2006 China, Shanghai

OIC...driver now simply floor the throttle at corner exit because they don't have to worry bout wheel slip with TC...compare to old time especially when raining...throttle control have to be accurate to drive fast and avoiding spin...that Y niki lauda said once the F1 car now r so simple to drive even monkey can drive
and MSC response maybe monkey can drive but not that fast..

luckily FIA still restricted ABS...if not driver simply floor the pedal...

butthead said:
hahha... old people know cool stuff young people don't... so no reasons to be sad man...

actually ... there is benefits of having traction control... launch control i don't agree... traction control actually helps to let the drivers drive faster.. their TC is not the same we have on our daily cars... they could control the amount of wheel slip on the TC...

last time the teams do not have TC or any electronics that they hide in their control boxes... FIA suspected the drivers using the pit limiter as sort of a TC... then they added a function at the rear light so that when they engage the pit limiter the rear light would be blinking...

The FIA also suspected that the teams can erase the traction control program before their cars go into parc ferme. Does anybody remember E.C.D.S (Electronic Controlled Damping Suspension)? Heard E.C.D.S was banned at the same time as T.C.

what is that?
By the way...may i know all of ur age range?i wonder how u all know all this stuff...it really cool...i start to pay attention of F1 from 96..that time i was only 5th grade..until TV has live coverage of F1 at i think 99?how come u all know so well bout F1?

F1 GP coverage only available on national channels when our country first hosted the GP in 1999.
I also start watching F1 races on tv since 1999.
Classic infos got it from the newspapers and net.

David, Niki Lauda later spun his F1 Jaguar several time on the test track and ever since then, he keep his mouth shut. :biggrin:

SF, yes, that's the rumour in the pit, and the prime suspect is, of course, Ferrari. Ferrari not the fastest car on track most of the time, but shumi can deliver it. The way he attack the corner is very different from others, which I believe that's where the rumours start. Because TC help driver when they turn their steering wheel.

David, I'm 54, I'll retire next year at 55. :biggrin:, you can check with Daniel Lee.

5th grade watching F1?? I watch Thundercat and Carebears only back then
"Sword of Thundera, give me Sight beyond sight" :biggrin:

SemPai...
please point my mistake when there is...
Black samurai, ur 54?i never though my dad is bit younger than U?but he didn't surfing web ofcourse hahaha...
nice can share F1 stuff V u'all

Mayb NIki has a severe hD after his crash at Nurburing...that Y he say things without thinking...
but anyway he was also a legend along side Jackie Steward...Prost..etc
what U'all think bout Alonso team crisis?he said that team doesn't gv 100% for him coz they don't want alonso to take the glory to McLaren next year...

Slipknot Fanatic said:
The FIA also suspected that the teams can erase the traction control program before their cars go into parc ferme. Does anybody remember E.C.D.S (Electronic Controlled Damping Suspension)? Heard E.C.D.S was banned at the same time as T.C.
ECDS? I suppose its the system where the car automatically adjusts its suspension and damping settings according to track conditions. The all conquering Williams Renault in the early 90s had to thank their dominance to this system. When it was banned, Williams were the ones who suffered the most. Also the year Senna died :(. The great man predicted that there would be a lot of accidents happening because of the ban.

David_1211 said:
Mayb NIki has a severe hD after his crash at Nurburing...that Y he say things without thinking...
what U'all think bout Alonso team crisis?he said that team doesn't gv 100% for him coz they don't want alonso to take the glory to McLaren next year...
Unlikely. Renault would want to win the Constructor's Championship again. And this year would be their best chance because they would be weakened next year due to Alonso and Michelin leaving.

thats Y alonso say part of their team happy of Renault 2-3...coz Renault lead in constructor's championship and Alonso lead was taken away by MSC...i oso wondering...Y these thing happen at the last few races...

ECDS things is same as active suspension?it was banned together with TC and ABS...Williams team suffer alot due to their massive $$ thrown into software and hardware research...

David_1211 said:
SemPai...
Black samurai, ur 54?i never though my dad is bit younger than U?but he didn't surfing web ofcourse hahaha...
LOL, i'm kidding about my age. :biggrin:

but I do believe you need to adjust your signature, I'm surfing with 1024 x 768 resolution and I can see only your signature on my screen full and no other info.
It makes other zthian suffer. :biggrin:

Tom posted the standard signature size shall not exist 500 x 150.
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showpost.php?p=378389&postcount=24

how bout this?
OK?man...i believed u when u told me so...^*&^^
should have check ur profile first b4 believeing U..HAH

I only can remember those special moments by Mika. He's such a special driver on the track. Quite rightly said, he's probably one of the best when it comes to starting on the grid. There was one race in Hungary 2000 if not mistaken. He qualified 3rd while Michael and DC qualified 1st and 2nd respectively. When the lights turned green, he just hammered his throttle. Knowing how notoriously difficult overtaking is in Hungary, he started superbly and by the first corner, he already overtook Michael and DC. He went on to win the race in a slim margin while Michael finished closely second.

As for traction control, the FIA knew some drivers were already using it but they could not prove it simply because the teams cleverly hid the system thru some complicated software on the ECU on board the car. One of the suspected teams using it were Ferrari. So to even out the playing ground, FIA introduced traction control.

I say all electronic driver aids should be banned. If they say it'll get dangerous, then don't drive beyond what you can handle. We want to see real driving and real overtaking. We want to see proper drivers manhandling the car to go where they want it too. Not communicate with the car using telepathy and the car does everything else.

si|verfish said:
I say all electronic driver aids should be banned. If they say it'll get dangerous, then don't drive beyond what you can handle. We want to see real driving and real overtaking. We want to see proper drivers manhandling the car to go where they want it too. Not communicate with the car using telepathy and the car does everything else.

This was what the FIA trying to do a few years back when F1 was dominated by Michael.

David_1211 said:
how bout this?
OK?man...i believed u when u told me so...^*&^^
should have check ur profile first b4 believeing U..HAH

David, don't be angry. BS was trying to puzzle your mind only.:_:

si|ver, i think the problem with FIA is, with all latest technology and good programmer out there, FIA can't monitor all those things.

unless FIA hire a team of expert to do version control on the program code? :biggrin:

The FIA and car manufacturers can never come to an understanding. The car manufacturers use Formula 1 as their benchmark to come out with new technology and at the same time improve it as well. I guess this must be one of the reasons why the car manufacturers want to have more control in Formula 1.

David_1211 said:
OIC...driver now simply floor the throttle at corner exit because they don't have to worry bout wheel slip with TC...compare to old time especially when raining...throttle control have to be accurate to drive fast and avoiding spin...that Y niki lauda said once the F1 car now r so simple to drive even monkey can drive
and MSC response maybe monkey can drive but not that fast..

luckily FIA still restricted ABS...if not driver simply floor the pedal...

hahah... you won't believe the accusations older drivers make about todays car...

Jackie also said that the drivers today are un-gentleman...and have no respect for safety... heck... now not only drivers are at risk... even the marshalls are...and later who knows wat later... the spectators maybe...

TC not only let the driver floor the throttle... they allow them to actually control the tyre slippage to a fine line so they can actually have the rear end slide a slight amount out when exiting turns.. allowing them to pull straight the car before the exit and throttle earlier..that is what i think...

even with todays technology like the 7 speed Sequentials, 80ms upshift times and Ferraris nearly fully carbon transmission case... still Schumi has to stab his throttle when he downshit to aid and speed up the downshifts...i noticed that Renault driver does not... maybe something advance or new...

and not to forget... MSC had a big role in pushing the safety in F1 for the pass years... he is quite a big contributor i might say...

Slipknot Fanatic said:

that was adaptive damping... they were able to control the damping so the car does not roll to any side... virtually no roll..said that this does not affect the aerodynamics..

BlackSamurai said:
SF, yes, that's the rumour in the pit, and the prime suspect is, of course, Ferrari. Ferrari not the fastest car on track most of the time, but shumi can deliver it. The way he attack the corner is very different from others, which I believe that's where the rumours start. Because TC help driver when they turn their steering wheel.

i noticed MSC drives in a way that he trail brakes into the corners and control his throttle all the way through..compared to other drivers who will brake early, get the car straght and nail the throttle out of the turn...

David_1211 said:
SemPai...

thats why i say... talk to old people... they know cool stuff you don't

David_1211 said:

yeah.. it is expected.. it is like eddie irvine in 99 or 2000... he said Ferrrari did not give him full support when he was chasing the title and MSC was away hurt in the Silverstone crash...

si|verfish said:

easier said than done... 1 or 2 years back...some drivers said that F1 cars nowadays have too much power and are way too fast.. some other are wanting more power and grip and downforce...it is whether the driver wants to push their own limits

BlackSamurai said:
si|ver, i think the problem with FIA is, with all latest technology and good programmer out there, FIA can't monitor all those things.

unless FIA hire a team of expert to do version control on the program code? :biggrin:

i think FIA did mentioned that they were thinking of using a standard control box for all teams like the standard 4 bar limit top off valve during the turbo era...

but it was not feasible as i think their data channel encryption was also on the control boxes...

i noticed MSC drives in a way that he trail brakes into the corners and control his throttle all the way through..compared to other drivers who will brake early, get the car straght and nail the throttle out of the turn...
and he rev few times with brake on at the corner, I don't know the effect of doing that, but as I know, Kimi and Alonso don't do that. Maybe someone at here can give some technical bit?