What is the best plug for BT engine? Iridium or Platinum?

Ceffy_999

Elo. Want to know what is the best plug for BT engine? Iridium or Platinum & which reading is the best for track use?

iridium is the best..if u look the what chart i forgot, iridium is the best, platinum second.. i prefer denso iridium(a bit pricy than bosch n ngk) ik22..u'll feel the difference, its my experiencela..dun shoot me if u dont feel anything hehe.

Means the Iridium code for this plug is IK22. Right? How much would it be for 4 pcs?

actually the code is depend on stnadard engine or modified engine, which parts been modified, how serious been modified,

for my case, initially i used ik22, later then i reliased that it must be cooler, thus i changed to ik24, i have yet to check ik24 is suitable for my engine or not,

however, a frz found ik27 is just nice for his BT

as conclude, ik22 or 24 or what, is vary from engine, u need to try it for certian period of time...
just my 2 cent

actually the code is depend on stnadard engine or modified engine, which parts been modified, how serious been modified,

for my case, initially i used ik22, later then i reliased that it must be cooler, thus i changed to ik24, i have yet to check ik24 is suitable for my engine or not,

however, a frz found ik27 is just nice for his BT

as conclude, ik22 or 24 or what, is vary from engine, u need to try it for certian period of time...
just my 2 cent

Your friend that use IK27 for his BT, is his BT engine stock or been modify already?

I think IK20 should be best suited for stock BT 20V, if you are looking at iridium plugs. IK22 will have some cold start issues and jerking, but should be ok once the engine is in operating temp.

Or you can also go with the OEM recommended spark plug NGK BKR6EP-11 (platinum).

I wrote something earlier about plugs.
Toyota OEM uses NGK but the TRD uses ND.
NGK has more variety--JIS and European standards;resistor(What the R stands for) and different thread length.
IK27 is great if you are running in the 7000+rpm range however you may have cold start problems.
NGK 6 is roughly equivalent to ND 20

cold start problem may vary from different car, and depend on wheather (ie low temp in raining morning), frz using ik27 yet to facing the cold start problem, touch wood...

to find the suitable plug, ik20 or ik24 or higher, depend on your driving styling as what 1JZtezza saying is right, always high rev need cooler plug...

manual said ik20 for stock BT, if car had been modified, and you got heavy right foot, then pls verify the existing plug condition before decide to change to cooler plug..

GUys,
how bout spark plug cable?
need to change or just leave it after put iridium/platinium spark plug.
Which brand is d best for stok bt

Personally the best plug i used so far is NGK BKR6EVX Platinum,but i dont know can find this or not coz the last time i used it is 6 years ago.

not by any means against u but are u sure iridium is the best?
in terms of what? conductivity? reliability? price?
imo, iridium is popular because of the "cheap" price and it can last longer
why i said this, is because iridium actually not as good as you guys think
its not a good electrical conductivity.. hell even gold is better than iridium
but who would use Gold spark plugs right? :rofl:
so they opt with another alternative and its SILVER
search for it. wiki, google or whatever. see where iridium stands in electrical conductivity
btw, leave platinum alone. it doesn't stand a chance at all :thefinger:
there are pros and cons to every material.
silver gives the best conductivity but wont last longer than iri/plat/etc..
but since TS build for track use, u guys should get the picture which is the best

dear bro wsukun

for your information,
the iridium plug dont last longer than other, its life span is 20,000km (DENSO)
i cant recall which type of NGK Iridium, it claimed that long life span which is up to 40,000km

since ppl willing to use iridium, pls check the condition of plug after 20k km..

search for it. wiki, google or whatever. see where iridium stands in electrical conductivity
but since TS build for track use, u guys should get the picture which is the best

Iridium is only good for it's durability but not conductivity. Compare conductivity, platinum is much more better but of course the best is silver.

Its not so much about conductivity but resistance to corrosion and melting point.Iridium and platinum has twice the melting points of gold,silver or copper(silver the lowest).What good is the plug when the centre electrode is melted???

so, if there is any brand of spark plugs produce the silver 1?

yeah. the infamous Nology. i buy a set (4x) from http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...rical-and-thermal-conductor-of-any-metal.html
it cost me RM240 something back few months. now i have no idea. contact that seller. he's a trusted and reliable seller.

---------- Post added at 03:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:07 PM ----------

Its not so much about conductivity but resistance to corrosion and melting point.Iridium and platinum has twice the melting points of gold,silver or copper(silver the lowest).What good is the plug when the centre electrode is melted???

TS is searching for "track use" purpose kinda performance part.

nevermind bro, i also still learning and learning.. i forgot in term of what.. i saw on the denso pack. i'll check again. sori for the wrong fact.:banghead:

http://www.pulstarpulseplugs.com/
anyone got this plugs? Pulstar Pulse seems to pack a punch (so they claim)