Mamak Stalls....

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
What do u guys think of the mamak stalls operators nowadays? check this article out

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/6/3/nation/17870626&sec=nation

Are they really making such marginal profit that they need to dilute out the drinks and decreasing the size of the roti canais just to make ends meet? to be frank, i feel they've been cutting our throats all these while to such extent that they can even afford putting tiles on the wall rite up to the ceiling boards and broadcasting EPLs via big projected screens and flat screen Sony plasma TVs..

Just the other day, i had a drink @ this mamak in Pj State... Indo mee + egg = RM 4.70... can u believe it? Indo mee = RM 3.50, egg = RM 1.20 ... wat's the cost? deduct that sum multiply it and u'll get the average % of profit... which is quite high if u ask me...

Last nite, i was at the same mamak.. i was 3rd on the que to pay.. the payment que was long not bcoz the cashier was in-efficient, it's bcoz of queries from customers... this man, in his early 50's..was surprise his bills were sky high.. when inquired, she told the man that the chicken chop itself is RM12.00. WTF? RM12.00?? cable car charges RM 15+ for sizzling chicken chop with shit loads of fries and it sizzles!.. and the size is obviously bigger... but that old man didnt say much.. just paid and walked out looking at the bills in disbelief... i do not think he cant afford it, but he's jes too dumbfounded over the basis on how it was charged..

Then this young chap was infront of me, 2nd in line.. was charged almost 6 bucks.. he was also asking aik? apasal? she explained the drinks and the breakdown.. he was also shaking his head while he was walking off.. i remember him asking... air kosong berapa? RM 0.50 ... wtf? is that not high profit margin? how much volume of water can a glass of water hold? how much water is needed to wash that glass after the dude finishes his drink? and if u r coming from the angle of "wat abt staff cost?" .. dude, out of 10 blurry mofos standing there, when u raise yr hand.. 7 of which will look d other way pretending to be staking out 747's heading their way to destroy their precious shop.. while 2 will be checking out chicks ... and only 1 unfortunate dude so happen to be lookin at yr direction had no choice but to attend to u.. but of coz, if u're a chick with a valley as deep as grand canyon .. they'll come to u even with a raise of an eyebrow... so cut down these unwanted trash employees and u'll get yer margin up..

I dont know.. it's very questionable as to these statement "aiya, boss, kita pun ada kos operasi yang tinggi"...

So nowadays, i'd rather hang out at food courts i.e. sunway NSTs.. at least i'll walk away with damages like RM 5.00 ++ for a bowl of ipoh kway teow, nescafe ice and air suam... unlike rm 4.70 for indo mee goreng + telur...

i never like to have me meal at mamaks, for me their food is expensive for me since last time, just go there to lepak n only order tea-o-ais. if the food really taste good i dont mind at all paying for such price, but for me all mamaks just taste the same.

y blame the government? these pple .. the operators... are the culprits

gov keeps on increasing prices but dun let others increase. cakap tak serupa bikin, rt

personally after i read the first post, my mind was "who is the real culprit"? its like a chicken and egg theory debates here.

if i wanna put the hat on stall operators, well they might be wrong in exploiting;

if i wanna put the hat on government, where is all the ops been going? after the RM1.80 Milo case no one run on the rally anymore? RM4.50 for indo mee with egg is too much. i just came back from Jakarta, twin pack of indo mee with egg and veg only cost me Rp10,000 = approx RM4 and some more delicious that what the mamak having here. that sounds not justified rite?

if we reflect back, we can put the hat on ourselves, why would we still stick with mamak store as all your $$ being charged in big LCD TVs and projectors screen? some places even dark, lots of mosquitoes and hygienic does not exist? we as consumer shall defend ourselves also.

consumer issues has been lack of society awareness nowadays, bolehland people just too lazy or be hassle-free to report to the authority regarding these consumers' issue. there was this case happened somewhere in Ipoh that some people take the guts and time to report to the authority and the operator get fined with a summon.

perhaps this is the step we can do?

2 cents at mamak stall table

frankly when i arrived at KLIA last week, saw a big flock of imported workers waiting at immigration and that was on my mind that our country has been too much dependent of foreign workers.

but its outraged that up to the stage where this sort of incident at mamak that really pissed us off. sigh~~

ahahah.. well... d downside is, no chicks gonna hangout at yr place... unlike mamak stalls

haha... then bring ur own food and drinks, tables n chairs, setup next to chicks... lolx

How if we join n open our own ZTH foodstall .. must suggest to Tom .. can develop business, event n membership.

:)

if only the food and drinks price is justified and location is strategic, why not? after all, it will always be a good gathering place for all ZTH members. good idea sakuraguy, seconded you.

I've stopped going to mamak stalls after they increase the price of iced Milo to RM 1.80 in my area. Now, I usually hang around Subang Bestari - cheaper food and drinks at old prices. A lunch of 6 people costs RM 25 only. In Kota Damansara, a similar set will costs RM 60 at the mamaks.

Lots of performance cars here also... from souped up Mitsubishi GTOs to heavily modded Nissan Skylines, from hybrid BMWs to crazy hybrid Toyotas and even a monster 420WHP Satria GTi. Almost like a mini Sunway already...

oh ya.. aaron, yr dad went off with yer e32 till today belum balik ah?

Nasi Kandar Kayu ( Aman Suria ) is a killer sumore they implement Tax. One nasi kandar+Fried Chicken+Mutton+curry ayam+Milo Ais = Rm13.00~!! As for my fren he had Maggie goreng double which cost him RM8.00 not yet included his drink! wonder where the Tax went to.. Blackie any comments since JSOC always there on friday's.. no wonder u guys go Sedap.. hehehe..

err... Sedap not as $$$ as Kayu... but Kayu = awek berlambak...

i heard gov already take action on this problem hahaha