Choice of Project Car

I know la! :rofl: :laugh:

Must be proud cuz even Lamborghini can be taxi :rofl:
Proud it is chosen as one due to reliability :rofl:

More info here: :biggrin:

http://www.inautonews.com/top-10-most-luxurious-taxis-in-the-world#.UdDIKb_fl-4

Cuz I have one at home ma :rofl:
Sure bro, a dream is still a dream we must achieve just depends on how long it takes for us to achieve it.

Altis not listed woh!......hahahahahaha:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 07:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:53 PM ----------

Something like our Airport Limo Taxis. Only got on one before once. But what I didn't like actually is that the Limo taxis from airport.
They pump petrol without switching off the engine. I know they dont want their customers to feel hot but is actually endangering our life

Petrol? Most are diesel or NGV right?

I know la! :rofl: :laugh:

Must be proud cuz even Lamborghini can be taxi :rofl:
Proud it is chosen as one due to reliability :rofl:

More info here: :biggrin:

http://www.inautonews.com/top-10-most-luxurious-taxis-in-the-world#.UdDIKb_fl-4

Cuz I have one at home ma :rofl:
Sure bro, a dream is still a dream we must achieve just depends on how long it takes for us to achieve it.

haha...its not really a dream though, more of a goal which i hope to achieve it in a year's time. well, a dream would be to own a lamborghini or a ferrari or at least a porsche...haha

So all u want is GT3, legal roll caged car

Or a Neo clubsport. Legal roll caged Proton.

Btw dude, how do you guys create a chassis? What are the criterias for creating one of those kit cars you guys are doing in college?

Haha. Back in year 2002, I visited several European countries with my family. I saw a lot of W210 Mercedes Benz E Class (the one with one large and one small oval headlamps) being used as taxis over a few countries at there, especially Germany. I was quite surprised back then when I saw so many Mercedes Benz being used as taxis.

As for the citizens around Europe, I notice they prefer small cars especially hatchbacks instead of going for sedans like our country. Mostly you will see a lot of Fiat, Peugeot, Renault, Citroen and Volkswagen over there. Those models that are common were usually small like the size of Myvi and Swift.

Just like Japan. A Myvi 2nd hand can easily be more expensive than a R34 2nd hand.
All because of emission tax and also fuel price.

---------- Post added at 04:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:18 PM ----------

LOL! Suddenly Cerato. Haha. I like Kia Optima > Hyundai Sonata. haha

Actually this is another reason I bought up this topic

My concept stated earlier, a everyday car + a project car

You might actually spend less, and you will definitely get better value from money

Mod your Everday car,
1. Kill realibility, that why reluctant to do
2. High cost to achieve small target
3. No point putting carbon stuff while if u are fat.

If a project can able revert everything above
I don't see why not.

Try to engineer as much thing as u can, u can save a lot

i like # 3 haha...

Haha. Back in year 2002, I visited several European countries with my family. I saw a lot of W210 Mercedes Benz E Class (the one with one large and one small oval headlamps) being used as taxis over a few countries at there, especially Germany. I was quite surprised back then when I saw so many Mercedes Benz being used as taxis.

As for the citizens around Europe, I notice they prefer small cars especially hatchbacks instead of going for sedans like our country. Mostly you will see a lot of Fiat, Peugeot, Renault, Citroen and Volkswagen over there. Those models that are common were usually small like the size of Myvi and Swift.

because, they are truth to themselves, and yet poor.
they dont see spending heavily on branded car as aim.

simply they are easily self contented with other skill they have.

Asian people has problem in this, love to show class, but empty inside.

---------- Post added at 01:25 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:13 AM ----------

Btw dude, how do you guys create a chassis? What are the criterias for creating one of those kit cars you guys are doing in college?

during university, we are competing in Formula Student events.
we attended 2 main event, UK and Germany one.

there are a set of rule to comply with. Just like how F1 team works.

