different between bhp,hp and torque

hai every one..i just wonder whats d difference btwn bhp,hp and torque.....is it effect on top speed?and can i increase my torque? :itsme:

torque is can roughly be described as the cars acceleration lah in like street terms
torque in the long run produces bhp
and bhp in the long run means higher top speed and better track times(not always coz of other issues such as handling etc)

if im not mistaken:
BHP : a) brake horsepower, numbers taken from an engine dyno / flywheel horsepower..
b) a petrol station name :hmmmm:

HP : horsepower rating usually taken from the wheel ( BHP minus the hp loss in transmission and other moving parts caused by friction)
a.k.a wheel horsepower..

TORQUE : in layman's term, its twisting power..

if u want higher top speed, u need to gain horsepower, coz u'll need the power to maintain your speed..

increase torque? turbo lah hehehe <-- noob answer

is that any diference between petrol car torque and diesel car torque?

Ford focus specifications shows that is has 134 horsepower and 320Nm of torque generated by the 2.0L diesel turbo engine. Please advice.

there isnt any different because the unit is the same, 134hp=134hp, for diesel or torque sir. the difference is how 1. they are delivered 2. what rpm both peak at

a diesel usually peaks its torque from low to mid, so it pulls better there compared to a petrol dat peaks its power at the end of the revv. a 320Nm at the earlier part of the revv may be able to pull heavy load ie trailer better, compared to the petrol of the same peak torque value but located at the end of the revv range. in fact, dat petrol version may not be able to pull a load dat the diesel can

i prefer torque btw, so a diesel turbo for me please..

there isnt any different because the unit is the same, 134hp=134hp, for diesel or torque sir. the difference is how 1. they are delivered 2. what rpm both peak at

a diesel usually peaks its torque from low to mid, so it pulls better there compared to a petrol dat peaks its power at the end of the revv. a 320Nm at the earlier part of the revv may be able to pull heavy load ie trailer better, compared to the petrol of the same peak torque value but located at the end of the revv range. in fact, dat petrol version may not be able to pull a load dat the diesel can

me too love torqueier engine
and even more chun if two wheel drive then confirm wheelspin and smokes everywhere when u launch from traffic lights heeheh :biggrin:
but make sure got enough $$$ for tayar shop

wow great topic.. mind if someone shed some light on power to weight ratio concept.. in relation to bhp/hp/torque??

its just logical sir, a car dat has a bigger power to weight ratio accelerates better then those with lower numbers in the respective matter, if only dat particular car can transmit sufficient traction to the ground. there are a number of reasons on y the veyron has a "mere" power to weight ratio compared to sum other supercars, but accelerates faster and have the top of the line top speed. it needs d weight to sustain stability and to stay planted on the ground, and using an engine delivered down from heavens (no, iam kidding sir..) producing power / torque dat is able to split the earth into two (iam exaggerating again sir..) allowing it to overcome d weight issue and do the century dash nearly under 2 seconds.

phew!!! iam usually worked up when discussing about the best car in the universe, seriously!!! thinking about all those aircraft technologies in a car gives me goose bumps,wowowowo

Diesel engines are not meant for high revving so peak torque is always at very low revs. If you need to haul heavy load...you will benefit from a engine with good torque at low revs because torque is the twisting power of an engine to overcome inertia or friction. HP is the power to keep things moving.

Thanks bro.. so that ford focus have near same torque as an evo?? 3++Nm...

the pull depends on how the torque is delivered and where it peaks out, different curve pull different fyi

if im not mistaken, the diesel achieve higher torque due to the high compression .. right?
if the same comp ratio is applied to petrol engines, habislah! hehehe

the lowest in compression in a diesel, is like 20-ish sir, even dat wira diesel is running 22, lol. a petrol engine cant survive dat high a static comp kot, 13cr pun dah pinging like crazy, with conventional fuel of course..

*a good read up article here....pls do spend some time understand it....it worth to read! :adore:

part1: http://autospeed.com/A_108647/cms/article.html

part2: http://autospeed.com/cms/A_108648/article.html

another article>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_2099/article.html

additional reading>> http://autospeed.com/cms/A_110479/article.html

and some important factor>> http://autospeed.com/A_108704/cms/article.html

*u also could fine other article that might be usefull to many of us here..feel free to surf that site... :adore:

Diesel engine have higher CR is because diesel is harder to ignite compare to petrol plus the design of the piston of diesel is different than petrol. If you see, the top part of a diesel piston will have a small dug in chamber. Called pre-combustion chamber.

For petrol, air and fuel is mixed then is ignited by a spark. While a diesel is not, it sucks in air then it compresses the air while the diesel is injected via a high pressure injector and is then ignited by the hot air inside the CC.

So therefore, if a diesel engine has a CR like petrol engine the diesel will not burn properly.
The adding of turbo to diesel is to increase it's engine's fuel efficiency, power and torque.

so its true that bcoz of the high comp ratio, it produces higher torque compared to a similar cc petrol engine? pity our gov is slow in bringing in newer diesels to our shores.. lots of new diesel cars out there.. haiz...