question regarding e-crossover and pre amp

HyperDash

to all sifus,newbie here..few questions..

1)i think thr are differences between e-crossover and pre amp rite?wat are the major differences?in a setup,tis 2 comes together?or not necessary?
2)how do u connect if u have both the items in ur setup?
3)any e-crossover will do?cuz i heard lk some e-crossover..not worth u payin although it costs bout few hundreds..so any advice on this?
4)if i`m planning to get a crossover,any recommendations?in term of budget..if i got low budget,do i still got for cheap e-crossover?or get good quality wan?

i guess tat`s all i have for now..thx..

and if any1 could help to explain..where to learn tuning?

electronic crossover is used to divide the full range signal from the HU to the proper channels on the amp that powers the proper speakers. ie. high signal to channel 1&2 to tweeters. mid to ch 3&4 to mids. and low sound to ch 5&6 to the sub. of coz this is example of 3way active setup. if u have 2 way only u need fronts & sub (low & high)

pre amp depends what type u get, usually is equiliser, then it is ok quite useful in tuning, however cheap EQs usually have lousy components inside that only induce noise into the system, better off without. some HUs have inbuilt eq, might as well use that. the eq goes after HU and before e-xover.

in term of good SQ,necessary to get an e-cross?if yes,then wat are d recommended brand?and where can actually learn tuning in ICE?any website?links? thx

There'll be an ICE TT at Kinrara Curry House, behind the BP Station along Jalan Kuchai Lama, this coming Friday night.
I am sure all your questions will be answered there, plus you get to audition some systems of various budgets.
Don't be shy, just join them. They are just a bunch of very friendly ICE fanatics, including myself.

wat time is the tt?
may i know where is bp along jln kucai lama?? izit beside the esso??
i stay near kucai lama but long time never pass by that road so forgotten :)

To answer some of your questions, go to bcae1.com. It is supposed to be a site about basic car audio electronics. Have fun :)

thx..but is thr any website where can learn about tuning?lk how exactly u tune ur amp,x over,HU? thx :)

and also how do i noe tat from my setup,i wont get my amp burn and also blow my speakers?

If I am not mistaken, the site also tells you that...
It even has steps to tune using an RTA.

so in term of SQ..necessary to get crossover?is kicker crossover reliable? thx

I only know afew very good 3ways XO but sorry kicker not in my list...

a) Macrom 48.13
b) Orion CS.1
c) Tru F1 or F2
d) Mcintosh MEN455 or 456

Dont like XS series (refer to analog) coz is not variable but Module Programmable Crossover Frequency
& Programmable Frequency Match (PFM)..

oldskolboyz,
thx for the info..another thing,which shop would u recommend to buy ICE items?and which shop can i find those crossovers?my area in Puchong..is thr any shop in Puchong,do u noe? thx

I just know afew place laa..

a) CS-1 u can get at Acc Shop beside Tawakal Hospital, Jln Genting Klang, Setapak.. price stated >RM1K
b) Macrom 48.13, got 2 version Grey (older) or Black (new)
i) Black version can ask louisl, he put on sale now in gr8Tunes.net, just use ii) Grey version my frend got 1, new & never use .. price RM750
c) Tru, try contact mnkh27 if he can get for U laa or survey at ACP shop heard they still have afew F-1B left
d) Mc MEN456, look mcphile he got 1 right now cost RM3.6K mycarhifi.com

thx bro for the information :)
but not so soon la..now no budget yet..jz wana survey which are recommended crossovers.. :)