4G63T Club

vestax , pvc hose dump into atmosphere, any side effects?

after the workshop connected the radiator fan switch and wiring on, I noticed the check engine light turns on and off now and then. Hmmm... ada problem lagi ke?

ezwong, I read about the oil catch tank but haven't found out what it's used for. Any advantages of using it? What happens when all the oil accumulates in the tank? Do you take it out yourself or is it slurged out automatically?

well i use to have the oil catch tank , but then using the oil catch tank was not good for me cause it build up too much pressure till all the oil from the valve cover leak from the oil cap & my dipstick poped out , so i took out the catch can and dump the pcv to the atmosphere , when using the catch can also it was aready dumping to the atmos , but some how its building lots of pressure in the catch can .

well the pcv valve is something like emission control , dirty and oily air from the valve cover will be dump back to the intake , it makes ur intake oily and your not getting 100% fresh air . so by dumping the pcv out or catching in a can and blocking off the pcv hole , u`ll get cleaner air & not oily vapour .

for "race" spec, normally the 2 holes on the valve cover (1 breather, 1 pcv) are routed to a catch can, and from the catch can, a hose is vented to atmo. the pcv should be modded, or replaced with a normal joint....

vestax, this is exactly the problem I am having right now eventhough all the seals & gaskets have been replaced. So the only way to solve it is to dump the pcv into the atmosphere? Btw, which one is the pcv? How to 'dump' it? do I need to join any extra hose etc?

danny ,
best thing is to check ur pcv and breather like e39a mention , check if they are blocked by dirt or sludge . that might cause oil to leak from the seals or ur dip stick will pop out .

Originally posted by evo-1@May 27 2004, 11:32 PM
don have any recomend for forged piston???? :( :(
out there got many brand of forged piston...tomei....JE....all is good lah , what is ur budget?

vestax, doesn't leak anymore after changing the spark plug seals, but this engine is quite problematic. After oil leaking problem, now it seems that the engine check light always come on and off... what can it be? One of the sensor not working? Also I noticed that sometimes the rev goes up and down up and down during idle and crusing. Any idea what's the fault ?

Today I tried to bring to a wireman who has diagnostic reader for vr4 engines. When he plugged in the reader onto the ecu socket, the reading came up as 'check engine cables'. Acc. to the wireman, it may be that the cables are not connected to the socket or it is wrongly connected.

Danny, u can start checking for connection problem from the air-flow sensor. I used to have that problem of 'check engine ON and OFF' thingy. It's a poor connection culprit. =)

Originally posted by evo-1@May 31 2004, 10:29 PM
my budget id around 2k -3k ...........
em....my friend got one set is TODA, RM3K...86mm .....or u can get JE, JE just Rm2k++ only...but hear that JE are not so good now days...

found out the source of most of the problems. The compression ratio is off & also ignition timing was too advanced. These 2 problems were the culprits of all the major oil leakages.

Darn, hopefully it is just the piston rings...the 2nd cylinder was out.

cant expect much frm a 2k set of forged pistons rite?

compare to other brands at almost double the price :)

how about wiseco ? are they good ?. anyway eclipse saw u at opposite mosin last friday 2 to 3 am . i thought TT aready over ?.

yo guy's ,
the standard clutch is good for how many horse ?. how hard izzit to pump out 30hp extra from the engine ?.

boost 1.5 bar ? hmm i still want to maintain the standard boost 0.6 or either 0.8 and will be changing to 16G big or small i donno , so how many horse would i get out of the 16G with standard boost ? extra 10 to 15hp ?. what about porting the turbo , wastegate & o2 housing ?.