Open Port or Drop in???

eujin

i duno any thread about this o not...which perform better in our road..some say open port some say drop in....

need opinion....

u will gain more air flow in open pod.. but need to watch out on engine bay hot air.

i got a saga cab...i used KNN drop in...i thinking changing to open pot like those wira waja open pot...not weber of coz...duno will make any differents o not..pls advise

open pod 'sucks' in air much better than drop in..
but note that without heat shield when using open pod causes all hot air from your engine bay sucked into ur engine..
if ur not plannin to get a heat shield when putting an open pod,
i'd suggest u to use drop in instead..
Cold air intake hoses plays a part too, for both open pod and drop in..
so, i'd say it's all depends on personal preferences...
cheers!

i don't think u will feel much difference after u change from drop-in to open
pod.

cabby engine is prefer to have UFO type open pod filter. if u always in traffic jam, drop in is required to get better air temperature..

If you want to keep maintenance low, get a drop in. It just replaces your stock filter inside the air box. Therefore you don't need to worry about hot air around the engine bay.
An open pod filter will give more suction power but maintenance is higher and for full effect you need to install a heat shield and cold air intake. Sometime installing an open pod filter without these extras could do more harm to performance than good.

just note:

drop in = less suction power compared to open pod, low maintenance, no need heat shield as the air box is already one, a cold air intake directly to the heat shield would also benefit it.

open pod = much more suction, higher maintenance as it is exposed to the elements, needs a heat shield to block hot air away, a cold air intake feed would largely benefit it.

i think for carbie better use drop in, unless u use weber, hehe.. for better performance maybe u can make CAI direct to ur air filter box, u can get the idea from DIY section..

btw i use open pod wit CAI, need to check regularly, always dirty lolz..

thanks for u guys advise..really appreciate....

i travel alot north to south region....so i think drop in with cold intake hose would be my choice of day....i would love to open port but i guess stick it with the carbbie drop in would b sensible...

if u alwiz travel highway, i recommend u open port... if u alwiz stuck in city and traffic jam, better use drop-in....

i more like both stuck in jam and highway most of the time.....i guess drop in is good la...save all the hassle...haha..i belive open port got the extra "ummpp" power

:adore: sifu is here, dont 4get to get cai from him..
who sifoo??...

why le?.............:stupid:

because in highway, ur engine rpm is usually at mid to high range... at this range, engine sucks in alot of air.... by using open port, this reduces air restriction caused by oem airbox... besides, at high speed, cool air is rushed into engine bay due to momentum... thus, no need worry air filter sucking in hot air...

town drive usually at low to mid rpm... at low rpm, engine doesnt suck much air, thus airbox airflow restriction doesnt do much harm.... by using drop-in, u can utilise ur oem airbox CAI intake system.... thus, air filter doesnt suck hot air inside engine bay....

who sifoo??...

because in highway, ur engine rpm is usually at mid to high range... at this range, engine sucks in alot of air.... by using open port, this reduces air restriction caused by oem airbox... besides, at high speed, cool air is rushed into engine bay due to momentum... thus, no need worry air filter sucking in hot air...

town drive usually at low to mid rpm... at low rpm, engine doesnt suck much air, thus airbox airflow restriction doesnt do much harm.... by using drop-in, u can utilise ur oem airbox CAI intake system.... thus, air filter doesnt suck hot air inside engine bay....

icic, but do note tat open port will be noisier than drop-in. but of coz, u can owes use larger CAI to ur oem box if u wish :burnout:

thanks for the explaination:biggrin:

you know what.

Just buy it and see how it is. Dont like it. Try the other. Weigh the pros and cons after you have tried both. I have tried both and also in between (cut my airbox in half and used the drop in as an open pod.
In my opinion, I prefer the open pod for I already have a cold air intake.

Try it out and see what works for you. No harm trying.

he ask that kind of question over here is to avoid wasting money.
that's the harm part mokomoko....hehehe