Rear seat belt rule?

Yes we are, but at least things are moving a little in the right direction now, should we stop and wait till everyone who complain in this thread to be happy and satisfied first?

This was make me to call back halmet with reflaction sticker.. :biggrin:

The last thing on your mind when your passenger goes flying out the front window is fairness and the few bucks you save from not buying a car with a rear seatbelt.
Car manufacturers dont have seatbelts standard? They will have to once this rule is enforced. The day it is still optional is another day they can cheap out of this necessity. Seatbelts dont cost thousands mind you.

what I try to mean is even economy package new car, rear seatbelt must a std item. But sadly, my wife new Kelisa with full package still short with rear seatbelt but now they enforce to wear..mean I will spand $$$ go to install. :mad:

WOW!!! why havent anyone thought about this before!??!? Why do other countries bother with enforcing the rear seatbelt rule if they can just improve driving attitude. Oh yea, maybe saving some lives with a seatbelt is easier and more effective while we figure a way to tackle the "attitude problem"?

Compare with other country, we are in top ranking ... even though we have good highway across us.
I had a trip to New Zealand last year.. The way they driving is totally different and I notice that road condition at NZ is perfact.

Some cars are spec-ed as 5 seaters. You've only got 4 seatbelts in the car? too bad..life's not fair, go cry to mummy. Cant afford a 5 seater for your family? Stop breeding.

U will know what I mean if the rule enforced, especially on 5 family members with proton car :biggrin:

Anyway, just would like to share out opinion... hope I not out from topic and correct me if I wrong :biggrin:

I only know europe people drive very fast :biggrin: and India/Bangledesh people drive like James Bond and most kemaman/kelatan/teluk Intan people drive extremely polite in their home town :biggrin:, just like worry the road will make the tire thinner by 1cm if drive faster a bit.

for gomen people, driving above 60kmh is vr vr fast for them adi... because they cannot react properly at speeds above 60kmh... (reason why they alwiz drive 40kmh, its within their reaction time)

err..
just would like to share out my opinion.
1st, since rear seatbelt was not new in other country, why recently only Gov enforce us to wear? are we abit slow?

Yes, we are slow. Many countries long ago made it mandatory for all passengers to belt up, which is why we need to get the rule implemented quickly. I lived in Australia for a long time and over there every car occupant will belt up. Personally I can tell you it is really no big deal and won’t inconvenience occupants one bit but Malaysians seem to crying about the seatbelt rule as though they just lost their inheritance.

From here, what would I like to highlight is up to now, some of the new car still not ready with rear seatbelt like Kelisa, Kancil and some of the economy package new car. Is it really not fair for those buyer.

Like I said earlier, why should this be made an excuse to prevent the implementation of the passenger seatbelt rule ? The idea behind the rule makes a lot of sense and they do save lives. If Perodua did not design their cars properly in the first place for the rear seatbelts, it is all the more reason they should really get cracking and rectify a vehicle safety issue as soon as possible. Fairness to Perodua buyers has nothing to do with it. That’s just a snowjob excuse to cloud the real issue. It’s like saying that just because one manufacturer gave the car bad brakes, then it is unfair for a rule that requires everyone to have proper brake systems on the reasoning that buyers of that particular car have to upgrade. That kind of rationale makes no sense to me.

2nd, Driving attitude still the main root cause to kill ppl on the road. Enforce ppl to wearing is help to reduce number of killing but not reduce down accident rate.

Attitudes take forever to change, if ever. Seatbelt rules are immediate and effective.

3rd. From news paper, I notice that ratio for modification vs stock car are 1 side down. If want to further breakdown, Proton stock car is ranking #1.
(Of coz, ppl will say because of high volume on national car.)
Just confuse that is it because of quality of the car cause accident or what?
braking system too lousy? engine too under power cause unable to estimate?
etc....

Accidents occur due to a lot of reasons and every accident may or may not be due to driver attitudes or car quality. But again, what’s your point in saying this in relation to the topic at hand ?

4th. Wearing rear seatbelt mean that only 4 passengers per car.. not 5.
Not every family can afford.

Typically with folks everywhere is when you give them an inch, they’ll take a foot. Give them a foot, they’ll take a yard. People don’t seem to have a limit. Cram as much as possible into the car.

What exactly is the big deal if the car now carries 4 instead of the usual 5 ? Only one less passenger. That argument is just splitting hairs in my opinion when people can very well afford to buy the car in the first place. Seriously, if families go to the extent of complaining about one less passenger affordability, they really ought to give thought to other practices that will net them even more tangible savings…such as turning off the lights when you’re not in the room, watch less TV, use less electricity, recycling, using water sparingly, no pubbing, little shopping……but how many Malaysian families that you know who actually believe in all those things. That’s right. Hardly any.

Anyway, is it good to wearing, but up to now, in Malaysia, Gov should encourage ppl to wear but not to enforce……

That's unworkable. Most people will simply choose not wear the belt.

This topic is worth bumping.

I personally prefer wearing seat belts when riding at the back. This is especially so when I fall asleep; the seat belt prevents the car from moving me around too much and I get a much better rest. :D

About such enforcement, the government should just go ahead and enforce this rule. It's been proven to save lives. Installing rear seat belts shouldn't cost you an arm and a leg. But NOT installing it might :D I think if people get fined enough times, it will be more economical to just strap the rear seat belts on.

For those who are adamant against such a ruling, let me ask you to put things in perspective. Is your life less valuable than the momentary inconvenience of a seat belt?

Volkswagen got no seatbelt, no need to put mah. Eventhough the front passenger seatbelts are a must in Malaysia.