different between big and small vtec

Small Vtec = 1st gen B16A, which is loaded in CRX EF8, Civic EF9 & Integra DA series
Engine output is 160ps.

Big Vtec = 2nd gen B16A, which is loaded into EG series, EK & 3rd Gen CRX
Engine output is 170ps.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

vtec kecik = D16/B16
VTEC BESAR = B18/K20
vtec cerdik = i-vtec :rofl:

how sure r u with ur answer??

Small Vtec = 1st gen B16A, which is loaded in CRX EF8, Civic EF9 & Integra DA series
Engine output is 160ps.

Engine output is 170ps.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

how about b16a2 which was rate at 160ps too? or b16a2 also got 170ps...usdm,adm,sdm use b16a2, i've read somewhere bout b16a2..but i'm not so sure...if i'm going to buy a halfcut i would definitely go for EG model and above which use b16a but not b16a2 on EG and above

Malaysians simply call VTEC big or small... but who knows if this person's " Big " is the same as another person's "Big"?

i wonder if only we malaysian use this Big V and Small V term..how bout overseas ppl..do they use this term too

i've do some research on VTEC engine for quite awhile,
based on my experience on VTEC technology engine,
it is true that the big VTEC has bigger VTEC letter then the dohc letter,
and vice versa for the small VTEC, it has smaller VTEC later then the dohc.
example; dohc VTEC on big VTEC
DOHC vtec on the small VTEC.
and there's one more differences between big and small VTEC,
i'm sure you guys are familiar with toyota's vvt-i engine technologies,
vvt-i is only variable at the intake valve.
unless its a twin vvt-i, then the variable valve timing is on the both camshaft.
so the small VTEC is something similar to vvt-i,
the VTEC is only on the intake side of camshaft,
and the big VTEC works similarly like the twin vvt-i,
Big VTEC works on the both of the camshaft,
so obviously the small VTEC will produce lesser power and torque then the big VTEC.
but most of the mechanical stuff are much all the same.

so this is so far my research on VTEC engine,
you guy's please correct me if i'm wrong,
i'm willing to learn.
thank you.

Not quite true bro.... Both VTEC kecik and besar have VTEC on both intake and exhaust cam. As mentioned already here, VTEC kecik is the first generation of B-series engines (B16A) on EFs and Tegs DA. VTEC besar is on the second generation of B-series engines (B16A2 and B16B). Naturally, honda would have made improvements to the latter giving it more argressive cams and a few other things i cant quite remember, giving it more powerrrr.... head covers can easily be changed, one of the easiest ways to diferentiate the two is VTEC kecik works with 2 o2 sensors on the exhaust, VTEC besar works with only 1...

To ALL,
Y r u all nak pening2? This term is applied only in Malaysia!!...all fo ur explaination sum r rite n sum r wrong..vtec kecik..kecik laah x kira la 1st gen vtec ka,single cam vtec ka...... big v, Dohc vtec ka, type r ka...let us use te rite term..1st gen vtec, 2nd gen vtec..this shud be the rite term..aiyo..dun la argue about this vtec kecik or vtec besar..ITS VERY SUBJECTIVE!!! n the enginner of honda dgr also pening!! they nvr use this term..hahahahahaha!! so the term let it be..no use argue..From what i noe he ask..what is the difference of vtec besar n vtec kecik..Hmmmm ask him to google....sure xdak!! ada pun in bahsa malaysia with xplaination sum r rite sum r pure bull~..if he google what is 1st gen vtec and 2nd gen vtec..sure BYK HARAM...

as simple as A.B.C..happy learning....:smokin:

Bump: To ALL,
Y r u all nak pening2? This term is applied only in Malaysia!!...all fo ur explaination sum r rite n sum r wrong..vtec kecik..kecik laah x kira la 1st gen vtec ka,single cam vtec ka...... big v, Dohc vtec ka, type r ka...let us use te rite term..1st gen vtec, 2nd gen vtec..this shud be the rite term..aiyo..dun la argue about this vtec kecik or vtec besar..ITS VERY SUBJECTIVE!!! n the enginner of honda dgr also pening!! they nvr use this term..hahahahahaha!! so the term let it be..no use argue..From what i noe he ask..what is the difference of vtec besar n vtec kecik..Hmmmm ask him to google....sure xdak!! ada pun in bahsa malaysia with xplaination sum r rite sum r pure bull~..if he google what is 1st gen vtec and 2nd gen vtec..sure BYK HARAM...

as simple as A.B.C..happy learning....:smokin:

thanks minivan and boyzone for the extra information,
but im pretty sure that the small VTEC only has a variable cam on the intake side.
because i fix a lot of VTEC's engine in my hometown.
but im not really sure is that the only differences between those 2.
boyzone, u nailed it right man..
Engine output is 160ps.

Engine output is 170ps.
thank u very much for sharing info bro..

and one more thing, B16A with some number at the end (example 1,2)
is from another domestic market right?
the JDM B16A is without number if im not mistaken.

still no one answering what makes it different of horsepower and torque between the 1st gen and 2nd gen:banghead:

Better understanding

Honda B engine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Btw, with the same engine, output might be different due to petrol grade from the country related.
example:

B16A in Japan, running with RON100, engine output =170ps.
B16A in US, running with RON92, ignition and compression rate are retread.
So, will caused engine output reduce to 150ps.

Hope can help.

wondering what is the tech in 2nd gen that makes the extra 10hp, exp: 3 angle valve seat, higher lift cam, different inlet manifold, different ecu....? need more detail, thanks

that really helps a lot bro hehe nice info....keep on doing research can get xtra input :wavey: