Rear seat belt rule?

drill

An article from Utusan Malaysia website. I dont think its wise enuff...they are looking at the new models only. does this means we cant use old cars anymore to carry people behind? or we need to punch holes to the car body in order to fix in a rear seat belt? If that so, might as well they give tolerence to change the engine mounting. Read thru.... and give ur 2 cents....
(sorry its in malay)

Penumpang belakang dicadang wajib pakai tali keledar

PUTRAJAYA 30 Nov. - Jabatan Keselamatan Jalan Raya (JKJR) akan mencadangkan kepada Jawatankuasa Kabinet Mengenai Keselamatan Jalan Raya supaya mempertimbang untuk mewajibkan pemakaian tali pinggang keledar bagi penumpang tempat duduk belakang kenderaan, kata Ketua Pengarahnya Datuk Suret Singh.
Beliau berkata, cadangan itu akan dibuat berdasarkan kajian Institut Penyelidikan Keselamatan Jalan Raya (Miros) baru-baru ini bahawa pemakaian tali pinggang keledar bagi penumpang tempat duduk belakang dapat mengurangkan risiko kecederaan jika berlaku kemalangan.
Kajian Miros itu akan turut dibentangkan pada mesyuarat jawatankuasa kabinet berkenaan yang akan datang, katanya pada sidang akhbar di sini hari ini.
Beliau berkata, cadangan JKJR itu juga sejajar dengan usaha kerajaan yang mahu memastikan penurunan kadar kemalangan jalan raya.
“Pelaksanaannya tidak menjadi masalah kerana ia hanya perlu pindaan kecil kepada Peraturan Tali Pinggang Keledar di bawah Akta Pengangkutan Jalan dan tidak perlu di bawa ke Parlimen kerana ia di bawah bidang kuasa Kementerian Pengangkutan,” katanya.
Suret Singh berkata, JKJR dalam masa yang sama akan mempertingkat lagi kempen pemakaian tali pinggang keledar untuk penumpang tempat duduk belakang.
“Kami mahu mewujudkan satu kesedaran di kalangan orang ramai bahawa pemakaian tali pinggang keledar untuk penumpang tempat duduk belakang adalah perlu bagi keselamatan diri,” katanya.
Sementara itu, Ketua Pengarah Miros, Prof Dr Radin Umar Radin Sohadi yang turut hadir berkata, kajian Miros itu menunjukkan bahawa 95 peratus kenderaan di negara ini sudah mempunyai tali pinggang keledar untuk penumpang tempat duduk belakang.
- Bernama

well, if you ask me, it's a good idea. y not? it's for the safety of all passengers in the car if accident do occur.

agree but most ppl hide the rear seat belt under the seat like me...
maybe next year wil start utilize it:)

I second bro Spykey., bcoz usually children will fill the back seat.

My bros...I think i need to share this with you guys..
My only advise is to follow this rule when you have an adult or a big sized child occupying the rear seats even before this being implement..Its more for the driver's safety actually..

During the last Deepavali, I've witnessed an accident which killed the driver on the spot at Federal Hway in Shah Alam somewhere after SIRIM heading towards KL..A white Proton with Mitsu engine (dunno what code) was speeding and lose control of the car hitting the center steel barrier together with a lamp post in the process...
4 of the pax came out except for the driver..As I proceed to the driver and was about to assess his condition, I saw that his forehead was flat and there was a hole with size smaller than a fist on the left part of his forehead..and the 'content' was splattered all over the dashboard...Nuff said..
I can't stop figure it out as why the driver was pinned between his seat and the steering wheel..At first i thought bcoz this person using an 'Ayam Brand' seat Recaro, maybe that's one of the reason..But the next day after watching the ad on TV about rear seatbelt (where these bunch of youngsters act as if they never sat in a car before) , it was exactly like what happened to that accident..His seat was folded to the front (in a position like a two doors car wanna let the rear pax out)
Well actually it was the lamp post that lashed back after being knocked and cracked open the skull judging from the dent next to the A-pillar right above the driver's head, but MAYBE, just MAYBE, he would've survived the crash if not bcoz of the rear pax that pushed him to the front..And if only he puts on his seatbelt of coz..