1st, you got to design the car around the rule, like, Roll hoop requirement, track, wheelbase etc...
2nd, you need to get sponsorship to support the team.
3rd, fabricate the parts then assembly
4th, shakedown and testing
5th, tune it for the event.

during event, you need:
1. go thru scrutineering, noise test, brake test, fuel test, tilt test (5 in totals), drivers need to pass 'out of car in 10 seconds' test with unlocking 7 points safety belt.
2. then static events, consist of Cost, Design, and business presentation
basically justify your cost of building car, the design selection, and how would you sell your product
3. Dynamic events, the fun part
Acceleration, Skidpad, Sprint and Endurance.

you need everyone work as team, each one deal with responsible task, even like strategy and weather man.

i really miss Formula Student, I wish to do it again. Should have join the team earlier.

---------- Post added at 01:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:25 AM ----------

After I did this, play around road car seem to have too much of compromise to me.

In any racing, you want to be as lean as possible.

---------- Post added at 01:31 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:26 AM ----------

if you really want to learn about chassis, it could be as simple as

- support the weight of everything
- provide mounting point for everything
- stiff enough, does not blend during loading

so, depends what do you wanna make, you can have suspension layout designed, power train system decided, then build chassis around them.

I'm no expert, I'm still learning, that's why i'm making replica Caterham/Lotus 7 as case study.

because, they are truth to themselves, and yet poor.
they dont see spending heavily on branded car as aim.

simply they are easily self contented with other skill they have.

Asian people has problem in this, love to show class, but empty inside.

it is not asian love to show class but it is due to the upbringing, peer pressure and how asian society's mentality.

like for eg: chinese driving proton equates to not so well to do...must be dont earn much... relatives and friends may look down, even potential girlfriends/wives may view as "throw face" if their friend's bf drive japs/contis while their own bf drive a proton/perodua. for the guy, they may feel inferior if can't afford a better car and even stretch their budget just to own one. this syndrome is most common in developed asian countries/cities.

Then cannot buy new Proton/Perodua already. Might as well get second hand Jap car.....:driver:

it is not asian love to show class but it is due to the upbringing, peer pressure and how asian society's mentality.

like for eg: chinese driving proton equates to not so well to do...must be dont earn much... relatives and friends may look down, even potential girlfriends/wives may view as "throw face" if their friend's bf drive japs/contis while their own bf drive a proton/perodua. for the guy, they may feel inferior if can't afford a better car and even stretch their budget just to own one. this syndrome is most common in developed asian countries/cities.

when you are trying to impress someone poor in character, this is the shit you got into

you can impress them with other way, simply you could

---------- Post added at 11:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------

Then cannot buy new Proton/Perodua already. Might as well get second hand Jap car.....:driver:

i dont like Proton not because they are being cheap. but I simply dont agree with there philosophy in making cars, all kind of controversial.

They choose to be shit, they choose not to compete in fairplay market; that's why they never grow up

their existing give a transportation issue
their existing take away our option for cheap transportation.

None of the government should develop car industry but MUST build good public transport system.

Hi guys.

Just FYI, if anyone is interested to buy a Satria Neo R3 Clubsport, Car number 19 is on sale.

Mileage is about 23k KMs, immaculate condition.

Has all the main unique items that comes with the clubsport;

6-point FIA approved Roll-Cage
Sparco(Schorth manufactured) FIA approved harness
Recaro TS-G (driver side only)
D2 Fully Adjustables (still have the cert and tools)
Haltech Interceptor
R3 letter, and also the JPJ Permit

Cut-off switch on the outside of the car is not working tho.

Car is parked in office car park for the most of it's life. Only goes out for it's weekly car wash.

Oh yeah, car is driven so little, that it is still rolling on the original Bridgestone Potenza RE001, on all 4 corners.

Owner is asking 48k for the whole package. Totally worth it if you have the cash.

PM me if you're interested and I can arrange a meeting with the owner!

Hi guys...I've been contemplating to take e36 318i replacing my perdanalution.. planning to swap in rb20 in or sr20..have not look into it in details yet.

reason : rwd + better weight distribution + overall performance over current perdanalution. ++the car is selling
any opinion much appreciated. Or just buy proper sports car , eg sti/evo

Hi guys...I've been contemplating to take e36 318i replacing my perdanalution.. planning to swap in rb20 in or sr20..have not look into it in details yet.

reason : rwd + better weight distribution + overall performance over current perdanalution. ++the car is selling

