woofer and amp

shazmi3

noob ques here...how to know wats amplfier should i use to fit the subwoofer?
i mean the watt etc...

or is there any place explaining this thing? thanks!!

matching rms. eg if subwoofer is 250 rms at 4 ohm, then find an amp that can gip 250 rms at 4 ohm.

buy the biggest amplifier that you can afford. Most users will change their sub into more powerful sub after a short period (bass addiction :D ). So by having a powerful amp in the first place, your upgrade will cost you less as you do not have to change the amp as well later.

acuali...in the market many ICE user use multi channel amp to run comp speaker and brigde other to run a woofer....
but the mono amp selling in the market, got wat difren with the normal amp tat we using....
1) i juz noe about that thr monoblock amp is bigger much RMS....
2) izzt use the mono amp to play a woofer...the woofer oni got bass sound but dunhaf those treble sound?
reali confuse with these 2 type of amp....althrough finished read the
bcae1.com

yes, class D amps usually can only play up to 200hz, thats why suitable for woofer only. but nowadays more new class d amps can play full range oledi...

ooo....zenn sifus....u means tat.....200hz or below the sound are play out are only the bass sound.....?
so tats y i saw many mono amp juz frequenz in 5~250hz?
so the the sound at the low hz will oni got those bass sound but no trable sound?

acuali...in the market many ICE user use multi channel amp to run comp speaker and brigde other to run a woofer....
but the mono amp selling in the market, got wat difren with the normal amp tat we using....
1) i juz noe about that thr monoblock amp is bigger much RMS....
2) izzt use the mono amp to play a woofer...the woofer oni got bass sound but dunhaf those treble sound?
reali confuse with these 2 type of amp....althrough finished read the
bcae1.com

not necessary monoblock have higher rms, thats is depend on the mono specs itself.

There are different classes of amp.

Source: http://www.wikipedia.org

Electronic amplifier classes

Amplifiers are commonly classified by the conduction angle (sometimes known as 'angle of flow') of the input signal through the amplifying device.
Class A
Where efficiency is not a consideration, most small signal linear amplifiers are designed as Class A, which means that the output devices are always in the conduction region. Class A amplifiers are typically more linear and less complex than other types, but are very inefficient. This type of amplifier is most commonly used in small-signal stages or for low-power applications (such as driving headphones).
Class B
In Class B, there are two output devices (or sets of output devices), each of which conducts alternately for exactly 180 deg (or half cycle) of the input signal.
Class AB
Class AB amplifiers are a compromise between Class A and B, which improves small signal output linearity; conduction angles vary from 180 degrees upwards, selected by the amplifier designer. Usually found in low frequency amplifiers (such as audio and hi-fi) owing to their relatively high efficiency, or other designs where both linearity and efficiency are important (cell phones, cell towers, TV transmitters).
Class C
Popular for high power RF amplifiers, Class C is defined by conduction for less than 180° of the input signal. Linearity is not good, but this is of no significance for single frequency power amplifiers. The signal is restored to near sinusoidal shape by a tuned circuit, and efficiency is much higher than A, AB, or B classes of amplification.
Class D
Main article: Switching amplifier
These use switching to achieve a very high power efficiency (more than 90% in modern designs). By allowing each output device to be either fully on or off, losses are minimized. A simple approach such as pulse-width modulation is sometimes still used; however, high-performance switching amplifiers use digital techniques, such as sigma-delta modulation, to achieve superior performance. Formerly used only for subwoofers due to their limited bandwidth and relatively high distortion, the evolution of semiconductor devices has made possible the development of high fidelity, full audio range Class D amplifiers, with S/N and distortion levels similar to their linear counterparts.
Other classes
There are several other amplifier classes, although they are mainly variations of the previous classes. For example, Class H and Class G amplifiers are marked by variation of the supply rails (in discrete steps or in a continuous fashion, respectively) following the input signal. Wasted heat on the output devices can be reduced as excess voltage is kept to a minimum. The amplifier that is fed with these rails itself can be of any class. These kinds of amplifiers are more complex, and are mainly used for specialized applications, such as very high-power units. Also, Class E and Class F amplifiers are commonly described in literature for radio frequencies applications where efficiency of the traditional classes deviate substantially from their ideal values. These classes use harmonic tuning of their output networks to achieve higher efficiency and can be considered a subset of Class C due to their conduction angle characteristics.

thx for the ICE education from sifus~ hehe....

den wat hz should i set to run a woofer is better?

Depends on:
1. what you want your system to sound like.
2. What sub you already have or plan to buy.
3. What type of box you plan to bulid/use.

The process should start from 1. then you try to find 2 & 3 that can satisfy your 1.
To get a general idea whether the 2 & 3 combination would fit 1 or not, you can use winISD. It's a software that can plot sub frequency response in a given box and lots more feature.

But, in general, for SQ, LP at 60Hz and 100Hz for SPL. <- this was knowledge passed by sifu oldskol.. :biggrin:

In tat case u can join us to find out more about ice, here is the link for more info:

http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4162