Whatever it is, do strap yourself and the one behind you aiight?..:driver:

-cheers-

Sikes. I took out my rear seat belt of my satria already la. sigh. Have to put it back if the rules are enforced. If they want to focus on safety, then they should make it legal to install roll cage in cars, but of course, a toned down version of roll cage. hahaha

i dont know la... if im not mistaken, japanese people also dont wear rear seatbelt. this is too much of a rule for a people like malaysia to obey. we even throw garbage everywhere, so much of campaign. japanese people who drive in malaysia when they come back to japan drive very dangerously because there are used to malaysia style of driving. then again only by putting regulation like this can we change the attitude of malaysian. anyway, my sister should wear the rear seatbelt when im driving to see cinema today. wear ur rear seatbelt!!!

frens, it seems that the rule is actually t help us to reduce accident injuries. I aggree as most modern car rear seat belt. But what if for cases old old cars which does not have the rear seatbelt? Do we need to punch holes to the body to install the seatbelt? Well maybe its just a small screw hole....but still how effective is it?

Well maybe thats the reason the government dont implement it right away, they just want to stir debate of this matter to see everybody opinion on this. Im sure there still studying regarding this matter. To me, if they want to implement this rule, they must either make rules to not use old car or either make it compulsary for all newly owned car(used or new) to have rear seatbelt. To impose it on an old vehicle drived by kampung people will burden them further. Better tell the motorist at kampung road to wear helmet, damn scary when driving at kampung. If hit them, with no helmet on, their head...

Very good idea but my old junk dun have rear seat belt la:hmmmm: have to waste money liao lo... KNN them...too free until can think such thing and think those thing just to waste our money onli...KNN:mad:
If they dun want us to have danger on the road.. ask them to set all the new car to 60km/h fuel cut la... then it will be very very safe thus lisence want to take... set it to very very hard and no kopi-o...

Satria...
Fully agreed with u... next time new car come out compulsory need to have cage bar inside the car....so.. the car will look like cage inside the zoo and we will like monkey sitting the car...KNN them...
infact a lot of old car also dun have what...

hehe...been thinking bout it for the whole week(like i have nothing else to do)... maybe im going to take out my rear seat...since my car is already 2 doors car...but i wonder if i do that oso kena tahan with the cops... few years back a fren oso took out his rear seat. he was ask to pull aside and have to pay duit kopi for that...they said its an offence...i wonder is there any clause saying a passenger car must have rear seat.

My bros...I think i need to share this with you guys..
My only advise is to follow this rule when you have an adult or a big sized child occupying the rear seats even before this being implement..Its more for the driver's safety actually..

During the last Deepavali, I've witnessed an accident which killed the driver on the spot at Federal Hway in Shah Alam somewhere after SIRIM heading towards KL..A white Proton with Mitsu engine (dunno what code) was speeding and lose control of the car hitting the center steel barrier together with a lamp post in the process...
4 of the pax came out except for the driver..As I proceed to the driver and was about to assess his condition, I saw that his forehead was flat and there was a hole with size smaller than a fist on the left part of his forehead..and the 'content' was splattered all over the dashboard...Nuff said..
I can't stop figure it out as why the driver was pinned between his seat and the steering wheel..At first i thought bcoz this person using an 'Ayam Brand' seat Recaro, maybe that's one of the reason..But the next day after watching the ad on TV about rear seatbelt (where these bunch of youngsters act as if they never sat in a car before) , it was exactly like what happened to that accident..His seat was folded to the front (in a position like a two doors car wanna let the rear pax out)
Well actually it was the lamp post that lashed back after being knocked and cracked open the skull judging from the dent next to the A-pillar right above the driver's head, but MAYBE, just MAYBE, he would've survived the crash if not bcoz of the rear pax that pushed him to the front..And if only he puts on his seatbelt of coz..

Whatever it is, do strap yourself and the one behind you aiight?..:driver:

-cheers-

aiyah... i wuz there that nite...saw many ppl crowded.... lamp post fall down bengkok..... but i didn't stop...coz dun wanna ganggu trafik.... it was a proton saga i think can't remember......

But anyways...in europe, it is illegal for passenger in the back NOT wearing any seat belt...u can be fined.... so i think iz good if the goverment impose this rule..... ada airbag pun tarak guna impact from behind at high velocity (a person + ur car seat) can still break ur neck/spine u know.....

have u guys seen me sitting at the back of a waja, stripping myself with the safety belt?

its just stupid. cant move at all.

how about fitting all cars with air bags? i mean at the back of drivers' seat. or both front seat? so that the back passenger has the bags to fall on if anything instantly happen.

anyone wanna do Ph.D thesis, then I already gave u the idea.

hahhaahhaahahahah

How many of you get into the front seats, strap on, and ACTUALLY think about that seat belt for the rest of the journey ?

