Mod Proton Gen2

razaksa

mine is m/t 1.6m and have installed hotbits exhaust extractors(still using stock mid and rear) K&N drop in A/F and DPS grounding system. Stock is 110bhp @ 4000rpm.
I'd like to remain n/a and power up tp 150bhp and still drivable for daily and family use. I most welcome your suggestions.

40bhp increment is quite a big improvement.. which i think, may involve alot of mods to be done, most probably internal mods...

suggestions anyone? not familiar with campro engine.

hehe i tink to increase 40hp its two ways
way 1 is NOS
way 2 is TURBO
way 3 a gsr into your bay :D

yah thats the thing since it's a new engine not many performance shop know that much about it.... i read from proton's guts magazine that a performance kit for the G2 will be out end of this year made by protons motorsports(R3)..will look out 4 that..anyone can recommend trustworthy and reliable performance shops around JB area?

Increasing 36% hp to your engine is a pretty tall order unless you're ready to do some major mods to your Gen2 while still remaining NA.

A 15% increment is a more realistic figure.

But if you're amandant on getting the 150 horses... I think Jinkl's suggestions are the way to go.

Good luck :lol:

GEN 2...i tot stock engine can go 160HP...Geng..read the news ka?GEN 2 baru 4days sudah terbakar...engine burn geng...these are normal problem with GEN 2...quite powerful but mudah terbakar.....not to scared u but better buy small fire extinguisher...

Originally posted by razaksa@Dec 16 2004, 02:48
yah thats the thing since it's a new engine not many performance shop know that much about it.... i read from proton's guts magazine that a performance kit for the G2 will be out end of this year made by protons motorsports(R3)..will look out 4 that..anyone can recommend trustworthy and reliable performance shops around JB area?
u can try Vis at Permas Jaya...or jus go to Southern or GC to ask lor...

have to agree with jinkl. if wanna keep the stock engine yet want 150hp, best is either nos or turbo. keep it NA at 150 hp is gonna cost a bomb and maybe not so streetable.

just wondering, can powerzone do any engine rebuild on campro engine? i'm living else where so i dunno much about them.

i tought it was campro engine ..without the real cam "CAMPRO" inside.. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by polyxtroy@Dec 16 2004, 17:30
Cam profile.. Somethin like vtec, vvt, dvvt and etc...
i dont think its similar to this technology

thats what i heard too, they say its faulty. how does a campro work anyway? heard something about cam phasing, but have no idea how it work, try googled it but no good.

campro is cam profile switching if i'm not wrong. more or less same with vtec. and unfortunately the g2 doesn't come with it.

waa...i think gen 2 is still too new to mod the engine section....stock cond also good already what, :P i like this one (pics) took it from a web site...bikin yours like that laa...hehe... :rolleyes: but lose the color...hehe

Originally posted by chilskater@Dec 16 2004, 09:29
GEN 2...i tot stock engine can go 160HP...Geng..read the news ka?GEN 2 baru 4days sudah terbakar...engine burn geng...these are normal problem with GEN 2...quite powerful but mudah terbakar.....not to scared u but better buy small fire extinguisher...
a fren of mine heard a engineer who r in this case said the owner make some modification to his gen2. something to do extra wiring (ie nozel light, extra light bulb)...this cause the ecu to short circuit and fire...
duno how true is this la... <_<

hehe i tink to increase 40hp its two ways
way 1 is NOS
way 2 is TURBO
way 3 a gsr into your bay

Pardon my disknowledge of technical terms does NOS means nitrous kit?