4a-fe

elvin_teoh

Oct 31, 2006
hi all, i m a newbie here, wonder how many series of 4A-FE engines r there??mine juz only 16V 1.6L engine FF type(AE101).... is there anything dat can i modified it to 20V 1.6L engine ???

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
bro,

i also using 4AFE....for tis engine, not much can be done to get extra boostlah...most is also install 4-1 header, open pod filter, racing cam ( 4AFE ONLY ONE CAM, NOT LIKE 4AGE 2 CAMS).......i dun know whether e-manage can fit or notloh...:_: .....usually noobs like me just go for sports air filter, exhaust pipe change (i am using AE92 GT LEVIN ori pipe), some cheapo grounding wires.....the most also extra 5-10 hp onlylah....by the way, our m'sia 4afe can only produce 115hp at 6k rpm, and 142Nm at 4800rpm.....if wan power, go for 4AGE ST/BT......I dun think it is possible to make it 2 liter...

elvin_teoh

Oct 31, 2006
lolz
i oredi got a black bonet, but not carbon...juz plain paint :P

elvin_teoh

Oct 31, 2006
is there anything i can do to inc my 4AFE engine HP(16V n 20V) ???

elvin_teoh

Oct 31, 2006
i afraid dat is not my engine....dat is 4A-FE 20V engine
mine jus 4A-FE 16V engine with 135 HP

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
elvin_teoh said:
i afraid dat is not my engine....dat is 4A-FE 20V engine
mine jus 4A-FE 16V engine with 135 HP
4afe never have any "20v" version. only 4age does. 4afe 135hp? you mod it already ar?

4afe are proven to be able to be able to push over 250hp@10,000rpm, but you'll need to custom made very bit of the internal, run sequencial fuel injection with a motec ecu, dry sump oil system, and probably racing fuel.

fai

May 24, 2004
Wan power? Just add turbo. Me also driving 4AFE. Engine still healthy. So no plan to convert yet. Cheers..

t4kak0

Nov 25, 2005
haha..
here 4afe user also..
erm..1st of all..don bother about power n not power 1st..
for me every engine sure has their good and bad..
4afe is an engine generally for family used cuz it quite save fuel and it only has custom piston,not like 4age sports 1..
if u rev it too often or over de limit,engine oil will spread and u are ready to say bye bye to this engine..hahaha..
elvin teoh..ur 4afe with 135 hp??- -
M'sia version i think it's about 102-105hp only(manual)..
u said u want to fit to 20V 1.6L?yet if u want power go for BT or SVT..
BT can give u +-160bhp if u swap in to ur ae101..svt may less..but i think is enough for ur satisfaction..wan more power..go for 1jz or 3s gte..or gt4..
but got to change mounting and ur whole car fron and back ratio will totally affect..

alantan

Dec 24, 2003
just manage what you can la~

proper tunings and proper oils and proper care...~

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
t4kak0 said:
more power..go for 1jz or 3s gte..or gt4..
you won't find a 1jz that will fit into an ae101 legally..

3sgte is nice, but sit in one before in a corolla, abit front heavy and kinda scarry, but power just nice (stock condition, no need rev kau kau to get power). nice for striaght road sprinting, not so sure about cornering.

gt4 as in convert it to 4wd, yalar same, cuz the one i sit in is converted to celica gt4 drive train liau..

elvin_teoh

Oct 31, 2006
i juz tuned up my engine, n using syntetic oil+ sport type spark plug only...make it more power
anyway, is a car technician who help me

Hi everybody,

Need help.. my car is overheating it's a wira 1.5 carburated engine. Did an overhaul (Full) after white smoke started coming out. Just did it about a week ago. My mechanic says it's the motor oil type I should change from 10sae to a 20 sae or something like that. Everything is fine for about 20 to 30 mins but after that the temperature rises gradually to almost the red line. I've tried flushing the radiator, changing the termostat, changing the hoses, changing the fan but...