Open Port or Drop in???

gt_auto: yes i understand that 2nd and 3rd opinions are good, but it will also do the problem of making the person more confused. So in the end of it all, it boils down to trying whichever and seeing which one you actually like. 'Don't try, Don't know'....u know?

m@ttz: haha yea i still laugh when i see it too.

yah..nice siggie man....FF is better thn AWD.....

anyway..i drop in KNN ...and just bot a CAI...still wondering how to lay out on my confine saga space...

skywalker..how u install ur CAI....i cant find a route to my ori cab intake..

LoL.. ff > awd..sounds like the modded kancils concept!

anyway im workin on a cai by using bernoullis principle of air presure and induction feeders..my pressure sensors show the highest reading in front of my headlight between the grill and bumper and the lowest within the engine bay (for the average of 70-11-kmph). for town drive and traffic jam, its exactly like what sky says, doesnt make any difference since the pressure is the same.
(my measurements are only based on air pressure,not takin into consideration of heat and other variables)
Problem is i cant find any way to route my cai outside the bay..damn,wat are your layouts for cai? i drive a WiSE

i have seen ppl route the cai from the front foglamp hole,but mine already got fog lamps..

ahaha.....like tht oso can ar.....nevermind ..will find my own way to snake around...

Shouldnt the cai be as straight as possible so it doesnt restrict air flow?Since the cai is not directly connected to the air box or filter,it doesnt create the low pressure at the mouth to suck air in,so imho, it shld be as straight as possible with a cone opening to force more air in..does this make sense?

i don't think u will feel much difference after u change from drop-in to open
pod.

I second that. Previously I was using a K&N drop in, stock airbox.. Then changed to an Apexi open pod . Only diff I FELT/HEARD was the induction sound louder and sometimes annoying for long distance drive.

nvm lar nitrus.as long as ur engine roar like a lion,bystander will think
ur car is powerful enough.hahaha.....what done is done.save money
for other mod.

nvm lar nitrus.as long as ur engine roar like a lion,bystander will think
ur car is powerful enough.hahaha.....what done is done.save money
for other mod.

wuahahahaha.. well i actually kinda like the fact that now my engine part "roars" louder than my muffler's sound during high revs .. quite a nice induction sound also actually during high rev ..

my muffler is an s-flow.. dun care la slight loss in power from backpressure of the s-flow or what, i just can't tahan those cheapo straight flow exhaust kinda sound..

Shouldnt the cai be as straight as possible so it doesnt restrict air flow?Since the cai is not directly connected to the air box or filter,it doesnt create the low pressure at the mouth to suck air in,so imho, it shld be as straight as possible with a cone opening to force more air in..does this make sense?

yes... u are right... cai should be as straight as possible.... but why i snake the cai hose around??... coz got no other route i can take without cutting the panels mar.... plus, snaking around can help prevent rain water or flood gushing into the air intake....

got pros n cons la... depends on how u weight them and how u route them...

wuahahahaha.. well i actually kinda like the fact that now my engine part "roars" louder than my muffler's sound during high revs .. quite a nice induction sound also actually during high rev ..

my muffler is an s-flow.. dun care la slight loss in power from backpressure of the s-flow or what, i just can't tahan those cheapo straight flow exhaust kinda sound..

i second that.the engine roar from a open pod r waaayyy better then a straight
through exhaust.the sound just nice.unless u drive a car with v10-v12 engine.
hehehehe.............:driver:

gt_auto: yes i understand that 2nd and 3rd opinions are good, but it will also do the problem of making the person more confused. So in the end of it all, it boils down to trying whichever and seeing which one you actually like. 'Don't try, Don't know'....u know?

ai yah...sorry for not answering ur question.forget.hehehe....of course i don't
know the answer cos diff ppl got diff taste so difficult to determine which is
right or wrong.

talking bout cai, nice airflow but my k&n alwiz dirty lorr.. any option to clean k&n other than use k&n cleaner??

"sabun mandi".it's not that strong.just put a bit inside a basin with water n
stir it up.dip ur k&n inside.make sure u dip ur filter 80-90 of it body length
(i assume ur using open pod mattz) to avoid all the dirt from getting inside
of ur filter from the filter opening.

yes... u are right... cai should be as straight as possible.... but why i snake the cai hose around??... coz got no other route i can take without cutting the panels mar.... plus, snaking around can help prevent rain water or flood gushing into the air intake....

got pros n cons la... depends on how u weight them and how u route them...

True true..having a big headache tryin to figure out the best cai location with the highest pressure, yet without doing too much modifications..hmm.btw does the cai material make a diff? lets say aluminium hose, will it heat up and affect performance?

i don't think it's matter whether ur cai is made of aloy or palstic.i wont make
much diff.

True true..having a big headache tryin to figure out the best cai location with the highest pressure, yet without doing too much modifications..hmm.btw does the cai material make a diff? lets say aluminium hose, will it heat up and affect performance?

not much difference... coz air flowing through is fast enough not to be affected by the temperature of ur hose...
jz make sure the inner surface is as smooth as possible...

findin trouble to wash my knn oso.....oso finding trouble to snake up my CAI....i felt too much bend and corner causing bad air flow leh....scared my CAI hisap air(water).....tht time deep shit leh....

"sabun mandi".it's not that strong.just put a bit inside a basin with water n
stir it up.dip ur k&n inside.make sure u dip ur filter 80-90 of it body length
(i assume ur using open pod mattz) to avoid all the dirt from getting inside
of ur filter from the filter opening.

thanx gt, haha.. finally found solution wit cheap budget, yup i'm using open pod K&N, car felt heavy edi n normally when switch off engine, it will sound ssshhhhh.. but now onli shh..