Chances are most of us don't even notice the belts because we are so used to getting strapped-in at the front.

I don't see any reason why people ought to complain if rear seat passengers are required to strap in. People are so pre-programmed towards a certain habit they tend to consider it as an inconvenience instead of logically thinking it as a betterment to safety. As a passenger, I strap in all the time irrespective whether I'm at the front or rear.

The only times it can be an inconvenience is probably in cars such as the Gen 2 where there is a problem with rear seat headroom, but that is really a car design problem and nothing to do with the issue under discussion.

Not need to say Europe. Even in Singapore, u need to strap on the rear seat belt in a taxi too. Australia also have this rule enforce.

Children below 7 years old must sit on a child seat and strap on. Not like in Malaysia, children climb here and there inside the car.

If they want to focus on safety, then they should make it legal to install roll cage in cars

lol....are you serious??!?

Heads will break and necks will snap before the bars bend in an event of an accident. Guess why race cars drivers wear a helmet and are strapped down?

Dont tell me a padded cage helps. Do have a friend apply some padding on a baseball bat and swing it to your face.

Moreover, it'd be a hindrance in a modern car with multiple airbags (curtain airbags, seat airbags, rear passenger airbags...).

After reading this.. ill make it necessary for rear passenger to wear seatbelt in my car whenever im on a road..which enable my car to reach more than 80kmh.

err..
just would like to share out my opinion.
1st, since rear seatbelt was not new in other country, why recently only Gov enforce us to wear? are we abit slow?
From here, what would I like to highlight is up to now, some of the new car still not ready with rear seatbelt like Kelisa, Kancil and some of the economy package new car. Is it really not fair for those buyer.
2nd, Driving attitude still the main root cause to kill ppl on the road. Enforce ppl to wearing is help to reduce number of killing but not reduce down accident rate.
3rd. From news paper, I notice that ratio for modification vs stock car are 1 side down. If want to further breakdown, Proton stock car is ranking #1.
(Of coz, ppl will say because of high volume on national car.)
Just confuse that is it because of quality of the car cause accident or what?
braking system too lousy? engine too under power cause unable to estimate?
etc....
4th. Wearing rear seatbelt mean that only 4 passengers per car.. not 5.
Not every family can afford.

Anyway, is it good to wearing, but up to now, in Malaysia, Gov should encourage ppl to wear but not to enforce.... unless every car salling in market is ready with rear seatbelt. :biggrin:

Hope I not out from topic :biggrin:

1st, since rear seatbelt was not new in other country, why recently only Gov enforce us to wear? are we abit slow?
Yes we are, but at least things are moving a little in the right direction now, should we stop and wait till everyone who complain in this thread to be happy and satisfied first?

From here, what would I like to highlight is up to now, some of the new car still not ready with rear seatbelt like Kelisa, Kancil and some of the economy package new car. Is it really not fair for those buyer.
The last thing on your mind when your passenger goes flying out the front window is fairness and the few bucks you save from not buying a car with a rear seatbelt.
Car manufacturers dont have seatbelts standard? They will have to once this rule is enforced. The day it is still optional is another day they can cheap out of this necessity. Seatbelts dont cost thousands mind you.

2nd, Driving attitude still the main root cause to kill ppl on the road. Enforce ppl to wearing is help to reduce number of killing but not reduce down accident rate.
WOW!!! why havent anyone thought about this before!??!? Why do other countries bother with enforcing the rear seatbelt rule if they can just improve driving attitude. Oh yea, maybe saving some lives with a seatbelt is easier and more effective while we figure a way to tackle the "attitude problem"?

4th. Wearing rear seatbelt mean that only 4 passengers per car.. not 5.
Not every family can afford.
Some cars are spec-ed as 5 seaters. You've only got 4 seatbelts in the car? too bad..life's not fair, go cry to mummy. Cant afford a 5 seater for your family? Stop breeding.

aiyah... i wuz there that nite...saw many ppl crowded.... lamp post fall down bengkok..... but i didn't stop...coz dun wanna ganggu trafik.... it was a proton saga i think can't remember......

yeah dude..it was a white saga..
I stopped as it happened few seconds before me and since I'm a trained and certified first aider for 13 years now, I think I should..
But nothing can be done with a cracked open skull..
Anyway, after seeing it myself, I support the enforcement of 'rear seat-belt rule'...

Maybe to some it sounds like a joke..Funny ehh strapped while seated at the back?
But wait till it happened to them or their family laa n we'll see who's laughing then!
muahahahaha...

:laugh: :congrats: :top: