1piece,2piece or 3piece?

chicdeals

HELP!somebody can explain to me bout wat is the different between 1pcs,2pcs and 3pcs rim,which one is better?Coz i just buy 1 set 18" 3 piece to fit my Toyota Mark2,and i heard somebody said tat 2piece or 3piece rim easy to bengkok,izzit the facts?

wow..... 18' rim in a mark II. can i see the pic of your car? i am interesting on it. what is your tyre size, width n rims offset? n do u add on spacer on it? thanks...
back to the topic, i am also not so sure about it too.....

the 1,2,3 piece design rims are actually the same thing...its a rim.:_: its just the design.

Sorry bro.Dun have any pic,i just bought it from a Uncle,it still in all original condition,and the rim is: F:18x8 offset 36 R:18x9 offset 36......still dun have tires 2 wrap it.....waiting for 1JZ manual halfcut.....

chicdeals said:
HELP!somebody can explain to me bout wat is the different between 1pcs,2pcs and 3pcs rim,which one is better?Coz i just buy 1 set 18" 3 piece to fit my Toyota Mark2,and i heard somebody said tat 2piece or 3piece rim easy to bengkok,izzit the facts?
someone obviously tell you wrong story.
2/3 piece are usually harder and more light weight compare with 1 piece rim

Saw a White Toyota MarkX with dual exhaust original fitted at bumper, cool
http://tuuhannavigator.hp.infoseek.co.jp/markx-02.jpg

mynnDAWG, which 2pc/3pc rim are your referring to?
my 2 pc is lighter.

So far i didn't see any replacement part available in malaysia, anyone selling it? mind sharing the location or shop?

the probability of kena bengkok of the rim has little to do with 1, 2 or 3 piece of rim type. The most important to consider is the grade/material used for the rim, not the number of pieces that make up a rim.

Thanks a lot,every bro. here,yup,really dun have any replacement part can found in malaysia,it's the thing i worry for,but i think the 2pcs or 3 pcs rim is more "chun
" than others ,izzit?

some infomation about OZ 3 piece rim

assembly.jpg

While an elite look is key and often what drives an investment in 3-piece wheels, O.Z. approach to produce technically correct wheel components is what truly justifies this investment. Know what makes your custom 3-piece wheels the high tech choice that they are.

O.Z. 3-piece wheel components - wheel center, inner rim section and outer rim section - are produced in the same facility, with the same machinery, and using the same technology as F1 race wheels. These components make up the foundation of a quality, custom 3-piece wheel program. Rim diameters are available in 18", 19", 20", and 22" with inner rim widths of 5.5" to 9.5" and outer rim widths of 1" to 4" possible.

Precise wheel assembly is performed at The Tire Rack using an exacting process that maintains and enhances the structural integrity originally built into each individual wheel component. O.Z. supplies a proprietary titanium fastener specific to its 3-piece wheels to ensure the highest level of structural integrity. Titanium bolts alone do not guarantee a properly assembled wheel and tightening these fasteners by hand, or using ordinary power tools, does not result in repeatable torque accuracy. Thus, The Tire Rack uses a factory-certified Ingersoll Rand DC Electric Fastening System to tighten O.Z.'s proprietary fasteners. The assembly torque of these critical titanium fasteners is controlled and repeatable to less than 1/2%. The Tire Rack's fastening system produces traceable measurements of torque to spec every time. In fact, wheels custom-assembled at The Tire Rack are shipped with a computerized print out that shows in detail the settings used to assemble each wheel. Proper torque (fasteners tightened to spec so they won't break or loosen) and run-out (radial and lateral roundness for vibration-free rides) are recorded.

assembly_all.jpg

Once assembled, each O.Z. 3-piece wheel gets a unique serial number noted on a sticker placed on the inside of the wheel near the valve stem.

So the next time you see an O.Z. 3-piece wheel, it's okay if you show a little respect and do some staring. These are wheels of distinction.

Thanks Blacksamurai!
speedlover:my mark2 model is GX81, u know,something like the airport limousine.
simonchangwaimun:ya,still finding tire,its quite diff. to find.

i believe the main objective of having multiple piece rim design is not for part replacement.

reason behind

1. None of the shop selling 1, 2 , 3 "biji" of rim, but a set of 4 (i'm not talking about 2nd hand rim exchange or trading). Hence I don't expect ppl go even further to sell "piece" of rim (even in japan). it just doesn't make sense, in economic skale, no 1 will stock up "part" for rim, and they don't sell you partial of the set.
(i hope that someone can proof me wrong here)

2. if your outter rim get badly damage for example (choi), how good is other part (inner rim & wheel center) of the rim sustain and in good condition? Do not forget all pieces are tiden by the same set of screw.

i ask the mechanic who repair rims tat day,and he told me:1 piece rim is more hard but it will broke and cant repair again,wat is the different is 2,3 piece rim easy to damage but it wont broke,and u just need to repair repair and repair,and the rim will follow u whole life......izzit true?i dun know...

Thanks Ken Yeang,it's really useful 2 me.........and some question again:izzit JZX90chaser halfcut suitable convert 2 my GX81 mark II?izzit the frame is same?

Chicdeals,

Oopps, me no sifu of engines. Try post your question in Engine section. Ppl there can be more helpful.....

chicdeals said:
i ask the mechanic who repair rims tat day,and he told me:1 piece rim is more hard but it will broke and cant repair again,wat is the different is 2,3 piece rim easy to damage but it wont broke,and u just need to repair repair and repair,and the rim will follow u whole life......izzit true?i dun know...
chicdeals, i seriously wanna find out which mech give you that info, did the mech ever repair a volk racing 2/3 piece rim? It's pain of ass to repair that because it's so god damn hard.

and again, it's all depends on the brand/model/price.
1 piece JRD (buatan Malaysia) hard? NO
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=9144

VOLK TE37 1 piece hard? YES, and the price of 1 set 18" TE37, RM9998