlet , i have to port the inlet hole to 60mm , cause the mirage throttle & inlet hole is 54mm if not mistaken , right ?.
if i were to get the n/a inlet , then i have 2 spare inlets at home kind of a waste :lol: . so which should flow better ? the turbo eci multi ported to 60mm or use back the cyclone inlet ?.

i`ll post the pics later on .

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@May 13 2004, 10:53 AM
khoyos..

valve seals can replace...don cost much...bout rm 300 fer a 'head' job.. ;) (make sure he gets GENUINE Mitsu seals...last longer)

if compression dropped in engine...2 alternatives lar...
1. fastest way but not 100% sure = change engine kosong
2. 100% sure and reliable = overhaul bottom end

for now...check for air leaks....cud be some pipes or hoses leaking...so causing ur black smokes... ;)
mel, RM300 for a head job?
what do i get for RM300?

kinda desperate now, really miss the thrill...

ezwong - no hessitation on high rpm... btw I found out how to solve the starting problem already, I was told to connect a relay on the starter.

bujang - thanks for the advise, I already got another fuel pump, installing it soon. It is rated at 200 litre/hr compared to my previous one which is 80 litre/hr. Is it enough?

As for the ic piping issue, I think my karman reading is slightly high, where is the ic piping located & whats the cost to repair/replace it?

actually the safc is adjusted to add fuel at 0.9 bar & I've already tested the reading on the o2 sensor to compensate fuel whenever engine knocking is heard. Low/high throttle setting at 30% 80% while the hi throttle set to add 10% extra from 4k rpm onwards.

4WD drag Australian records:

Class Owner Driver Vehicle Type ET Trap Speed Induction
6-cyl Andrej Nissan Skyline R33 GTR 8.449 164.90 mph VeilSide GT-3542 (x2)
4-cyl Tony Rigoli Performance Dom Subaru Impreza WRX 8.983 153.00 mph ??? and NOS

4WD drag New Zealand records:

Class Owner Driver Vehicle Type ET Trap Speed Induction
6-cyl Croydon Wholesalers Glen Nissan Skyline R32 GTR 8.555 165.99 mph GReddy T88-34D and NOS
4-cyl Speedtech Andre Mitsubishi EVO III 9.59 149 mph ???

all taiko here.....need some help
wat brand forged piston is better ah..........? :( \
coz need to changed my piston but have some confulse....
some body say je piston no good for on the road

khoyos..

rm300 should be bout labour...valve seal not included...insist ur mechanic get GENUINE Mitsu seals... ;)

evo-1

All forged are just as good, just that how many pounds of pressure it can take and alot also depends on how the mechanic installs and set's it up... :)

just an update note, 1.8 wira fuel pump was insufficient for the vr4. I just realised this when I changed to evo3 pump + tank. Previously after boosting a few times the engine temperature increase. Now, it still maintains the same. CAme to a deduction that the previous setup was running lean.

actually the 14B enough aready , just that it dies off too early , boring mah , no feel at high revs . so uprade to 16G first la since i have it at home :lol: .

ehh.. vestax, fix yourself la,since you got quite some experience already... is it that difficult to install?

btw, can anyone help me diagnose engine oil leaking problem? At first, I noticed that oil is leaking on the floor. I sent it to this workshop nearby my house called Idemitsu, and they replaced the oil pump seal, camshaft seal, campully sheal and oil cover seal.

Now, instead of the oil being on the floor, it is splurting upwards to the bonnet and drops off around the right hand side of the engine and above the spark plugs area. The amount of oil is tremendous and part of the spark plug cover is submerged in the oil if I don't clean it.

What could cause this problem? Is it serious? Should I be ready to get an engine kosong or overhaul? I will be bringing in to another workshop tomorrow to diagnose the problem, but those experienced vr4 owners I hope you can give some inputs.

fix it my self ? aiyo too much work la , have to take out radiator , then later must take out the manifold , scared the manifold studs will patah and then it will be another issue :lol: , have to take out the oil lines , which is a messy job . so might as well go to workshop .

oil all over ur valve cover ? hmm too much pressure ? pcv valve blocked ? cover got leak . why not try to remove your pcv hose out from the inlet & airfilter and dump them to the atmosphere and block those holes from the inlet & the airfilter . then see if its still leaking ?.

guys, last friday i change my vr4 brake servo to a new(used) one at kedai potong laa because my brake servo already leak....my problem are...after changing the brake servo to others, during the braking i can hear some air leaking at the servo like "piss....piss" like some air being release at the servo...the sound like air brake lor.... It is normal or my vacum brake already out/leaking?...if leaking i wanna to ask that chop shop to change to another one laa....so far braking still good

what went wrong with ur old servo ? the pedal is hard / stiff ? or spongy ?. u change the servo with the master pump or just the servo it self ?. anyway the piss piss sound its normal i guess , the sound is produce when pumping the brakes .

yeah i change my brake complete pump/servo, last time both are leaking and the pedal become hard....is it normal when i press the pedal very low/half it will also produce leaking air noise..so far the pedal feel like soft but braking are lotr improve

yo guys ,
the standard fuel consumption for the vr4 4wd is 19MPG on city driving and 25MPG on highways , so how you do convert it to litres ?.