1JZ or 2JZ are popular options to swap into e36's here in Thailand

• 20108689_1688520784525562_2192883332213055691_n.jpg
    20108689_1688520784525562_2192883332213055691_n.jpg
    79.6 KB · Views: 219
  • 20031566_1688520134525627_3543822316297018656_n.jpg
    20031566_1688520134525627_3543822316297018656_n.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 211

Depends on what you want to do with the car. If you enjoy doing a lot of major mods and going thru the journey of that, then can take on those old BMW and do conversion work. If you want a RWD to drift, then that is also an option to take. But if you just want a car that is already pretty fast straight out of the box and just do minimal mods to improve a bit, then those Evos/WRXs is the better choice. If you want a fast touge car, then these AWD missiles are also tough to beat, both in the dry or wet.

1JZ or 2JZ are popular options to swap into e36's here in Thailand

1JZ/2JZ will be difficult to endorse since its 1.8 e36.

Bro jay, now this poison straight to the point...lol

hahaha..no sweet talk..

Depends on what you want to do with the car. If you enjoy doing a lot of major mods and going thru the journey of that, then can take on those old BMW and do conversion work. If you want a RWD to drift, then that is also an option to take. But if you just want a car that is already pretty fast straight out of the box and just do minimal mods to improve a bit, then those Evos/WRXs is the better choice. If you want a fast touge car, then these AWD missiles are also tough to beat, both in the dry or wet.

car will be dd and circuit/drag...drift no money to maintain...touge is nice to see, but would not want to risk others life..:burnout:

yea i do enjoy going thru the mods,makes me acknowledge my car capability but who would not want a evos/wrxs :banghead::confused:

BBK - as in Big Brake Kit. LGT ones quite small.....:biggrin:

I see, i see. Lancer GT ones are just normal disc only... But the one on pic changed to 4 pot brembo. I think a little too much of stopping power for a standard Lancer GT...

Very old post, got a folk once asked whether my LGT is Evo X. He said my brakes are huge with 4 pots Brembo. I just lol, and explained i upgraded my brakes only. Still a GT.

And no i can tell the BBK stopping power is just right depending how you use it. Without upgrading to EVO X master pump, it won't jamme brake like you might perceived. My BBK is one my happiest mods after coilovers, braking into corners and emergency braking is much more stable and stronger. This BBK saved me a couple times from deadly accidents thanks to some mofo drove recklessly and rammed into the cars in front of me, its lucky that i am able to slow down quick enough and steer my way out, i was lucky no others in my escape direction.

sorry we don't have those restrictions in Thailand

If you have to stick with 2000cc I thing a Toyota '4age beams' (from a IS200) would be a nice engine to swap into a RWD car like an e36, seen them in e30's before.

sorry we don't have those restrictions in Thailand

If you have to stick with 2000cc I thing a Toyota '4age beams' (from a IS200) would be a nice engine to swap into a RWD car like an e36, seen them in e30's before.

So nice, no restriction......lol

Yup, here got engine cc increase percentage, engine mount mod, chassis welding and so on cannot be done....:smokin:

So nice, no restriction......lol

Yup, here got engine cc increase percentage, engine mount mod, chassis welding and so on cannot be done....:smokin:
some of these rules... abit funny
chassis welding
-in cases where theres an accident, they will still weld the chassis
-i know of a guy's who installed such hard shocks, his shocks penetrated through the strut tower, they tampal balik (not sure how also)
-i also hear of ppl adding more weld points, funny things like this.

engine mounts
-those k swapped ek's eg's with their hasport mounts macam no issue with jpj for some reason....
-gen2's neo's personas all need to modify the mount to sumbat 4g93's also....

hahaha..no sweet talk..

car will be dd and circuit/drag...drift no money to maintain...touge is nice to see, but would not want to risk others life..:burnout:

yea i do enjoy going thru the mods,makes me acknowledge my car capability but who would not want a evos/wrxs :banghead::confused:

If you don't drift, IMHO better go with Evos/WRXs, fast car straight out of the box and can still be modded further to make them pure evil, but again depending on how deep your pocket is. (if deep then almost sky is the limit, if not then even in stock they're already fast & fun enough) The other thing is how much tolerable are you to the harshness/hardcore ride of Evos/WRXs. If BMW then surely more comfortable, even old ones, can still say ferry your parents comfortably for example.